We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep for 1800 euros a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No sleep for 1800 euros a night”
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Each evening at midnight the trash is picked up, crashing glass wakes you up. About 6am it starts all over. The staff smiles and acts like they never have heard of this. After day 3, you stop believing them. And if for 1800 euros you expect to control the thermostat, think again. Adjust it all you like, but their computer won't let it go below 75 degrees. The affable staff once again smiles and says "Italians don't like ac"

Lovely hotel, great breakfast,great location, overpriced and exasperating. Sorry, taking my euros elsewhere to get a good nights sleep in a 72 degree room

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank mmmm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to give us your precious feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are really sorry to learn that your experience has not been enjoyable to the fullest and that the A/C was not properly fixed especially since we were confident that the problem was solved.

Regarding the noise issue we finally found a way to agree with the company that collects the garbage to take it from another place avoiding the night and morning disturbance.

We apologise ones again for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you and you may rest assured that we are actively working to improve our service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in the very near future and are delighted to remain at your full personal disposal for any further information or assistance you may require.

Best regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    59
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
158
463
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The most classy hotel I ever had the honour to stay in.

You wouldn't be surprised to bump into Humphrey Bogart or Ava Gardner on the generous terrace guarded by a hawk and an owl ( to keep the doves away)...

Beautiful setting, just in front of the Amphitheatre and with breathtaking views over the sea and at Mount Etna gently puffing in the background...

The historic, but timeless and classy interior add to the general sphere and make you feel a bit like a movie star yourself when you come back from a nice stroll through the hot and humid village of Taormina.

I would love to return one day, and would probably do the same mistake again, of enjoying far too many of those nice -but pricey- cocktails on the terrace in too little time...

Maybe next time Humphrey says hello?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
544 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is luxury personified. We had 10 days in this heaven on earth. Views sensational - you sit by the pool totally pampered by caring staff, watching Mount Etna gently puffing away. The pool bar is wonderful, the lunch restaurant sublime and dinner, at night, on the Terrace is sensational. Wine lists are fantastic. The bar is elegant, the public areas filled with amazing antiques are comfortable. Service is consistently sublime. Our room was truly beautiful. We had a small corner suite and I could have happily lived there forever. Adjoining is the ruin of a Greek Amphitheater where we were treated to a ballet of Romeo & Juliette under the stars. Could it get much better? OH YES, ladies, the hotel is set in the beautiful and traffic free cobblestone town of Taormina. The shops are amazing and the myriad of little restaurants are a delight. We dined out many times and had wonderful food in so many little, unexpected discoveries. This is a destination that is an ideal 5 day break and a perfect honeymoon spot. Can't wait to go back to what is the Jewel in the Crown for the Orient Express.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! We are delighted to receive such a lovely feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our corner of heaven in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you have the chance, it's definitely worth staying at this hotel. I've been there last summer with my girlfriend and her family and it was awesome. Her dad got an upgrade to the presidential suite: WOW is the only word coming to my mind! We all got very nice rooms with big balcony. I could for sure get used to waking up to that view: the coast, the blue/turquoise water or the ocean and mount Etna in the background... simply breath taking. One night we came back from a excursion and we were all very tired, so we decided to have dinner on the private terrasse of the presidential suite: the service was super great and the food too!

The pool area is nice too, very relaxing and beautiful grounds. The property itself is so charming, flowers everywhere, antique furnitures, so much character!

The location is perfect: the main entrance leads directly to the little streets of the city, and is only 2 minutes away from the ancient greek theatre. There's also a shuttle service all day to the sister hotel, Villa San Andrea, wich is right on the beach. So you can access a private part of the bay with waiter service. You can also eat at Villa San Andrea's restaurant, just in front of the ocean. We tried it and I tought it was even better than the Grand Timeo's restaurant. Sea food were excellent, especially the lobster!

The only thing that I did not liked about my stay was that the cleaning lady took away my garment bag and the hotel didn't seem to care about it. It's not that big of a deal, but I didn't had anything to put my suits in after that.

Still, I loved Grand Timeo and if I have the chance to go back one day it would be awesome...

Room Tip: Room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a truly magical hotel, right on the coast with the most breath taking views. The staff are incredibly friendly and the breakfasts are superb, not only is the food faultless but the views from the terrace incredible. The interior of the hotel is classic and timeless and everywhere is spotlessly clean, I even saw them polishing the glass ceiling lights along the hallways on a daily basis. It is pretty expensive but if you get the chance to experience grand hotel timeo go for it!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helena37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you! We are really pleased to receive such a wonderful feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with the whole team and especially with our Housekeeping team!

We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future and remain at your complete disposal in the meantime.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Timeo for 5 nights in October as part of our honeymoon. This is a beautiful and grand hotel set in immaculate grounds with a heated outdoor pool and very attentive service. We had upgraded to a 'side sea view' room which was a duplex room in the hotel's annex Villa Flora. Whilst this was beautiful I was a little disappointed not to be in the main hotel as the annex was separated from the hotel by the entrance to the Greek theatre - the main tourist attraction in Taormina. As other reviewers have noted drinks and snacks in the hotel are overpriced - a cappucino and cocktail were 23 euro....much cheaper to head into Taormina which is a beautiful town. The Hotel Grand Timeo was our little piece of Sicilian luxury

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Timeo. We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to find the perfect accommodation for you. In the meantime we are delighted to remain at your personal disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Best regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Impeccable service and room condition. We were there this summer and had the room with a terrace which is actually kind of the rooftop so could see the whole taormina town and bay. Stunning view. Great amenities and excellent location. Food quality probably the best in Taormina. We had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant for its pasta and fish were unrivaled. Also could go to the sister hotel and enjoy the beach. So wonderful and again service absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, Food & Beverage Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are delighted that everything and especially our restaurant met your expectations to the fullest! I will be happy to share your kind words with the whole team and especially with the Food & Beverage staff, who will be encouraged by your remarks.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Timeo and our beautiful restaurant!

Best wishes,

Stefano Lo Giudice
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#15 of 88 in Taormina
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing