We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Accomodations in the center of town!”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Accomodations in the center of town!”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The decour of the hotel (and so clean!) was lovely (different painted rooms, gorgeous prints on the walls) and the room was beautiful. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect if you want to be in the center of town, close to fab dining places, and shopping. The staff could not be more friendlier - we were severly lost during our arrival and when we called they stayed patiently on the phone with us the entire time (hours!) and even had someone come find us and drop off our car at a garage on our behalf! However, please note that this is not the place if you want a lot of non accomodation related frills (no gym, internet center (although there is wireless connection), no parking no pool). But really a romantic hotel tucked away and just a very memorable place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    63
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
80
327
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

The hotel is just great, the location is perfect right in the centre of Taormina. The personnel is really nice and helpful. The table with his young chef is to recommend as the found is delicious. To recommend absolutly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed in this Hotel in Dec 2009 and enjoyed every moment we were there. Hotel is nicely designed - classic and elegant, yet with a nice modern touch. Everything is so detailed and so customer oriented. The room deco is superb with big room and double-sink toilet. Bedding, slippers, bathrobe and toiletries are all in high quality. Don't miss the welcome drinks, they make great cocktails and great snacks. Really made us feel like VIPs. It started at 7pm until late night, we went there after dinner around 10pm. It was a very nice wrap-up of the day.

We went to the rooftop in the morning, great place to lookout to Taormina and to take photos. Don't miss the breakfast too, food quality and variety is great, especially if you can have Champagne for breakfast.

One thing I must mention - the staff are super nice and helpful (some of them are very cute too !!) , they really show what a high quality hotel service should be. Highly recommend you stay there if you go to Taormina.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iraq
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Before beginning my review, I wanted to reiterate two points made by other reviewers that I had not processed:

(1) You can't drive to this hotel (nor most other hotels in Taormina). You will save yourself time and aggravation if you park your car at the Porta Catania parking lot on entering the town and walking to the hotel to check in. Someone will help you collect your bags.

(2) The hotel is somewhat difficult to locate. Walk down the major shopping street Corso Umberto. enter the Piazza del Duomo. Continue down Corso Umberto with the church on your right. When you reach a stylist antiquities shop called Saro, turn left up the stairs. It's at the top.

We had a simply fabulous stay at this hotel. Although fresh omelets are available on request, my one suggestion for an improvement would be the breakfast buffet which was the weakest of four excellent hotels we stayed at in Sicily and frequently seemed to consist mostly of bar food and desserts that hadn't moved the night before in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohninWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel has its own style and every room is designed in a different way. It is a small hotel which gives you a very personal touch and it makes you feel very welcome. The staff is kind and helpful. In summary, we can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimitrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My friends and I visited Taormina in early December and stayed in this hotel. The whole experience was unforgettable: staff were nice & friendly, room got upgraded, view was excellent, welcome drinks was fabulous and lastly price was good! We were regret not to stay for one more night the minute we reached Taormina and El Jebel was clearly one of the reasons! :p

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

It's one of the most beautiful hotel's we've stayed in. The location in the historic centre of Taormina is perfect. The junior suite that became our home during our trip was a delightful surprise having booked at a very economical rate. It was very spacious, light and well appointed with modern comforts with a big bathroom with the luxury of double sinks, separate bath and shower. We stayed with our young (2 year old) daughter which can sometimes be difficult when travelling but she loved the room too (big enough to play a good game of hide and seek!). The staff were always helpful and attentive without being intrusive. We are looking forward to returning in the summer to stay for dinner on the spectular roof terrace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlibFlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#21 of 87 in Taormina
738 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Property: El Jebel Hotel
Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing