We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Expensive but worth every penny. We had an exceptional stay. The view is absolutely breathtaking,
service attentive and impeccable, plus the hotel host a proper bar with a proper barman; try the local Martinis!
We had such a wonderful experience at the hotel that we decided after a brief tour of Taormina which is busting with tourists
unloaded from cruise ships for the day to spend most of our time at the hotel or its sister hotel Villa San’Andrea which is equally as exceptional!
There is a free shuttle service between the two which is most convenient.
Highly recommend both restaurants for their exceptional cuisine and extensive wine lists.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

Well - now that it is on TripAdvisor, everybody knows and the prices will go up and I may never get back! What a place. We had a lovely room. The bar and restaurant are great (our kids loved the falcon that comes each day to keep the pigeons away).
Also went down to their other hotel, San Andreas, for lunch - very good.
I must go back - to be honest without the kids - I am not sure this is really a kid place - but perfect for us adults!

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room - it is worth the extra! At least that is what I heard from the poor unfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in the annexe (Villa Flora) and had a lovely room on two floors with a view of the sea and Etna. The room had two bathrooms, linen sheets and every luxury but it could be noisy as the floors are wooden and one could hear people moving around in adjoining rooms. The hotel itself is beautiful with a terrace giving the best views in the town. Fantastic breakfasts and very attentive service. Heated pool and free shuttle to sister hotel with private beach. I would highly recommend this hotel but next time might try to stay in the main hotel building.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanga1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Fabulous hotel - from start to finish everything was first class - restaurant was fab - with staff friendly and fun - room was lovely with great view over the fab gardens - pool and gym areas are excellent - cant fault this place and will return...Taormina is gorgerous with plenty of choice of restaurants and shopping - Timeo is top of the pile..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loftie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

the hotel Timeo in Taormina is very photogenic and super website. once you get there its VERY tired and much to much over priced for what you get.
I booked a suite at 1200euros a day and i was shown a room in the back of the hotel very dark, without a view facing a mountain at the back.
the service is exellent and so is the staff.
The food is seriuosly boring and overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paolo2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guest,
we are sorry to hear about the feeling you had of the Grand Hotel Timeo. We are about to finish the refurbishment works of the whole property this winter, all the rooms and the common areas have been renewed so we can ensure the property is not tired at all.
We would like to thank you for your feedback about the restaurant too and we look forward to welcoming you back here to show you how the hotel is changing.
Best regards

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I fully agree with everything in the review below headed: 'One of Europe's great hotels'. If you want to splash out and stay in an exceptional hotel, this is a classic, right by the entrance to the Greek/Roman theatre and near the many restaurants and touristy small shops of Taormina. It's peaceful, spacious and elegant, with breathtaking views. Our bedroom (in the separate annex mentioned below) was lovely, with a wonderful view from the terrace. The AC was indeed very quiet, and perhaps best of all for me: real Italian pure LINEN bedding - what luxury. The chambermaid service is outstanding, including a full turn-down service including a general tidy-up, fresh towels, slippers and nightwear laid out, etc.

It's also handy to have access to the free wifi and PCs, printers, etc.

The staff/service are superb as mentioned in other reviews, and the breakfast buffet is to die for - served on the terrace with the best views in Taormina. Dinner (like all other drinks, snacks etc.) is eye-wateringly expensive, and the food was perhaps not quite up to the standard of the price, views and service.

It's lovely to take the free shuttle down to the beach of the smaller (but equally luxurious) sister hotel, and a good idea to have lunch or dinner in their excellent restaurant, too.

Any negative comments? Well, if you like smaller, cosey/homely hotels this isn't for you: it's quite grand and we were a bit intimidated on arrival. Our bathroom was definitely not up to scratch for the price of the room: the only shower was over the bath with a leaky screen, and only one washbasin. The swimming pool is on the small side and over-heated: like a bath! There aren't that many loungers for the size of hotel.

Getting to the hotel by car is a NIGHTMARE; for some reason Citalia didn't send us the map that the hotel send prospective guests but even with that I expect we would have got lost in the maze of little streets. We arrived in a very stressed state! Anyway, if you can find it, park in the car park at the bottom of the grounds (near the Botanical Garden) and a porter will come and take you and your luggage to Reception.

I'm quite surprised that the Grand Hotel Timeo doesn't come out higher in the tripadvisor rankings: Taormina must have many first-rate hotels.

Overall: I highly recommend the experience of staying in this top-class Italian hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the separate villa annex are nice and the villa is in a very quiet location: try and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The service at the grand hotel timeo was excellent. There was an issue with our room at their sister hotel and we were moved to Timeo. At first we were disappointed not to be on the beach but it was perfect being up in town. the drive up to the town and finding the hotel was horrendous to the point where i gave up and waited for the hotel to send someone to drive our car through the pedestrian area. but once we arrived at the hotel we were treated very well and our room was very nice. the pool is clean and quiet. the breakfast is amazing. the dinner was also very good but one dish would be amazing and another average. for the price, everything should be amazing. They were extremely kind to our 15 month old daughter. The only criticism i have is that the babysitting service was kind of shady. most of the top hotels use services and the babysitters show up speaking english, carrying a badge and the hotel handles payment. this sitter did not speak english, didn't have any credentials and the hotel said was the friend of the sitter they called. It made me a bit un easy. but overall it was a lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay. i would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Taormina.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarag7229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#26 of 87 in Taormina
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £295 - £1,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing