We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Taormina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have spent in Meridiana few nights during our Christmas vacation in Taormina. Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable, a terrace had a splendid sea view. The staff was really nice and baby friendly. During the breakfast the staff played with our toddler who didn't want to stay at the table. They also were very kind and accepted to warm baby meal at all time of the day. Would like to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel in October 2012, and yes, whilst the hotel was lovely we stayed in the apartments and shabby is the best description. The apartment had a very run down feel to it and the view was obstructed by the building site opposite and the numerous cables and wires hanging across the road. We were also regularly interrupted by the owner asking us to turn off the outside light - I found this particularly annoying as one time it was whilst I was eating breakfast on the balcony! The position of this apartment right in front of the road is not ideal and certainly not in a garden. The reception staff were variable, onhe girl was absolutely lovely and very helpful, one not so much and a third was too busy looking after her screaming baby to pay any attention to the queue of guests and was very rude to me as I asked more than one question when she was busy, a second guest got similar treatment. The location is quiet, apart from barking dogs, but the hill is very steep and not recommended for those who can't manage hills. On reflection I would not choose to stay here again I would opt for a hotel with private sunbathing and / or pool. Taormina is absolutely beautiful and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pick the hotel to stay in if you want the really good view and boutique style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowPGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from a week in Taormina - we were very well looked after at the Meridiana! Really can't fault it at all. The walk into town is up a very steep hill although a lift in the jeep is available if required. Good fun! Everywhere in Taormina involves walking up or down a hill which is great if you have been indulging yourselves and need to walk it off! Would definitely recommend a stay in the Meridiana Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view and balcony. Some rooms bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Meridiana in early September 2012 and loved it! The location, the staff, the view from our balcony, the town, the restaurants......amazing. Everything about the Meridiana is just as it looks on their website. Really clean, attentive staff. just a fanatastic place to stay. What made the stay even better was the ride up and down the hill in the classic Fiat jeep owned by the hotel and beautifully restored, really quaint and quirky but a great twist on getting to your accomodation. Would highly recommend the resort and the Hotel, first class on all counts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonDCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for our Honeymoon and chose it because it only had nine rooms. It is extremely clean and tidy and has a fantastic view of the bay from each balcony. A huge thank you to all of the staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and make our stay extra special. The hotel is situated close to the town centre and there is a climb from the hotel to the town so this hotel is not suitable for less able holiday makers. That said, it is Taoromina's position high above the Ionian sea that makes it special, so any traveller should expect to negotiate steps and slopes when visiting the town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastYorkshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

SEE DIRECTIONAL NOTES IN REVIEW! This hotel was EXTREMELY difficult to locate (see pictures below for help) as "Via Madonna delle Grazie" is actually just a narrow "footpath" just barely large enough for a small car to drive ("small" even for Italian standards) and there are NO SIGNS for the hotel from Via Roma. To find the Via Madonna delle Grazie footpath, look for a brown sign that says "Hotel Monte Tauro Parking Pool" with an arrow pointing down (see pictures). If you can stop at the top of the footpath and call the hotel they will send someone up to guide you down. If you get to Via Bagnoli Croci then you've gone TOO FAR. Also, DO NOT rely on locating this hotel using GPS as the steep hills cause the streets to appear on GPS like there are intersections when they are actually separated by hundreds of feet of elevation (above/below each other) on the cliffs.

HOWEVER, the views from the rooms make this place well worth the difficulty in locating it. The rooms even have a full standing shower (ever other hotel we stayed at in Sicily had showers with only a partial shower door/divider making it difficult to take a shower). The individual rooms did not have Wi-Fi but there is a common area/TV room that has internet access via free hotel Wi-Fi. The included breakfast was great (no cooked eggs though), mainly a spread of meats, cheese, breakfast pastries, fruit, juice, coffee/tea. The outlets in the rooms were a little troublesome as most of them were connected to the light switches, meaning you had to unscrew the light bulb from the light if you want to charge electronics overnight.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms had a good view. However, the hotel is extremely difficult to locate. Via Roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Meridiana for a week in early oct 2011. The staff are more than helpful and the rooms were lovely and comfortable. The views from our balcony were stunning, we enjoyed watching the ocean liners arrive into the bay. The weather was beautiful and so was the resort itself, plans for a pool for summer 2012 will be a great addition a small bar would make the hotel perfect, we would love to return here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.4 mi away
Caparena Hotel
Caparena Hotel
#57 of 87 in Taormina
555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#45 of 87 in Taormina
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#15 of 87 in Taormina
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta del Tocco Design Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridiana Hotel Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridiana Hotel Taormina

Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 1 bis, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#36 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £99 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridiana Hotel Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridiana Hotel Taormina is situated in one of the most stunning places in Sicily: the enchanting views overlooking, the several artistic and naturalistic attractions in the area, its quietness and serenity are all requirements for an unforgettable holiday.The complex is located at 100 metres above sea level, close to the historical Taormina centre and the famous Greek-Roman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Meridiana Hotel Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Taormina Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing