We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We just had 1 and a half days to tour Sicily. We chose this hotel on the eastern side of Sicily since the places/attractions we wanted to see the most (Mt. Etna and "The Godfather" shoot locations) were in eastern Sicily. We were also planning to visit Palermo in Sicily's western side. But the moment we got to the hotel, we realised how beautiful it was that we had to cancel our plan to visit Palermo the next day to enjoy the most of this hotel.

What I liked the most about this hotel is the view from the restaurant terrace. On a clear day, you can see Mt. Etna from afar and the Ionian Sea. Taormina can also be seen from the hotel's terrace. The hotel also has an expansive and well-kept garden. During summer, the hotel offers free boat tours around Mazzarro Bay and nearby areas so that was a plus for us since we didn't know that beforehand. The swimming pool area was also nice and I enjoyed spending time there. The food at the restaurant was also good. The hotel is also near a lot of shops and restaurants so it is centrally located.

The room was very nicely decorated and had all the amenities of a five-star hotel. We had a good night's sleep all throughout our stay. The hotel staff were also very nice and accommodating. The moment we arrived, we were given a tour of the hotel and shown the features of our room. All our needs were addressed by the hotel staff. They made sure that we enjoy the most of Sicily.

Our hotel package also included tickets to an opera at the adjacent Teatro Greco and watching it was a truly memorable and worthwhile experience.

I can only have good words for this hotel. I hope to come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking Taormina and the Ionian Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are more than happy to learn that you enjoyed your time in Sicily! We are already looking forward to another great season ahead and are positive that there will be more wonderful events at the Greek Theater, as soon as the schedule for 2014 will be published.

We hope to welcome you back soon and send you already our best wishes for a Merry Christmas,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    60
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
164
477
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Grand Hotel Timeo is splendid place to stay and in our opinion far superior in every way to its sister hotel in Taormina.

We stayed for 4 nights but had to change rooms after 2 nights as our first room ( a suite ) has been previously booked for our last to nights. We moved to a superior room which was quite small although well appointed. The views from both rooms over the bay are very special, these views are also enjoyed from the bar and the dining room.

The service at the bar was first rate as was the food and service in the restaurant. We didn't stay in the annex but we walked up to the building, it looked fine but I am told it is worth spending the extra for a room in the main hotel.

Now we come to the few downsides. The hotel is very difficult in fact nearly impossible to get to by a rented car as the access to the car park is beyond difficult to access or find. We like touring the countryside, we rented a car for our 4 day stay, we didn't use it once. Local taxis struggle to locate the car park what chance would we have - so if you visit this hotel don't pre-book a hire car.

The swimming pool is great and the service impeccable but in early October it mostly loses the Sun by 4pm which is a pain. All that having been said if you want to visit Taormina this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building close to the lift that comes in by the bar and reception areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review, which I highly appreciate and I am happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us at the Timeo.

In order to improve we do need the most precious comments and observations from the client’s point of view as they really live and experience our hotel from arrival to departure.

You may therefore rest assured that good note has been taken regarding the difficulties you faced in finding the hotel upon arrival. We are aware that the infrastructure of Taormina might seem quite challenging due to misleading signposting and one-way streets and will improve our driving directions in order to guarantee a smoother arrival.

Thank you again and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Taormina, hopefully in the close future.

Kind regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Truly a great hotel! We arrived just before the end of season ( The hotel closes from early November to March) and on arrival, were upgraded to a room with a panoramic view of the coast and the majestic Mt. Etna. The mountain had just received its first winter dusting which added to its splendor.

From handing the car keys to Francesco on our arrival all the staff presented a high degree of professionalism and genuine warmth throughout our stay. Dinner in the restaurant was superb but the icing on the cake was the sumptuous breakfast on the terrace with the stunning view mentioned above. 25c degrees in early November added to the occasion.

Room Tip: View of Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin47Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Timeo this November.

We can’t wait to open our gates again at the end of March 2014 and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the close future.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A beautiful hotel with a fantastic outlook. The Timeo has fantastic views out to sea and towards Mount Etna along with it's own very well kept gardens which roll down the hill, lending it's self to the grandness of this hotel.

It's a true classic hotel and like another reviewer commented it does have an antique feel about it, but this is a plus not a negative, it suits the hotel and the owners should keep it as it is and not try to make it modern or contemporise it.

The restaurant is excellent with thoughtful staff whom offer excellent service which is matched by the cuisine. Yes it is expensive but you pay for what you get and although I only had two nights here I saw the same people eating in the restaurant on consecutive nights, whom clearly loved the food. the breakfast which is served n the same place is equally as good, plenty of choice on the buffet with hot food cooked to order, the eggs Benedictine were lovely.

I was fortunate to have a Suite, the dual aspect of which was great with plenty of light and a great view from the balcony. The furnishings were totally in keeping with the hotel and the raised vaulted ceiling added to the grandeur.

The hotel was very clean, tidy and very well maintained, so though an older hotel the management clearly do keep a good maintenance schedule.

One of the hotels own cars took us back to the airport, the driver was very careful on the busy Sicilian roads and he gave us an informed commentary about local landmarks.

I loved it and intend to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write us your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Timeo and will share your delightful comments with all our colleagues, whose goal it is to make each day of our guests memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Taormina and in any other hotels, trains and cruises part of the Orient-Express collection.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi

General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo, Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent two nights here in a superb room with a sea view and overlooking Mt. Etna. The staff, who take their jobs seriously and who are mostly multi-lingual, could not have done more to make us feel completely comfortable and spoilt. The pool staff, in particular, are just incredible laying out your towels for you on the lounge of your choice. The restaurant staff are very attentive too and gave us a table right at the front overlooking the lights in the bay down below - so romantic! The menu was extensive and the wine list great. We opted for the locally produced wines, which did not disappoint and matched the food perfectly. Breakfast was a real spread with five different mozarella cheeses to choose from, not to mention all the different types of honeys! The room was very well appointed with a balcony overlooking the beautiful, very well-tended gardens. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus down to the sister Hotel San Andrea, located on a stretch of private beach, which overlooks Isola Bella. We swam in the Mediterranean and lay on the lounges afterwards. The hotel is right next door to the Teatro Antico di Taormina, which is very well preserved and also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and sea view overlooking Mt. Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! We are delighted to receive such a lovely feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to our corner of heaven in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upminster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Sit back and enjoy,this superb hotel set in a great position next door to the greek theatre ,overlooking the sea and mount etna has a wonderfully relaxed but professional fill about it(professional being the staff which where very friendly and accommadating with all our needs).The room was stunning overlooking the gardens and sea glorious to take in, night and day.The food was exceptional as you would expect from a orient express hotel.So just go sit on the terrance with a glass of your favorite, listen to the piano player(who is first class)and enjoy.Thanks to all the staff at the Grand timeo.(its nice to see a hotel named grand forfill its title)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colUpminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guests,

I wish to thank you very much for your kind words that have been really appreciated by all our staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Taormina and to the Grand Hotel Timeo.

Remaining at your complete disposal we send our best regards.

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My dad celebrated his 60th in Sicily and 40 of our closest friends and family joined us for four days at Hotel Timeo. The pictures you see online do not do it justice. The place is just beautiful and I'm honestly not doing it justice with this description. I will do my best to explain below just how incredible this hotel was and how no detail was overlooked as they put together an incredible weekend for my dad.

I am fortunate to have stayed at some of the most amazing hotels in the world, from du Cap in the south of France to the Singita safari lodges in South Africa, from the Hassler in Italy to the Hay Adams in D.C. This is my new favorite and I will be back. Why?

For starters: The staff. They were every bit as amazing and attentive to our needs in this rather large hotel as the team at the small, 10 person hotels of the Singita lodges. I was amazed at the details the Timeo team covered while planning event after event for my dad. We had a pizza, cigar, wine and chocolate lunch by the pool, a trip out to the Planeta vineyard, a cocktail party that had to quickly e relocated indoors due to rain (flawlessly executed), and the most exquisite dinner for 40 on the terrace of the presidential suite with delicious plate after delicious plate of Sicilian specialties filling our guests (chased by glass after glass of Sicilian wine). They even arranged for a screen and projector to show a video I made for my dad at the dinner.

The rooms were equally amazing. I highly recommend any room with views of the water if they are at your price point, but many of our guests who chose less expensive rooms were happy with their accommodations.

The hotel has a lovely pool with an attentive staff at the cabana bar. If you wish to go to the beach, a shuttle takes you down the road to their sister hotel on the water. Everything is immaculate.

Finally, the food was phenomenal. For my dad’s birthday dinner we had an amazing meal start to finish which included one of the best prepared fillet of swordfish I have ever had, homemade gnocchi, the most amazing stuffed zucchini flowers, more prosciutto then I ever could have dreamed of, and a cannoli to die for.

If you are considering going to Hotel Timeo, stop considering and go!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing