We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply extraordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

My great-grandmother stayed at this hotel in 1962, so when my wife and I were planning our honeymoon we decided to end it with three nights at the Grand Timeo in Taormina. Though our original reason for going to the hotel was a sentimental connection, after spending three days there we will return again and again. It is, in a word, an extraordinary hotel.

There is no doubt that the prices for the room are extremely high - over 500 euro a night for our standard double room (we ended up being upgraded to a deluxe double). That said, you get what you pay for, and much more in fact. Our room was in the separate building, on the third floor in the corner and had a large balcony with a spectacular view of Mt. Etna and the bay of Taormina. The room was large and light and even though the bathroom would be considered small by US standards it was beautifully appointed and more than adequate. Everything from the linen sheets, to the Frette robes, to the 3 different types of toiletries was carefully thought out and of the highest quality. Both my wife and I have stayed in luxury properties around the world and even if the room wasn't the biggest we have stayed in the evident care with which it was designed and maintained made it by far the most comfortable. The location of the hotel is also impossible to beat - because it's one of the highest up the hill the views are unmatched and even though you are literally footsteps away from the Greek theater, it never once felt like we were in the midst of a tourist maelstrom. We also had a light lunch and dinner on the terrace in the main part of the hotel - again the sweeping views over the bay are impossible to put a price on. Orient Express owns not only the Timeo but also the Villa Sant Andrea - an old noble's villa now converted into a hotel down by the beach. This is a huge plus because being a guest at the Timeo you can use the beach and all the amenities of the Sant Andrea as if you were a guest there. The beach, like many in Italy, is made of pebbles but the water is crystal clear and the beach service is very good. Having both the mountains and the beach is a wonderful aspect of the Timeo I do not think is shared by the other 5-star properties in Taormina. We had dinner at the restaurant at the San Domenico hotel, one of the other super luxe properties and while its location is good I don't think it can compete with the Timeo. Also, I would add, the general feel of the hotel and the service, while very good was quite obviously a notch below the Timeo.

Included in I believe every room rate is breakfast which can be served either at the hotel buffet or in your room. Given our gorgeous balcony we opted to have it in the room all three days and it was simply sumptuous. The selection is huge, from cereals, fruit and brioche to eggs, steak and veal, to prosciutto, buffalo mozarella and Sicilian goat cheese. To be sure, given the price of the room one would expect a very high quality and generous breakfast, but this exceeded our expectations. Each day the waiters would set up our table on the balcony with care and the food was consistently delicious. We are huge foodies and were on the whole disappointed with much of the food we had in Sicily, but the Timeo really exceeded our lofty expectations at breakfast. Less impressive, I will note, was the food for lunch and dinner we had at the terrace restaurant. Given the superlative prices we were disappointed by the grilled shirmp, pasta, and minestrone we ordered. It wasn't bad, but was quite ordinary.

Finally, I would be remiss if I didn't point out that perhaps the most impressive thing about the hotel overall was the service. From the bell boys to the concierge to the very friendly guest services manager, everyone was beyond polite, warm, and extremely helpful. Everyone seemed to know our names, knew it was our honeymoon, and went out of their way to see our every need was satisfied. One small example. We had particularly liked a certain type of artisanal olive oil while in Sicily and wanted to find a place to buy it in Taormina. Manuela (I believe her name was) who had checked us in looked up the oil, then called around stores in Taormina, and reserved the final three bottles available at the one store that had it. Given that the Timeo holds itself out as a super luxury hotel and charges as much one might say this sort of service is to be expected, but nevertheless it was great to see it in action at every turn.

One small dissapointment is the Orient Express doesn't appear to have any type of loyalty program. Given our experience at the Timeo we are very tempted to try out other Orient Express properties and probably will in the future. If there was a loyalty program that provided some sort of benefits for frequent guests it would increase our incentive to do this.

In sum, if you can fit the Timeo into your budget - which is no small task - you won't be disappointed will leave feeling that your money was very well spent.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify a room with a view of the bay and I would suggest a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djangy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    56
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
148
442
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I decided to start our 15 day visit to Sicily with 5 nights at the Grand Hotel Timeo in Taormina. It is an elegant hotel with the best location in Taormina. The staff is professional but friendly and attentive to your every need. We chose the package that included breakfast and one additional meal, and it was delightful to dine every evening al fresco - the weather is perfect the first week of September, with views of the town, Mt. Etna and the sea. Easily took advantage of the sister property on the beach with the hotel's private shuttle van service - one day the van was full and the attendant called us a private car service (gratis) so we would not have to wait the 30-45 minutes for the next van! The only caveat we have for Timeo is if you have a rental car, the directions the hotel provides indicate a gated barrier to a street in the center of town - the web site does not mention that an employee must come open the gate, so you have to call ahead and wait 10 minutes for the gate to open.

All in all, a near perfect place to splurge.

Four of the five days we were in Taomina Mt. Etna was in clouds but the one day it was clear we took advantage and made a day trip of it - definitely worth the visit.

Room Tip: Room 228 is a corner room with two balconies, one facing Mt. Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We are staying in the Vila Flora in a mini suite with views as fine as they come - waking to see a smoking Mount Etna is really something. Everything divine so far...really classy hotel. Nice vibe with great concierges.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixiebreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having spent four wonderful days at The Caruso in Ravello, we were concerned that The Timeo wouldnt live up to expections but we needn't have worried. As usual with Orient Express, the housekeeping was immaculate and the staff efficient and friendly. Loved the fact that the centre of Taormina was easily accessible. Our welcome bottle of wine and nibbles was appreciated. Views from the terrace were fabulous, towards the coast and also Etna. The half hourly shuttle to the Sant Andrea was much appreciated as the temperature was high and a day at the private beach of their sister hotel was a necessity. Beautiful grounds to wander at night after coffee on the terrace. Looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Spending a holiday in Sicily at the Grand Hotel Timeo was a unique experience. The hotel is one of the oldest in Sicily. It is located in a fantastic position and you can enjoy a stunning view. I loved the style of the hotel: timeless and elegant interiors. Just from the hall I realized It was a refined structure.
My wife and I stayed in a Junior Suite. The room was on two floors and It was very elegant with a large bathroom. The view from the balcony of the room took my breath away. However The Junior Suite was not in the main building but in another structure, called Villa Flora.
We also enjoyed the terrace with the pool where you can sunbathe and chill out.
When the weather is mild they serve a rich breakfast on the terrace. If It’s not they served inside but It was not the same thing.
To sum up I consider my experience very good because the hotel is really evocative with Its ancient and solemn structure but It is also surrounded by a fantastic landscape.
The prices are no within everyone's reach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertiHuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We arrived at the airport at 8.20pm, and were picked up in a nice Jaguar. The driver was polite & friendly, and drove us to the Grand Hotel Timeo. We were immediately checked in, and shown to our room. We had a superior double I think, it was about 700 euros per night. The hotel is just beautiful with views looking out to Mount Etna. Unfortunately it was rather hazy over her, so we didn't get to see her until our last day. Our room was just lovely, amazing bathroom with an incredible view. The only thing we would have changed about our room was the balcony. We would have simply loved to have a small table & 2 chairs so we could sit there after dinner & take in the views while drinking a glass of wine. We did attempt to but our chairs out there, but you couldn't both face the woonderful view.
The swimming pool is fantastic, better than the sister hotel as it is huge. I swam for an hour every day. The weather was boiling, and the pool staff were very quick to bring out bottles of lovely called water. They also make an amazing Mojito by the pool!
We did get a complimentary bottle of prosecco on the night we arrived, but we didn't get quite the treatment of the Villa Sant Andrea. However this is a beautiful hotel, set in the heart of Taormina. You literally leave the hotel, walk down the road and you are in the center of everything.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a balcony you can sit on. We did ask if we could have a terrace, but un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanneb255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Timeo. The location and views are fantastic. Members of staff are helpful and friendly without being over familiar or obsequious. There was no problem with sun loungers around the pool in fact on several occasions we were the only people there .

We took half board with some misgivings but we were pleasantly surprised with the standard and choice of meal. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and we had some excellent wines. Best of all was dining with that fabulous view. There was also the option of taking meals at the sister hotel on the beach.

Our first room was unsatisfactory as we were woken by the loud sound of chairs scraping on floor of the restaurant above but our room was changed with no problem.

The complimentary boat trip was a great way to see Taormina and Sicily from the sea, with a stop for swimming/snorkelling in the lovely warm water.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lojaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing