We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Restaurant Ciampoli

Gourmet Restaurant Ciampoli
Ranked #100 of 257 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$1,079
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Restaurant Ciampoli of the Hotel El Jebel of Taormina offers you the best dishes of a rich à la carte menu, conceived and prepared by our talented chef, an unrepeatable experience that will inebriate you with the famous aromas of traditional Sicilian cuisine.The wines, selected from prestigious Sicilian, Italian and international wine cellars are combined with fresh, first-quality ingredients, the only way to transform romantic dinners, working lunches and special events into unforgettable memories.
south shields
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Superb restaurant in a beautiful setting with knowledgeable staff. A lovely menu and the food was delicious. As one reviewer has already said the prices reflect a good quality restaurant in the UK, worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthShieldsLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    24
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Super views of the bay and Etna. My husband and I had read the food reviews and decided to treat ourselves to a special meal. We had booked ahead. The food overall was very good but we wanted 2 fillet steaks and they only had one! Bearing in mind this is a top class restaurant! I then ordered the rib eye steak which was flavoursome and cooked exactly as I like it but it was chewy and a bit gristly... hence me wanting a fillet! However the meal overall was very good. The staff who served us were friendly and attentive. Worth a visit if you like fine dining and fine prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 46Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you eat at Ciampoli- eat on the roof terrace in June or July...it's truly the most special dining experience we've ever had. Superb blue lobster Linguni as my first course, followed by a perfectly cooked fillet steak and a fantastic house red, topped off with a perfect Chocolate fondant. It's priced alongside a good UK restaurant- about £12-£15 for a starter, £15-£18 for a pasta dish or first course and £20-£25 for a good main dish with fish or steak. Tremendous staff with knowledge of the food they are serving and a view of a smoking (if you're lucky) Mount Etna at night....a perfect evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaams-Brabant
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice spot to go out for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

It's lovely to be served here high above Taromina and enjoy all the lovely food. It's a bit pricy, but the view and the food are worth to visit it when you are in Taormina.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“5 Star Food/3 Star Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon and it was one of the two best places that we ate in, whilst visiting Taormina. We were very surprised when we read the menu one afternoon, that a 5 star hotel had such a reasonably priced menu. We booked immediately for the following night and we had an unforgettable meal. The food and service were everything you would want in a 5 star establishment, and the view over the roofs of Taormina, and to the bay beyond was just spectacular. The food was brilliantly prepared and presented, and the flavours were outstanding. The prosecco we enjoyed was crisp and complimented our food really well. The chef even made an appearance at each table to introduce himself and to answer any questions we had. We will definitely be coming back here whenever we return, and recommending anyone we know to come for a meal if they find themselves in Sicily.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jontronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Restaurant Ciampoli also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Gourmet Restaurant Ciampoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing