We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For connoisseurs and vips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For connoisseurs and vips”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A spectacular , design hotel , breath taking , this is Italian at its highest level
I would stay here permanently
Everything it's exquisite - Chef , cuisine , lounge , rooms , lobbies , it's magic , fashion , trend setter
I never seen such a hotel concept , perfect in every way

Room Tip: You don't have to ask for anything , everything comes impeccable beyond 5 stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hautemelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    67
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
40
184
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This place is a real gem. Location is awesome, with superb views on one side and direct access to the village on the other. The room (suite) was spacious and very comfortable. The terrace with evening jazz is truly magical-- priceless. The staff is very helpful, professional and contributed to making this stay a flawless experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This boutique hotel is hip and sophisticated yet rich in history. The building of this historical hotel was built originally in the XVII century, located on a peak overhanging the sea....Its just a little difficult to find but when we found it we did not want to leave. We enjoyed every moment here, listening to great sexy jazz music in the bar in the evening, a nice breakfast in the morning, fabulous spa, staff was very nice and helpful in every way. Breath taking views from the top of a cliff into the deep blue of the sea, the other side of the hotel looks over the most magical and fascinating spots of Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3frenchhens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Metropole is amazingly well located in the centre of Taormina and within a 5 minute walk of everything of note. It has an outstanding main terrace which is great for an evening drink as well as an excellent restaurant (think it has a michelin star) with its own terrace. There is a bar in the lobby and live music most evenings which gives the hotel a classy "see and be seen" vibe.

Our room was very bright and airy with high ceilings, a sparkling white marble floor and an attached balcony. However, it was a bit on the small side. The bathroom was very dark and the shower was not functional with doors that didn't close completely.

Service was generally good with gracious front office staff helping us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, day trips, parking, etc. There were some slip ups though - it took over an hour to get fresh towels in the morning, housekeeping service was only available at certain times, and room service often took very long.

We travelled to Taormina with our 3.5 year old and I'm not sure this was the best hotel for him since children's facilities are limited and even the pool is not really appropriate for kids (small and very quiet).

The hotel is very expensive especially in relation to the size of the rooms, but given the location and view, I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sohilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were wowed by our recent visits to the Hotel Metropole. First, a terrific evening spent in the terrace bar, blown away by the beautiful live jazz and singing which the whole bar applauded. Next up was a visit to the Hotel Metropole spa. Staff could not have done more to look after us and to ensure our every whim was met and exceeded. The best pedicure experience yet in the capable hands of the spa therapist. Final memories were of the freshest, coldest and largest G&T served elegantly on the sun terrace accompanied by panoramic views and excellent snackettes, which will stay in our minds for some time yet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A struggling five stars. The room was five star. The bathroom excellent. The terrace has wonderful views and your needs are attended to well. The restaurant disappointed. Extremely pricey and the menu was poor to average - not good enough although the food itself was very good.

Drinks were pricey but a good menu and well delivered. The coffee was simply superb.

This is a stylish boutique hotel. It is in an excellent location being on the main thoroughfare in the pretty little town. It is a certain jewel.

The pool area suffers as it is cramped on the sun deck. Cosy. You are on view to the tourists from a prominent look-out off the main street and that was a little uncomfortable but possibly this speaks more of me! If you are proud of your body it will not be an issue ...

The staff wanted to please and worked hard. The music choice that played made you feel like you were in a glamorous movie a la Bond or an Audrey Hepburn classic with a Riviera touch. Coupled with the view ... Good. Very good.

Live music was played many nights. An outstanding British singer accompanied by a competent band which has a saxophonist who could hold his own anywhere in the World. This was loud and it was not conducive to conversation. But excellent if you like music and especially Jazz.

We had an excellent stay. Would recommend it and suggest a look at the Grand Timeo hotel too. See Syracuse and visit a vineyard on the way down from Etna for a tasting. You will get tipsy and enjoy it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a difficult review to compile as some aspects of this hotel are indeed 5 stars, but other aspects are certainly not.

On the positive, the staff were all exceptionally friendly & helpful. Even though they didn't always seem to have the infrastructure around them to cope with some requests, they did try. Another positive for this hotel is the location & the view. The position is right on the main street in Taormina & you step out in the middle of exactly where most tourists would want to be. The view & scenery is beautiful & used to full advantage as the bar, restaurant, & I believe most, if not all, of the rooms face out on the vista. The breakfasts were very good with a nice selection of fresh food.

So what are the negatives? Well, the rooms look nice but are very small & not particularly well furnished for comfort. We booked a suite with a spa (jacuzzi) on the balcony. This wasn't really a suite as it was a small bathroom with a small bedroom. There was no sitting area, but they obviously call it a suite because of the balcony area which was a decent size I must say. There wasn't any drawers or cupboards so we had to pile everything on the shelf in the wardrobe. The bathroom was very nice but far too dark for shaving or putting on make up.

Our room was certainly not cheap & I feel it would have still been overpriced if I had received a 50% discount! The balcony offered little privacy between the other 'spa suites' on either side of us. There is a flimsy slatted fence with some plants dividing the balconies, but this was not sufficient for privacy. You could easily see through to the other side, & it wasn't very pleasant to arrive back to the room one afternoon & go out on our balcony, to then be faced with the guests on the adjoining balcony in a position of extreme affection shall we say!

The hotel in general is lovely in some areas but poor in others. The reception & bar is nice, but somewhat cluttered, and the pool area is scruffy & in need of urgent maintenance. The pool itself is lovely. Other areas were not up to a five star standard, with carpets not fitting well & some wear & tear evident. The wi-fi connection was unpredictable & did not work for the last three days of our stay. The wi-fi is free though which is a bonus for any hotel I feel, but not much good if it doesn't work though! We had a problem with our jacuzzi as we couldn't turn it off at night & could hear the motor running from inside the room. We had to ask three times for somebody to show us how to turn the jacuzzi off at night. The only problem then was it became cold during the night, so we opted to leave it on in the end. It was only just warm enough to sit in at the best of times as there wasn't a cover to put over it & it lost a lot of heat. Probably a refreshing temperature in the height of the summer, but not a normal jacuzzi temperature for October. Basically, we feel we wasted a lot of money paying for a spa suite & would recommend that this is avoided.

The hotel as a whole felt cramped & uncomfortable & is grossly overpriced.

So, lots of silly little gripes which on their own are insignificant, but together they gave an overall impression that this hotel needs to review it's charges & I believe somebody should review its star rating. All of that said, we did have a pleasant stay, and if they reduced the prices significantly, & made the hotel a 100% five star hotel, then we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a 'spa suite' as the jacuzzi is not private on your balcony & the tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
El Jebel Hotel
El Jebel Hotel
#16 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Tauro Hotel
Monte Tauro Hotel
#18 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Property: Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Address: Corso Umberto 154, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Taormina Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Metropole Taormina Maison D'Hotes Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing