We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable but quite a hike!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Barone - Luxury B&B
Ranked #73 of 117 Taormina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We found the room to be very clean, big and comfortable. We made good use of the kitchen and bought local produce and made dinner and ate on the terrace with the most amazing views of Mt. Etna and the sea. The pool area is very nice, you have to wear a cap but they are provided at a low cost. We found the breakfast to be very good, there was a good mixture of sweet and savory, plenty of fruit and the coffee was very nice. The B&B is farther out of the main town than we were expecting. It doesn't take long to get down to the centre of town, the walk back up is doable but in the heat of summer we always ended up very sweaty. I would recommend taking a taxi if you are arriving by bus until you become familiar with the shortcuts. It takes about 25 minutes to walk to the bus terminal (35 on the way back), I would recommend getting about by bus as the train station is very far out of town. We did a Mt. Etna tour while we were there, they are expensive but it is worth it to get a closer look at the mountain. Samantha, the host, was very helpful in answering our questions and booked a tour for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGoingonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had booked two nights at Villa Barone through booking.com. Because of problems with our flight we had to change plans - and even if it was too late to change the booking, it worked out fine thanks to the flexibility of Villa Barone. Carmen was always very friendly and helpful.
The views are great and we really enjoyed the balcony. The pool looked nice, but we didn`t get to try it as it closed at 6 pm. The room was ok - but I would not call it luxurious. The beds are quite hard and uncomfortable.
Breakfast was ok for Italy - mostly sweets, but also a few other Choices (ham, cheese, etc). The TV was always on in the breakfast/reception area which we found a bit annoying, but no big deal.
There are a lot of steps to/from the city centre and at the b&b and there is no elevator. We walked downhill each night, but chose to take a taxi to get back up (it`s quite steep). A taxi was 10 euros. You need a car to get around. We chose to pay to use the parking in front of the b&b to avoid street parking - the streets are narrow!
Taormina is really touristy and expensive compared to what we saw elsewhere ( we travelled the east, south and west coast by car). I wouldn`t spend more than a couple of days there....
Make sure you visit Etna and Siracusa and the Ragusa region while in Sicily!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Siri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this excellent B&B. Its unfair to describe it as a room because what we had was a suite. On entering the there was a bedroom on the left followed by the bathroom and then you entered the main bedroom which led to the balcony. The view when you wake up is of Etna and if you look left you look over the bay.
There is a swimming pool on the roof but you must wear a cap and there a quite a few rules to obey!
We parked the car in the small car park owned by the hotel opposite at a cost of 5 euros per day. Be warned most of Toarmina has restricted parking for residents only so the best option is to use the buses to get about which are cheap,reliable and regular.
Breakfast was adequate but choice was a bit limited but the staff will do everything they can to keep you happy.
Villa Barone is also partnered with a restaurant in the town and give you a card which entitles you to a discount on the bill.
Spread throughout the staircases of the hotel are pictures of the rich and famous who have stayed here or eaten in the restaurant. Its good fun putting names to faces!
The Greek Ampitheatre is a must to visit as is Castlemola perched high above Tormina.
Its easy to get to the beach either by bus or cablecar and its beautiful when you get there.
Tormina itself is a joy to walk through the streets with plenty of places to get a drink or eat.
We were there on a Saturday and it seems its practice for all brides and grooms to make their way along the street. It gives a lovely atmosphere.
One special word for Samantha who let me use the hotels computer to book in to Air Malta to confirm our flight the next day
We loved this accommodatioon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petez324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We recently stayed for 4 days at the Villa Barone in Taormina. The room was indeed luxurious (we stayed in the Orange Tree room) with a sumptuous 4 poster bed and lovely leather settee. Spacious and comfortable to the extreme. The private terrace was well provided for with sun loungers and a table and chairs for sun bathing and relaxing. The views were indeed spectacular and the experience of waking up to the sight of Mount Etna every day never paled. Much has been written about the location of Taormina. Yes, it was several hundred steps up and down to the main street, but we didn't find it a problem at all. We are fairly fit - but I can imagine it would present a problem for those less mobile. I guess if we had any gripes -and these would be very minor is that we didn't get to see much of the owner/manageress Carmen. When she was around she was helpful - giving us a lift down to town when we departed, but she was never around at breakfast to give advice on the day's activities. We were the only guests staying at the time, so perhaps this accounted for her absence. Breakfast for the first couple of days was a bit dreary with the same fruit bowl appearing on consecutive days. The last day (when somebody else was staying as well) was much better with home made pancakes and strawberries. A bit of consistency would have been nice. A couple of other small annoyances - the wifi wasn't working for the entire period of our stay and toiletries were not replaced after the initial allocation - but this was minor. Overall, a beautiful place to stay and a good base to explore Taormina.

Room Tip: The Aranja suite is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

i can't find any bad comment about this place. excellent location, quiet, clean, the service the best and carmen that will do anything to make you feel good.
for those that are looking for a wonderfull holyday...this is the place!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatauzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a charming B&B with stunning view on the Etna and the sea. Our room was big, clean and comfortable. The landlady, Carmen, is really friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very good with home-backed cakes which we appreciated a lot!
The only negative aspect, if you have a car, is that you have to through Taormina, which can be a bit tricky (some parts are very steep and narrow), but the view is definitely worth the trouble! And there is a park place just across the house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank severine_andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

we stayed at Villa Barone and had a fabulous time. the b&b is perfect, with clean comfortable big rooms, wonderful views, and close to the beautiful town centre. guests are made to feel part of the family. we will be back really soon!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#24 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
850 reviews
2.8 mi away
Il Giardino Segreto B&B
Il Giardino Segreto B&B
#57 of 117 in Taormina
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isoco Guesthouse
Isoco Guesthouse
#6 of 117 in Taormina
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Monrepos
Villa Monrepos
#93 of 117 in Taormina
3 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Magnolia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Barone - Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Barone - Luxury B&B

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 47-a, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range: £52 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Barone - Luxury B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the striking scenery of Taormina lies Villa Barone, a charming residence, alternative to a hotel, that will make your stay unforgettable thanks to the professionalism of the owners and its elegant, breathtaking setting.Comfortable rooms are all endowed with panoramic views and the most detailed facilities among which: private bathroom, air conditioning, toiletries, hairdryer, satellite TV, minibar, desk, telephone, free Wi-Fi. Services: Swimming pool with solarium, shuttle service to/from the centre of Taormina, partner restaurant "La Botte", Shuttle service to beaches partners, Internet point and free Wi-Fi, Catering for a romantic dinner in your room or light meals, Private gym, Parking, Service of private transfers to and from the airport of Catania, Rental cars, scooters and boats, Restaurant reservations, tickets theatre, hiking, Reservation beauty salons, hairdressing, Arrangements and sports activities (riding, diving, windsurf, hang gliding, golf club, tennis court, fishing) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Barone - Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Barone - Luxury B&B Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing