We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B/hostel in Taormina 最棒的民宿”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taormina's Odyssey Guest House and Hostel
Ranked #77 of 114 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B/hostel in Taormina 最棒的民宿”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

如果你想體驗南義大利人的生活 來住這裡就對了 一晚16歐不含早餐但很值得 (跟老闆說是台灣的JESSIE介紹的喔) 這裡的房間很乾淨, 離郵局超市(可以買東西回來煮紅酒也很便宜)購物街走路步到三分鐘, 鬧中取靜, 你還可以散步到ISOLA BELLA 不用花錢坐電纜車, 往公車總站方向走,過了HERTZ租車後三叉路口右邊有樓梯一直走可以下去到海邊十五分鐘就到, 周末下午兩點半,還可以在足球場看義大利人踢足球(過HERTZ租車三叉路口樓梯旁邊有足球場 )

I feel like home here in Taormina Odyssey. It is the best B&B/Hostel in Taormina. The room is super clean, friendly people, walking distance to the post office,supermarket&toursit attraction. You can also walk down to Isola bella from Hertz car rentals without paying $ for the cable car. It's only 20 mins walk from the hostel. The host Piero & Maria welcome you with southern Italiano's hospitality. Highly recommend it! you can tell the host that Jessie from Taiwan introduce you here :D

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackers001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
42
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
542 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I am so over some hostel in Europe as they are catering more for American teenagers who are here during their year, enabling them to drink alcohol silly. And so, I was petrified when I booked myself into this hostel because I don't know what to expect. During winter period, most of hotels at Toarmina are closed anyway as it's akin to Capri, catering to the rich and famous. Anyhow, I was pleasantly surprised that it's a live-in household of Maria and her family. The place is kept tidy & very clean. I can't identify the mediocre hygiene standard that's written by previous reviewer because the bathroom here is absolutely spotless. The layout is this: ground floor is the living room and the make-shift office, first floor is where bathroom and shared bedrooms are, and the top floor would be the private room and Maria's own residence. If you get here in the evening, it may be a tad difficult to find but there are visible signs to pinpoint you to the place but you have to look very hard for it because it's in generic black lettering on white board. And if you come here in a car, you may struggle to find a car park because road here is seriously narrow & sinewy. However, you are a few minutes walk away from the old gate that leads you to Coso Umberto, the shopping street where cars are forbidden. The view from Toarmina towards Mount Etna is absolutely gorgeous. I was here when it's spewing ashes and creates quite a ruckus in the evening. Yet, local people kept assuring me that a noisy active volcano is a healthy volcano. Anyway, back to the Guest House, wi-fi is great for the ground floor and first floor but due to internal walls that are made with solid materials and its distance from the server, you would be hard pressed to get Wi-fi signal on the top floor. However, you can always use your gizmos on the landing area on the first floor anyhow with the hot heater in winter time. Maria is a great host, and her breakfast is generous. She speaks good English and friendly too. The private bedroom that I am in comprises of a large double bed. I was concerned with its lack of heating but rest assured that the blankets are seriously warm and also, the bed is seriously comfy too! As houses here are built close to one another, you cannot avoid the sound from not echoing. I'm sure that this could be a serious issue in summer time but for winter time, it's simply a good spot to be in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend were very late arriving as we were travelling from Naples, are train was delayed, and we got to Taormina very late. At past midnight with all our luggage and feeling very tired we got lost and the trek up the hill was not very nice. But the hostel owners had offered to give us a lift if we had called them from the train station for 10 euros, so we could have gotten there easily if we had taken them up on the offer. The girl working there had gone to bed as we got there at 1 in the morning way past check in time, but left a key to a room out for us which was very nice of her.

The bathroom was falling apart a bit, but it's like an average household bathroom which was a nice change from the crowded wetrooms you normally get in hostels. The breakfast was average but everything was there, the girl working there had put out croissants, cereal, bread, jam ect. There is storage to bring your own food. I really enjoyed the communal kitchen and met some great people!

After our first day we decided the hill was not so bad and the hostel was easy to get to/find after the first time, and very close to the main high street. We wanted to go up Mt. Etna and we were recommended going with Pieor, this was 30 euros each and is cheaper and more personal than the main companies. But his car is small though mind. He knew loads of information and he is passionate about maintaining the world heritage site. He also took us to wine factory on the way back where it was 2.50 to fill your own 2L bottle with wine! :D

The rooms are tidy and clean, with home decor in them that made me feel like I was visiting my family. There was a fan that in our room which cooled us down enough, and we had no problems there with mozzies!

It was humble and cosy and I would totally go there again, given the location the quality and price is very good!

Room Tip: If it's late when you arrive or you are carrying heavy luggage call Maria and she may be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaMay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

During our around-the-Sicily trip we decided to spend two nights in this hotel, so we could enjoy the famous Taormina beaches and restaurants.

Locating the hotel proved to be a challenge, since there are numerous navigation signs around the city which point to Taormina's Odyssey, but will lead you to a completely wrong place. After some hopeless driving through the narrow and steep streets following the signs, we finally managed to find the guest house with the help of a printed map and a friendly Sicilian gentleman - in a completely different part of town (apparently, the hostel changed location some time back, but the signs still point to the old one). Come prepared - print a GOOD map or bring a GPS to help you find the hostel! (Also don't be scared of the "No entry" signs along the city - those don't apply to hotel guests)

Another ordeal is parking - the hostel is located in a side street with close to no parking spaces and you most likely will have to park alongside some nearby street among the locals. However be aware that you need to have a parking card for this - they will rent you one in the hostel for 5 EUR flat-rate for however long you need and you can use it to park over most of Taormina. They can also recommend a covered parking nearby in case you prefer one.

The hotel is located a short walk from the end of the main corso (Corso Umberto) and is an ideal place for exploring the town itself. The beaches are a good walk away though (even if you use the funicular) - not a problem if you plan to spend your whole day there, but don't expect a beach five minutes away.

The hotel itself was pretty charming - it is basically a three story family house turned into a guest house. There are rooms on the first and second floor while the ground floor is occupied by a fairly large common room and kitchen (the kitchen is free to use from after breakfast to 9 pm). The guest house has common bathrooms on all floors (including the ground one). There is also a small terrace on the top floor with a nice view over the town's rooftops - ideal for an evening glass of wine.

We had a room on the top floor. It was fairly spacious, had a comfortable double bed, small balcony and some other furniture. The bathroom on our floor was a bit old (the showerhead could use replacing), but it worked fine and was very clean. Be aware that towels are not included in the room rate, you have to pay 1 EUR for each if you need them!

We had a decent sleep, although the neighborhood was alive every evening so we enjoyed some authentic Sicilian singing, arguing and yelling.

The breakfast is basic but good, including eggs, some pastries, jam, nutella, corn flakes, juice and fresh fruit.

The owners are very helpful and pleasant and it was a pleasure dealing with them. They helped us with everything we needed and more.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor - you'll have to walk a bit more, but you will share the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZ_gASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here and had a fun time. The rooms are airy and cosy and there is a range of rooms- a 6 bed dorm, a 4 bed room, doubles and a double with an ensuite. There was complimentary breakfast which was yummy and set me up well for the day exploring this beautiful city! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

It was wonderful to find an inexpensive place to stay in this international tourist destination. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts served by the informative and helpful Maria in her kitchen available for the use of guests who could register as hostelers or bed and breakfast guests. Fine restaurants were nearby as well as lovely walks and ancient sites to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

If you are going to visit the beautiful Taormina for sure you should stay in Taormina's Odissey: the best place to stay if you want to fell like a home.
The owners create a familiar and nice athmosfere and the breackfast is just great!!
Great locacion: quiet and at only one minute to the "Corso Umberto", free pass for parking inside the center if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajera_oltre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
B&B Rosangela
B&B Rosangela
#63 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Villa Schiticchiu
B&B Villa Schiticchiu
#1 of 1 in Spisone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B La Terrazza sul Mare
B&B La Terrazza sul Mare
#9 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Vicoletto
Al Vicoletto
#93 of 114 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Sicily in Love
B&B Sicily in Love
#5 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Marifra
B&B Marifra
#67 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina's Odyssey Guest House and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina's Odyssey Guest House and Hostel

Property: Taormina's Odyssey Guest House and Hostel
Address: Via Paterno' di Biscari n. 13, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House / Hostel in the beautiful City of Taormina, one of Sicilia's finest tourist attractions. Our guest house is one of a relaxed, family atmosphere with traditional Sicilian values. The property consists of two shared dormitories and four single, twin & double rooms. Each room has its own balcony. The kitchen is available for guests to use at their leisure after breakfast and until 2100 hours. We have a terrace with sea views and can be used all the day until 11pm. WIFI is available for your own devices, or a PC is available for the guests by request. Breakfast is included in the price and is served daily between 0800 and 0930. Special arrangements can be catered for on request. Check-out on the day of departure is expected by 1000 Mon to Fri and by 1100 in Sat & Sun. Check-in is from 1800 hrs, however we can accept your luggage prior to check-in, or after check out for a small fee of 1 euro per item. Our friendly staff are always available to assist you with anything, and will happily make recommendations for day trips, excursions, walk and dining. Just ask! Please note we do note currently accept credit cards. Please have the correct money for any balance owing on arrival. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taormina's Odyssey Guest House and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taormina's Odyssey Guest House And Hostel Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing