We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Central, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved everything about it. The staff treated us great and helped us with everything from getting coffee to making restaurant reservations. The breakfast every morning consisted of various meats, desserts, coffees, fruits, eggs, etc. it was great. The best part about the hotel are the views from the balconies. Each view has a postcard view and won't be forgotten. The parking lot/garage is very tricky to maneuver around. So be careful. There are stairs around the corner from the hotel that go straight up to the Shuler, then there are stairs there that go up to the Main Street, Corso Umberto. We would definitely stay at Meridiana if we go back to Taormina.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    17
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Taormina has to be one of the most photogenic locations I have ever visited, 300 meters obove sea level. Travelling alone, I was impressed with the quality and design of the accommodations, attention to detail definitely 4 star quality. The personalised welcome was thoughtful and informative given in English which was my language,covering places of interest,restaurants and accompanied with map. As always,when visiting a new country,I wished to find a gents barber. Not a problem, I was recommended to visit Mario which I will cover in a separate review. All rooms have a magnificient view of the sea and have all the requirements a guest could wish for. Cleanliness is a top priority, air conditioning, comfortable bed, summer duvet,bathroom with all facilities and a modern design. Satellite TV keeps one abreast with the news and a balcony with a view which is breathtaking.Breakfast was definitely continental with a good and varied choice of fresh fruits, cereals, cold meats, breads and pastries. My only reservation as a 65 year old was plan your day carefully, so as not to return to the hotel too often as the hill to the town is demanding.

Room Tip: You need to be fit or arrive by car to use this hotel. However it is a joy when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First Taormina is gorgeous and windy and built for goats not Alfa Romeo Guiliettas! And if the fabulous Dalia had not literally driven up to Hotel Paradiso to find us we would have never believed the road down the hill to Meridiana was a road because it had steps. See picture. Beautiful rooms and incredible views. Fab hoteliers with great advice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate, england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a lovely relaxing hotel! Clean, comfortable, cool, tastefully decorated with doors that open onto good sized balconies overlooking the sea, providing a very calm and pleasant place to sit and relax. A fruit bowl was left in our room, which was welcoming and the staff were all friendly and welcoming generally. Breakfast was a good and plentiful continental style breakfast with a good selection of fresh fruits and etc. In terms of location, it is ideal, having both wonderful views and good access to the centre of town. The entrance road is, as many have said, both steep and narrow but Taormina is not a town built for cars and all the roads are tight and steep. My advice would be, therefore, DO choose this hotel but do bring some comfortable shoes and don't opt for a large rental car!

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are pretty good and all have balconies over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just got back to UK from a wonderful week staying at the meridiana hotel. We had a wonderful week here , the staff so friendly (thank you Daria) and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Rooms lovely and clean, breakfast yummy too, the views were amazing waking up each morning overlooking stunning views of the bay and mount Etna, Taormina is such a pretty place with lots to do or just to watch the world go by in the quaint little streets , lots of restaurants to choose from too.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel as long as you don't have a problem with climbing the steep road leading to the hotel every day,, a MUST visit
Linda and Brian....Cambridge UK

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I spent two weeks at the Meridiana Hotel and found it delightful. Bright, cheerful bedrooms which is a welcome change from a lot of hotels who could do with refurbishment. Large modern bathrooms again with a splash of colour..All rooms have a balcony looking over the sea. In March you can sit outside comfortably. Having tried through the years different hotels, this one is the most comfortable and friendly. The owner and the staff are always ready to help and make sure that your stay is memorable. I felt quite spoilt by the attention. Yes the walk up to the town is steep but if you take your time it is not a problem. Taormina is full of steps anyway, makes it more interesting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylene_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have spent in Meridiana few nights during our Christmas vacation in Taormina. Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable, a terrace had a splendid sea view. The staff was really nice and baby friendly. During the breakfast the staff played with our toddler who didn't want to stay at the table. They also were very kind and accepted to warm baby meal at all time of the day. Would like to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#27 of 88 in Taormina
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Riis
Hotel Villa Riis
#76 of 88 in Taormina
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#54 of 88 in Taormina
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridiana Hotel Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridiana Hotel Taormina

Property: Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 1 bis, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridiana Hotel Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridiana Hotel Taormina is situated in one of the most stunning places in Sicily: the enchanting views overlooking, the several artistic and naturalistic attractions in the area, its quietness and serenity are all requirements for an unforgettable holiday.The complex is located at 100 metres above sea level, close to the historical Taormina centre and the famous Greek-Roman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Meridiana Hotel Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Taormina Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing