We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Barone - Luxury B&B
Ranked #66 of 114 Taormina B&B and Inns
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
296 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A nice B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed here for two nights in Sept 2011 in the downstairs apartment. While Villa Barone was a nice place to stay and the staff were unfailingly helpful, this room is definitely not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination. Perhaps the upstairs rooms were better. On the plus side, the breakfast was wonderful, Carmen was very helpful and full of ideas for things to see. The terrace where the breakfast room is has an extraordinary view out over the city to Mt. Etna in the distance. On the negative side, the downstairs apartment is nothing special and Villa Barone is a longish walk to the town center. All in all, I would definitely stay here again but ask for one of the upstairs apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upstairs apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    21
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
71
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

What a lovely place to stay. The view across to Mount Etna was exceptional and the night lights in Giardini-Naxos bay very pretty. Villa Barone is exceptionally clean and well appointed. Carmen was the perfect hostess, full of suggestions as to where to visit and how we might get there; she also provided a lovely varied continental breakfast each morning. It must be stressed that it is a long and steep walk up the hill from Taormina town and not recommended for either the faint-hearted, or the unfit. Carmen does, however, provide a shuttle service to the town and, more importantly, back up the hill. The bus from Taormina to Castelmola passes Villa Barone, but the service is not very frequent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We thought Villa Barone was a wonderful place to stay. Looking at the positives it was really clean, very pleasant rooms, great views and Carmen was a wonderful host. She gave us suggestions of where to go, how to get there and was generally very pleasant & helpful.

If I were to mention a couple of negatives then there are a lot of steps down to Taormina but it is a pleasant and safe walk, probably down in 10-12 minutes and back in around 15 mins. We did get the 10.30pm lift back on a couple of occassions & that was fine but on other nights we walked back around midnight & it was absolutely fine. We thought the quality of the breakfast was good but we always felt that the quantity could have been a little more.

On the subject of La Botte we ate there once & got a reasonable discount. The resaurant was very good with a vibrant atmosphere but there are an abundance of very good restaurants that we simply never ate in the same one twice.

Would I recommend it - yes, very much so, providing your comfortable with the steps or you're happy to take a bus or get the 10.30pm lift back.

A more general point - we got the service bus from Catania Airport to Taormina & then a taxi from the bus depot to Villa Barone. From memory the bus was around 7 Euro's (and took about 1hr 10 minutes) the taxi 15 euro's. So for the two of us the total transfer cost 29 euro's - it was very simple and a lot cheaper than other transfer methods.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJGNewcastle_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The rooms were beautifully decorated and appointed. The views were beautiful, but then, the views are beautiful everywhere in that area. When we arrived we were told that there was no shuttle service. It was not recommended we drive because traffic and parking are a big problem. The bus runs very infrequently. Carmen gave us directions-- go to the pink house and down the steps. She said it would take 10 min there and 20 min. back. But there are many pink houses and many, many steps. It took us over an hour to find the town and my husband has a good sense of direction. Maybe we could have made the steep descent in 20 minutes, if we were lucky and only if we had a private guide who knew the way. During our three day stay and despite numerous tries, we had a hard time getting to and from town. Taxi was the only option for getting back from the hotel. Because of the location, I would not stay there again. Also, although Carmen was professional and she did honor my request for eggs in the morning, I did not feel the warmth that so many others reported here. Whatever you do, do not depend on her for directions or tourist info. The only restaurant she will recomment is La Botte. While everyone on La Barone's reviews loved La Botte, the reveiws on La Botte's website are almost equally split between wonderful and terrible. We did not eat at La Botte so I can't say.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol8297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villabaronetaormina, Proprietario at Villa Barone - Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Dear Madam,
we want to inform you that probably it was a misunderstanding, we told you about the traffic in occasion of the celebration of the Madonna Rocca, celebration that was during the days of your holiday, so this was the reason that we suggested to reach by feet the centre, but you had never complain with us about your difficulty to find the way..anyway we want to clarify:
1- we have a shuttle bus service "free - on request", to book in advance ( we inform all the guest and if you read our information book in each room, you can have also more details), the last one is at 22.30
2 -for who want to come late, we suggest to take a city bus ( that have a bus stop at 20 mt. from our house and is very cheap - the company is interbus and have a bus every 45minute, all the day, untill 23.45 pm to came back from town ) or the taxi ( € 10.00 per way)
3 - we have also a shuttle service for the beach
About "La Botte" restaurant is our property, so we talk about the special price that we can offer, but we have other partner in town, and when somebody ask suggestion to us, we give all the information. In occasion of the celebration of the Madonna Rocca we adviced all the guest about the possibility to taste good meet, lamb and sausage grilled, on the barbeque booths on the road.
Regarding the eggs...we have had the same problem, of misunderstanding, at your arrival I had informed you that we do it on request, so when you ask to me that you like to have eggs for the next day, I have admonished the waitress to be careless, that inform me that you didn't request any eggs.
We know that each of us is different, so we can't expect everyone to like we, but fortunately other people have other opinions.
Kind Regards
Carmen Barone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We've recently returned home tired but happy. Having spent nine nights at this lovely b&b in beautiful Taorimina. Our room was beautiful and lovingly furnished. We thouroughly enjoyed returning from a full day of sightseeing and sitting on the lovely balcony taking in the view of Mt. Etna. And what views they are. Mt. Etna and the bay are truly beautifully sights to behold. Carmen truly made our stay a lovely one. She had many great sightseeing recommendations and even made our reservations for us. Breakfast was terrific. Not only were there delicious Sicilian pastries, but cereal, yogurt, eggs, meats and cheese were also included. Probably one of the best I've ever had at a b&b. As other reviewers have stated, this b&b is located above the town and can be a challenging walk. You can request the shuttle service supplied by the b&b. You can also use the bus from town which will leave you close to the b&b. We had a wonderful stay and Carmen is a lovely host. A special addition to the b&b is Carmen's helper, Katia. She is a real sweetheart! We will always remember our wonderful trip to Sicily and this lovely b&b!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camillePointPleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Very comfortable B&B - exceptional views of Etna and Taormina Bay from our balcony. Lovely continental breakfast. Villa Barone is situated above the town and it is a steep climb to get here but Taormina itself is very steep so you can't really get away from that. However, Carmen (the proprietor) offers a shuttle service to and from the town. There are quite a few steps to access the property and also within so this may prove a problem if you have limited mobility.
Note that biscuits etc in the room are not in the price and are considered part of the mini bar (not complementary as in England) but experience showed us that this is standard practice across Sicily.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloworm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed in Villa Taormina for two nights and if we are back to Sicily we would like to go back there. The Villa is beautiful, a bit away from the city center which makes it quite and lovely ( don't worry! "Miss Schumacher" will help you with a free shuttle to town and back).
The rooms are spacious and very tastefuly decorated you would have every amenety as well as coffee and tea waiting in the room and Mt. Etna at your all around window , the garden will be waiting for you to have breakfast "al fresco".
But the villa would be just another very good B&B without Carmen, the owner, who speaks good English and is a most helpful,welcoming and charming person. She would do her outmost to make you feel at home.
DON'T hesitate , try "La Botte", the restaurant of her friend and partner, Antonio Chemi, you will be spoiled with great food and wine for a very reasonable price,reserved for Villa Barone guests.
Villa Barone is areal gem in a city which is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irit_lillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Angela
Hotel Villa Angela
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Almoezia
Villa Almoezia
#17 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cage Aux Folles
La Cage Aux Folles
#68 of 114 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isoco Guesthouse
Isoco Guesthouse
#7 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Agon
Bed & Breakfast Agon
#3 of 114 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa degli Ulivi
Villa degli Ulivi
#60 of 114 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Barone - Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Barone - Luxury B&B

Property: Villa Barone - Luxury B&B
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 47-a, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Barone - Luxury B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the striking scenery of Taormina lies Villa Barone, a charming residence, alternative to a hotel, that will make your stay unforgettable thanks to the professionalism of the owners and its elegant, breathtaking setting.Comfortable rooms are all endowed with panoramic views and the most detailed facilities among which: private bathroom, air conditioning, toiletries, hairdryer, satellite TV, minibar, desk, telephone, free Wi-Fi. Services: Swimming pool with solarium, shuttle service to/from the centre of Taormina, partner restaurant "La Botte", Shuttle service to beaches partners, Internet point and free Wi-Fi, Catering for a romantic dinner in your room or light meals, Private gym, Parking, Service of private transfers to and from the airport of Catania, Rental cars, scooters and boats, Restaurant reservations, tickets theatre, hiking, Reservation beauty salons, hairdressing, Arrangements and sports activities (riding, diving, windsurf, hang gliding, golf club, tennis court, fishing) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Barone - Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Barone - Luxury B&B Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing