We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, reasonable, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed & Breakfast Agon
Ranked #3 of 119 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, reasonable, and friendly”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After Davide took us to the nature trip to Mt. Etna, he showed us this B&B.
I couldn't believe that it has been 7 years since he started this B&B because all the rooms and the dining/kitchen space looked new and clean! The price also surprised us! If we had known this B&B, we definitely would have chosen this place. Davide was open hearted and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Namiko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    38
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
194
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Agon and Davide was also our guide to Mt. Etna. Wonderful. If you are planning a trip to Mt. Etna, definitely have Davide as your guide. He does small tours, usually no more than 4-6 people in the group. His passion for Etna shows. He just doesn't repeat what you can learn in a book, he explains why, how, what, where, when and happy to do it every inch of Mt. Etna. Davide and his wife, Lya really do everything to make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and there is a common kitchen where you have breakfast in the morning, but feel free to stash something in the fridge if you want something cold later. It is more like staying at the home of your best friend. I know some complained about the traffic outside and the train. But all you have to do is close the door and turn on the air conditioning and you no longer hear the traffic if you are in the front room. However, if you do get the front room, you will be treated to a beautiful sunrise over the Ionian Sea, slowly rising over Taormina.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had an excellent stay here. The B&B was unusual in the sense of being a mile from Taormina itself and opposite a train station but, in fact, the station was quiet, it was only a few minutes walk to reach the B&B once we arrived by train late at night and we could go ourselves to Taormina by the local bus for the day. The restaurants nearby in Giardini Naxos were directly by the sea, fresh food and good service and much cheaper than eating out in Taormina. Our hosts were immensely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to give us lifts to places and make suggestions for further travel and places to see and stay in Sicily. The day's trip to MT Etna organised by Davide was excellent and he took us to other beaches and even to the Turkish Steps-otherwise impossible on public transport. While the location might not look immediately attractive, the house itself is clean and welcoming. The hosts have given a lot of attention to details. I would recommend this place to any friend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto Calende, Italy
Level Contributor
333 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was a last minute booking, having done hardly any research apart from the fact that we needed a base that was central!
On arrival, it was more my sons expression than mine, that his expectations of a place to stay by the sea were dashed. That the area we had chosen wasn't particularly beautiful. Nothing like hotels he was used to staying in.
BUT, once inside we were both very pleasantly surprised by how nice and homely the B&B was. Our room was a great size, and very clean!
Breakfast is plentiful and fresh. And the kitchen is there for you to use if you want to cook rather than going out!
Lya and Davide whom own the B&B are lovely and very helpful
We had a car to do our exploring and parking wasn't an issue as there is a railway station parking lot directly across the road. So obviously there is the train station, right in front, as is the main coastal road (which we didn't find too noisy at night).
Restaurants are walking distance, you can make it to Giardini Naxos in 15 minutes.
Beaches within 5 minutes drive, Taormina in 20, Messina and Etna within an hour or so!
Ticked all the boxes

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennik, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Davide and Lya run an impeccable and friendly B&B.
The house is well-appointed and excellently situated. Though right across from the train station, the B&B is quiet. The rooms offer all necessary comfort and the beds guarantee a good night's sleep.
Breakfasts are copious and served with extreme attention to detail and to the personal preferences of the guests.
I found the experience wholly satisfying and I would recommend Agon B&B to everyone.
Davide and Lya are a fount of information about the Island, it's people and it's hidden treasures of which this B&B is one of the most precious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This B&B is immaculate and comfortable. Davide & Lya were excellent hosts, serving a plentiful breakfast (having previously asked us what we would like to eat), whilst chatting about Taormina and providing useful information. Our room did not have a balcony but we know at least one of the others did. I have to say we were unprepared for quite how far away from the centre of Taormina we were. Although it looks reasonably near on a map, the 'cliff' that Taormina sits on is actually a lot higher than I had imagined. There are ample buses to take you up the hill and one can walk, although we didn't attempt that in the sweltering heat. We walked back down one night when it was cooler, which took us 45 mins. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If it's important to you, ask for a balcony. There is a little balcony off the main living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muvashez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We moved to this B&B for three nights following a stay in the upper town of Taormina where we had been with a group. Davide, owner and operator, picked up us at the prior hotel, which was much appreciated and way above the call of duty. We were made comfortable in the large front room with balcony overlooking the main coastal road and the rail station. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean as was the dining/sitting room area. The spaces we were able to see were very tastefully decorated in an understated Mediterranean motif. We took advantage of our room air conditioning some of the time as it was warm in Taormina. We were able to enjoy Davide's generous breakfast offerings and delicious freshly made coffee only once due to our early departure schedules on a couple of days, but Davide provided us alternatively with nice pastries and drink options. The real pleasure here was the affability and helpfulness of our host Davide. We were sorry not to have met his family, but did enjoy conversations with him about the area, Sicily and his great love, Mt. Etna. Altogether a satisfactory experience. We would suggest that this location is particularly well suited to stays that involve travel by bus or train up or down the East coast of Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1fromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
866 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Agon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Agon

Property: Bed & Breakfast Agon
Address: Via Nazionale 48, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Agon 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Agon, our Bed and Breakfast for guests who are looking for a relaxing and tranquil home.This accomodation is perfect for those who are visiting Taormina and the East coast of Sicily for a comfortable holiday due to our location. AGON is a lovely apartment located at Taormina Mare, overlooking the picturesque Taormina bay at the beginning of the south end of Capo Taormina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Agon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Agon Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing