We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed Expectations on Food, Decor, Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Surpassed Expectations on Food, Decor, Service”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The staff was amazingly attentive and efficient. The concierge, Stephen, was particularly noteworthy (and in how many languages is that man fluent!). The little things that are so important like getting back to you promptly to let you know that they're working on a request. I dropped by the front the desk to request a toothbrush to replace the one a family member had forgotten to pack...the brush arrived at our front door before I did (it literally took them seconds).
The setting was beautiful. We hadn't done as much research as we normally do so we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had full privileges (including complimentary van to and from) their sister property on the beach, which was also beautiful. Complimentary wifi and full 'American breakfast' were great, the latter was actually really high quality with stunning vistas of the waterfront down the hill in Taormina.
We used the gym and the pool and the real shocker -- the complimentary 2hr+ boat tour of Taormina. Seriously...wow! We and a few others boarded a small and not so luxurious boat just off the beach at their sister hotel. That boat took us to a larger and more luxe boat (that just couldn't get into the shallows by the beach) and the staff on the boat were wonderful too. Impressive tour and lovely swim in the very, very salty and warm waters.
Dinners were expertly prepared and served and the wine list was really good, with some exceptional Piedmont offerings (some even priced below US retail).
We ended up taking numerous meals at the hotel, though they were happy to recommend places in town, which we also loved.
We had a lovely tour of Mt Etna, which the hotel arranged. We also loved the hotel's grounds and, perhaps most importantly, the air conditioned rooms (essential in August)!
The rooms themselves were lovely, clean and ample bathroom space with full American-style showers and great views.
The location was also ideal.
You do not need a rental car if you stay here...
Enjoy and perhaps we will see you there as we'd love to return. Thanks

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdGrapeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    60
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
164
477
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

From the moment of the first warm welcome, to the decor, the rooms, lunch, breakfast, checkout, all was of top quality and genuine care. Oh and that terrace. Can there be a better spot in Sicily!

To sit over a lazy exquisite breakfast looking out over the sea and Etna. Breathtaking.

Not to even mention the private garden and pool.

All located just at the edge of the old city so you can get in and out easily. Ready access to the sights without being in the midst of the tourist hubub.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A wonderful hotel, staff helpful and friendly. Very good position for walking around to see the sights that the town has to offer. The view from the room was spectacular, the breakfast room was also with a view to remember. This hotel will always remain a strong memory in my mind and it is one that I hope I get the opportunity to revisit.

Room Tip: A real luxury hotel, friendly and helpful staff. The location was perfect for walking to all the won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We are not usually the type for big hotels where there are nearly as many staff as guests but Timeo may have turned us. From the moment we parked our car and were picked up by the golf buggy who took us and our (vast amounts of) luggage up the winding path towards reception we knew we were somewhere special. The place was immaculate, the gardens pristine with colourful flowers aplenty, hedges trimmed to perfection, we were worried we were letting them down by being there all hot and sweaty after a long drive. Check in was speedy and professional. Our room wasn’t ready but who cared as we were whisked onto the terrace and given an array of nibbles and a glass of rose? And with the view that met us, I could have quite happily set up camp and slept there. They wouldn’t have let me of course, I really would have upset the beauty of the place.

The attention to detail and upkeep of Timeo surpasses anything I have ever experienced. The pool is immaculate, the sunbeds so comfy, the attendants know you by name and see to your every whim. Drinks are perfectly mixed, lunch is fresh and tasty, there really isn’t anything that is too much trouble for them. Our room was spacious, well equipped and I have never seen such a fantastic spread of toiletries. His and hers slippers and robes so you aren’t swamped in a robe that is also supposed to fit a large giant man, a proper superking bed and not two singles pushed together, I really can’t fault it. It was the last two nights of our honeymoon and I can’t think of a better place to have relaxed at the tail end of our trip and taken in the beauty of Taormina before having to return to dreary London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After a vist to the stunning teatro Greco we stopped off briefly at this beautiful 5 star hotel -really just out of curiosity to see the grand and luxurious inside! We definitely weren't dressed for the occasion being in shorts and t shirt but the reception staff werent at all stuffy or condescending. Instead they surged us to stay for a drink and take in the quite simply stunning views.
I am glad they did the staff were charming in a typically warm, Italian way. And we had two wonderful cocktails while appreciating the surroundings. What a wonderful hotel- do stop by! If it was in my budget range I would have stayed! Fantastic place in a beautiful location. You can always look at the Rolex watches for sale behind glass in the lobby!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Location: excellent for walking around in the town, hiking up to the church, seeing Teatro Greco (next door!) You can really do everything from here. Or, you can stay in - it's got everything you need to have amazing chill-time at the resort.

Room: had a one bedroom with a separate sitting area, very lovely. I enjoyed spending time in the room because it felt very cozy like a small apartment. Good closets for unpacking your stuff nicely, and a bathroom with big windows and a great soaking tub. I took baths every day here. Comfortable beds, spacious feeling.

Staff: loved the people here, everyone was really down to earth, professional and helpful. We learned a lot about grappa from the bartender, had a great discussion about the regional pastas with one of our servers at dinner, and generally enjoyed interaction with all of the staff.

** Special mention: Simone at concierge. She went out of her way to help us plan a few things which ended up being amazing: we took her suggestion of going out to the Aeolian Islands (Panarea, Lipari, Vulcano, Stromboli) on a day cruise, returning by night to see the volcano Stromboli erupting. It was amazing... as we drove away the jellyfish were lighting up the ocean behind us, bioluminescent. I thank her for that suggestion as it lead to one of the most magical experiences I've had :) She also had great recommendations for everything else- from restaurants to ceramic shops to best route and time of day to hike to a given location. And the way she described things was very thorough so you really understood all of the logistics of getting there/back, and details of the place itself. Thanks again, Simone!**

Food: espressos here were SO good! The food in general was delicious- had breakfast on the terrace restaurant some mornings, and had room service others, equally good. Yummy pool bar food as well.

Grounds: glorious gardens, a very nice pool and many paths to peruse on a warm afternoon.

Conclusion: very enjoyable stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xstala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godalming
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Timeo claims five star rating and it delivers.
The location, the hotel, the service, the cuisine...five star.
The Italians know what chic, style and customer service mean...a must on anyones bucket list. Not inexpensive but worth the investment to enjoy such quality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing