We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best we have visited recently !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wive and I visited the hotel from 13th till the 22nd of June 2011. We were very pleased with the overall service of the hotel. We've booked an superior room and stayed in the anex building and had sea view. Very nice room and very quiet also. I may say a very high standard is followed for all the rooms. For the Dutch and Belgian customers there is a contact foreseen who speakes our language, Nathalie from the reception. Minor point for me, is that the bathtub is very small, especially for guy's who are a little bit bigger.
Once you've passed the reception hall you can enjoy the magnificant view from all the terrace's. Wonderful view, one of the most spectacular I have ever seen !
Restaurants are quite good, didn't have lunch here. Breakfast is outstanding !!!! If you go and have dinner in the hotel restaurant you can enjoy the magnificant views and good food, altough not cheap. I have paid once around 250€ and another time around 220€ for 2 people. Alternative is to eat in local restaurants in town (La Terazza, La Giara, Granduca, La Botte (very traditional). Nice beach when you go to the sister hotel Sant Andrea.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vereecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

There is too much that is good to say about this wonderful place.

If you are the sort to complain about price, look away. You pay for this kind of luxury. But it is worth every penny.

The Grand Hotel Timeo is situated in the best location in Taormina, with the Greek ampitheatre directly behind, the elegance and bustle of the hilltop town right on your doorstep and views that inspire and hold you captive. Yet it is peaceful and serene.

It is one of those places you cannot tear yourself away from. On arrival, it was very different to what I am used to - boutique trendy bolt holes. But I soon became accustomed to the antique grandeur and uttter beauty of the place.

The service is amazing. I did not have one single complaint. All of the staff learn your names and are friendly and chatty without being over familiar. Having stayed in a few other five star luxury hotels in Italy, I have to say that the service here to me was the best.

You must get out and explore the gardens as they are amazing (and I am not a horticulturalist). The wellness centre is a little cottage in the grounds - very cute.

I ate in the restaurant and the poolside snack bar. Both were exemplary. Reception staff and the concierge are so well mannered and friendly.

The clientele were mostly older when we stayed, but I guess that is a seasonal thing (ie before school hols). But that wasn't a bad thing, as it was so tranquil. Very romantic and sumptuous. And yes, Etna smokes constantly. We prayed for Etna to create an ash cloud, but alas. We had to go home....but I am already booked to return.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building. More £ but better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redlipstick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

One of the best in the world overall, in terms of locations, decor, service, food and everything else.

One that can become a vacation home.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Staying at the 'sister' Orient Express Hotel - the superb, Villa Sant'Andrea, we asked the reception to book a table for us, and yet on arrival at the Timeo, they scrutinized the booking sheet and eventually found our name, but without apology, led us to our table in a less than busy restaurant. Service was perfunctory and without finesse. No menus were given initially, as a drink order was of most importance. The head waiter - a short balding man, neither smiled nor offered a welcome and was impatient to take our order, after the menus were issued. Service was slow and we waited a considerable time before the bread basket arrived. The waiter placed the fish cutlery at the wrong dinner guest, subsequently placing the wrong food with the wrong diner- he wasn't paying attention and seemed to be looking at other waiters. The food was fine, but not excellent, with the dessert, an anti-climax; a hard dome of sickly sweet white chocolate with a mousse beneath. We were drinking our dessert wine, when the sommelier came to our table to give us advice as to which dessert wine should go with which dessert, which was a waste of our time and hers, as we had already ordered both. If only the music had been of the 'background' variety, inside it emanated from an adjoining room and the boom, boom of the sound system was irritating and more in keeping with a club than a restaurant. It was a relief to ask for the bill and then the head waiter found time to tell me that he hadn't charged service, which was stated on menu would be included on the bill. What possessed me to leave a tip still infuriates- just too well mannered. Fortunately Taormino has many superb restaurants, especially at the Villa Sant'Andrea, so there is absolutely no need to ever visit this one!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank ScottishSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, Direttore generale at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your feedback we have just received and we greatly appreciate your comments.

We are very sorry to learn that you experienced some inconveniences during your visit in our restaurant, especially since both structures, the Timeo and the Villa Sant’Andrea are under the same Management and we are confident that this could have been resolved easily on site.

You may rest assured that I will be passing on your notes to the Food & Beverage team and discuss the reasons behind all those incidents.

Please do contact me directly to further investigate in details.

Best regards,

Luca Finardi
Area Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo & Villa Sant'Andrea
Taormina, Sicily
Email: info@hoteltimeo.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

You always expect a lot from 5L, and this one doesnt let you down. Location is breathtaking, rooms are just amazing, and service is superb. Breakfast will surprise you, and food is exceptional. Really the best in taormina. You really want to stay here, it's just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

It is really difficult to do justice to just how great Timeo was in this review.

We were upgraded to the Kaiser Wilhelm Suite which was a huge 3 room apartment with an enormous terrace and Jacuzzi overlooking Mount Etna. It is truely the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I can't think of any way in which it could be improved!

The breakfast buffet was fantastic with everything you could think of catered for - and sparkling wine.

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and the communal areas were also absolutely amazing. I will definitely be returning to the Grand Timeo.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraP186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Current stay at overpriced Verdura Resort in Western Sicily only serves to highlight what a fine property this is. Stylish rooms, glorious gardens, mesmerising views, sumptuous food... hotel does everything right. Staff are friendly, alert and low key What I really value is the fact that this establishment has integrity: no tiresome bill negociations, no rapacious extras. One of the best hotels in Europe. One last thing: only hotel I have been to where the pool is larger than what appears on the website. Not a lap pool but decent and heated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outtahere-gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £422 - £1,811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing