We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Times at Timeo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Location: excellent for walking around in the town, hiking up to the church, seeing Teatro Greco (next door!) You can really do everything from here. Or, you can stay in - it's got everything you need to have amazing chill-time at the resort.

Room: had a one bedroom with a separate sitting area, very lovely. I enjoyed spending time in the room because it felt very cozy like a small apartment. Good closets for unpacking your stuff nicely, and a bathroom with big windows and a great soaking tub. I took baths every day here. Comfortable beds, spacious feeling.

Staff: loved the people here, everyone was really down to earth, professional and helpful. We learned a lot about grappa from the bartender, had a great discussion about the regional pastas with one of our servers at dinner, and generally enjoyed interaction with all of the staff.

** Special mention: Simone at concierge. She went out of her way to help us plan a few things which ended up being amazing: we took her suggestion of going out to the Aeolian Islands (Panarea, Lipari, Vulcano, Stromboli) on a day cruise, returning by night to see the volcano Stromboli erupting. It was amazing... as we drove away the jellyfish were lighting up the ocean behind us, bioluminescent. I thank her for that suggestion as it lead to one of the most magical experiences I've had :) She also had great recommendations for everything else- from restaurants to ceramic shops to best route and time of day to hike to a given location. And the way she described things was very thorough so you really understood all of the logistics of getting there/back, and details of the place itself. Thanks again, Simone!**

Food: espressos here were SO good! The food in general was delicious- had breakfast on the terrace restaurant some mornings, and had room service others, equally good. Yummy pool bar food as well.

Grounds: glorious gardens, a very nice pool and many paths to peruse on a warm afternoon.

Conclusion: very enjoyable stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xstala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Timeo claims five star rating and it delivers.
The location, the hotel, the service, the cuisine...five star.
The Italians know what chic, style and customer service mean...a must on anyones bucket list. Not inexpensive but worth the investment to enjoy such quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Timeo in May for and it is definitely a special hotel. Firstly the staff down to every last member are amongst the most helpful & delightful we met anywhere on our travels. We met Daniel one of the maitre D's on our way out to have our wedding blessed & just mentioned the fact in passing and when we returned for dinner, he presented us with the most spectacular wedding cake as a gift from the kitchen & introduced us to the head chef. We are writing this from abroad so don't have notes thus it is to our shame that we don't recall everyone's names but from the major d'omo to all the reception staff to the most beautiful lady responsible for PR to the lifeguards & cleaners the staff do this hotel proud. It is expensive & l urge you to get a deal that includes dinner as it would otherwise be astronomical but the food is better than any of the restaurants that we ate in in Taormina. Don't bother with the pool restaurant for lunch - far too pricey & not worth it. Double espresso at €11 is eye watering and it would have been nice if they had included complimentary water around the pool (esp when paying €740 a night for the room). Our room in the main part of the hotel was delightful and had a nice aspect overlooking the beautiful gardens. Pastries at breakfast could be fresher. Given 4 not 5 star purely because it would be nice if Orient Express included more complimentary touches given the price. Yet for all that, if you want amazing service in a beautiful hotel and can afford it then stay at the Timeo. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflyer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive feedback and we were honoured to have you as our guest.

We are delighted to learn that your stay at the Timeo was enjoyable, experiencing the Sicilian atmosphere and hospitality. It's my sincere pleasure to pass on your encouraging words to the whole team. They are special, professional people and we are happy that you appreciated their service.

Nevertheless, we have taken into consideration your note regarding the cost of some services you listed, and we assure you that we will make good use of your feedback. Moreover, we also appreciate your suggestions about the complimentary services and at this regard we wish to highlight that we already offer complimentary services included in the room rates such as: the complimentary boat tour (from middle May to September), Wi-Fi internet connection, the courtesy shuttle which connects the Timeo with our sister property and the beach, as well as breakfast in-room and all extra dishes from the breakfast menu such as any kind of dish with eggs or even meat.

However, we thank you once again for your observation and we are more than happy to learn that you will be coming back in the close future.

Already looking forward to welcoming you again to the Timeo and remaining at your complete disposal we send you our best regards.

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What can be said of the Grand Hotel Timeo in Taormina? 'Perfect' readily comes to mind.
No detail is overlooked; service is truly exceptionally extraordinary. Exquisite is the only way to describe the physical facility - which is maintained in absolutely immaculate order, and the culinary offerings are sinful; all of this along with the divine setting combine for a truly 1st Class experience!
The attention to details, from the fresh flowers in the room - as well as in the bathroom, the Bulgari and Penhaligon's toiletries, high thread-count cotton sheets, pillow selections and so much more leave nothing unforeseen to and/or left to the imagination. If you want to leave your cares at the door - so to speak, look no further than the Grand Hotel Timeo. The pool is heated and well staffed to provide for your every whim. The gardens are lovely.
Our room was on the ground floor of the main building. The king-sized bed couldn't have been more comfortable. The views from our private terrace - those of the gardens, the sea and Mt. Etna, was a delightful place to enjoy our first coffees of the day {or a full breakfast - which the staff will cheerfully present at a time of your speification}, or on which to view an enchanting sunset at day's end.
I could - were money no object and prior obligations not factors, easily have been inclined to have had my mail forwarded to me in care of the Grand Hotel Timeo, Taormina, and remained there... indefinitely. Alas, the realities of life eventually meant that we had to depart. I do hope we've another opportunity to spend another week {or longer} at the Grand [aptly so named] Timeo.

Room Tip: If you're fortunate enough to be able to afford it, the Grand Hotel Timeo defines elegance and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Love an Orient Express experience and this is no exception. It is one very special place - beautiful setting right next to the Greek amphitheatre in Taormina with the most amazing views of Etna and the bay. The people who work here are fab - professional without being too formal. They are obviously allowed to be themselves and therefore bring their own style and humour to the exceptional service they provide. While we were there our daughter had her birthday, which we didn't tell them about. However the waiter noticed her opening cards at breakfast, immediately brought glasses of prosecco with strawberries and then for the rest of the day every team member we encountered wished her happy birthday; amazing - they are really 'on it'. The rooms are great - ours both had lovely balconies with incredible views. We stayed in the separate villa which we loved - it's really not a hardship to walk two minutes to the main hotel for breakfast on the terrace (lovely). The restaurant food and wine as are top class and they have a great piano bar with terrace for evening drinks. One night there was a Mark Knopfler concert in the amphitheatre so we enjoyed a slightly surreal dinner on the terrace that night with live music laid on! The performers stay in the hotel too (they've also had Sting, Incognito, Patti Smith, etc as well as jazz and opera) and you might just run into them at breakfast if that's your thing! Great pool with super attentive staff and beautiful garden restaurant under cooling grapevines for lunch. The concierge is super helpful will also recommend and book restaurants in the town, incidentally we found the 'Q Bar'down there which was nice. Or have a drink in Piazza IX Aprile and watch the numerous weddings coming and going at St Augustines.
Overall the Timeo isn't cheap though you certainly get what you pay for and we loved it - would definitely add it to my shortlist of all-time favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a terrace, villa is quiet and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Old world luxury meets superlative service at the Timeo. Check in was a breeze and our room was assigned in the original building with an amazing view over the water. If you'd like a terrace with seating be sure and request as some are French balcony only. The deluxe rooms are a nice size with wonderful king bed, very spacious wardrobe and marble bath. My one small word of advice for the hotel is to modify the shower. The head literally came to my chest (I'm 1.7 meters tall) and there is one of the silly European half doors therefore a flooded bathroom was the result of each shower.

The pool was perfection. The best pool service I've experienced in all of Europe included cocktails, lights snacks and multiple flavors of granita. Amazing.

Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the best view in Europe and was varied and of good quality. Excellent coffee and cooked eggs along with cheeses, pastries, etc.

The location is quite good, just off the Corso and very quiet, almost secluded.

Special note to housekeeping. Really exceptional. The rooms was immaculately cleaned each day, toiletries replaced, clothes and shoes arranged in the wardrobe and fresh flowers placed. This hotel literally sets the standard for housekeeping worldwide.

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for terrace and make sure you have a sea view on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miamiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Exceptional hotel with arguably the best view in Italy. The bar terrace and restaurant have Mt Etna and the coast set out ahead of them. Wonderful food and attentive service merely add to the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £339 - £1,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing