We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in Taormina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Taormina (Me)
1 review
“Perfect stay in Taormina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We only stayed one night at the Timeo, but the hotel is absolutely fantastic - beautiful parc and wonderful historic house. The service during breakfast was excellent - very friendly and everyone paid a lot of attention to the details. A big compliment to the maitre for such a good service team!
We will come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katharina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you! We are really pleased to receive such positive feedback and we are delighted to hear that everything met your highest expectations.

Your words are really encouraging and appreciated and it will be my pleasure to pass them on to the whole hotel team!

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Taormina and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance you may require.

Kind regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    55
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
147
442
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Imagine being perched upon a hillside overlooking the sea and nestled beneath a snow capped mountain. Beneath you lay beautiful gardens with a mix of trees and sweet chirping birds. This hotel is a quiet getaway, away from students and tourists coming off the Greco-Roman theatre. Although the service doorman is a bit constipated with his attitude, it seems just fine, given the beauty of this hotel. I'd highly recommend stopping here...it's a once in a lifetime moment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo for your vacation and we where honored to have you as our guest.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you appreciate our hospitality and service.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Sicily and in the meantime, we remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Best regards

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina (Me)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was the most efficiently run and welcoming hotel that we have had the pleasure to stay in. The quality controller, was most impressive, always noticing little things. The breakfast in the room that my husband ordered came very quickly and was beautifully presented.
The swimming pool attendant was helpful and attentive.
The bed and pillows were sumptuous and we appreciated the beautiful linen sheets and the Penhalligon bath products. Would definitely recommend it to our friends and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay with us! We are delighted to learn that you spent pleasant days at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo and that you appreciated the Sicilian experience.

We wish to thank for your kind words and we are happy to pass on your comments to the whole hotel team who will continue to do their best.

We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to Taormina and remaining at your complete disposal we send our best regards.

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina (Me)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We really enjoyed the Grand Hotel Timeo in the first week of april.

Everything was running perfect (Frontdesk, Concierge, Restaurants, Spa, Pool...) allready in the first week of the season... amazing and above expectations!

Thanks a lot to feel so welcome with my family and my "very active" 14 month old "Figlio" in Siciia!
The service was perfect, but never to formal or stiff!

We will come back for sure!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ralf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

Your words are really encouraging and appreciated and it will be my pleasure to pass them on to the whole hotel team.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to find the perfect accommodation for you.

In the meantime we are delighted to remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Best regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The room I had was extraordinary! View of the beach, mount etna and the hotel grounds. Service was amazing. Probably the best experience I had in a hotel. Would definitely stay here again. The only negative was the price of the drinks at the hotel bar but then again you are at the grand timeo and the prices are at par with similar establishments. My stay here made our trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickL785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very thankful for this lovely feedback on TripAdvisor and happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo and moreover that you might return in the close future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back I send you

Best regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I have been to this hotel on several occasions and each visit is a step back in time; This is a beautiful place which warms the heart and soul. Its location, perched on the side of a mountain with the Greco Roman ruins directly above and lit up at night and the snow capped Mt Etna with a backdrop of a black star studded Italian sky with golden moon beams creating dancing lights in the ripples of the Ionian sea is incomparable.

As for the hotel the rooms and suites, they are superb and leave you wanting for nothing. The warmth and charm of the staff under Stephen Ceschia is beyond your greatest wish. The view and solitude that one has on the terrace of this special place is priceless.

The food is of the highest quality and the preparation and plating rivals any French restaurant in the world and they are great. The fish dishes are fresh for obvious reasons and the side dishes are mostly from the country side of Sicily. In all the restaurant has a wall of glass and the bar and wine cellar lack nothing. The only complaint I have is the restaurant lacks personality. It's just there. So, having dessert on the terrace under a beautiful Italian sky is the key to ending a perfect evening. No, I am not being paid for this. This hotel and amenities are just very special. Don't miss this. It is pricey but not outrageous. For those of us who are not rich just save a bit extra to enjoy this dream come true place. The memory will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your kind feedback and are happy that you so much enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be happy to share your words with the whole team and especially with the colleagues from our Front Desk and Concierge team.

We are just about to open up our gates again for a new and exciting season 2014 and would be happy to welcoming you again in the close future.

In the meantime I send you my best regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was really happy to learn that Hotel Timeo was voted #1 Hotel in Italy by Travel + Leisure. Well-deserved!!

We got married in Hotel Timeo and it was hands down the best experience in my life.

I stayed at Timeo for a week in September 2012.
So let me walk you through all that it has to offer:

Location: Timeo is situated in the absolute best location in Taormina. Sited at the very top of the city directly underneath the ruins of the Greek Theater, it has the most incredible views of the sea, Mount Etna and the entire city. The view doesn't get any better than this. Especially at dusk over drinks on the terrace, that view is magical!!

The property: Timeo is a multi-level property with the entrance near the Greek Theater. Set in exquisitely restored Italian Villa, the hotel exudes sophistication yet restraint in its decor. Everything seems to be in the right place. It's distinctly chic yet understated which makes it even more luxurious. Once you step onto the terrace on a hot summer day, you immediately fall in love with the view and the place. My fiancee and I felt an immediate connection and made a decision to celebrate our special day at Timeo. Everything was just perfect.

The staff: Luca Finardi runs Timeo (and Villa Sant Andrea) seamlessly. It almost feels like a family. It is very obvious that people love to work there and they love what they do. The stay at Timeo feels effortless. You don't have to sign a single bill when you are there. It's like being a guest at a someone's incredible home where all your needs are tended to. Luca's team, especially Mariangela Spinella, the banquet manager, are truly best-in-class. The level of service is unlike anything I have experienced before. The extraordinary precision of Mariangela's event management process is astounding with single glass was ever out of place or empty. Everything is perfectly orchestrated and handled with utmost professionalism and calm with the sole goal of creating an unforgettable experience.

The rooms: We stayed at the Garden Room close to the pool, right underneath the main terrace. During my stay we visited several rooms including the terraced studio in the tower, which is frequented by the likes of Stefano Gabbana and the numerous movie stars who stay at Timeo during the Taormina FIlm Festival. The presidential suite is out of this world. The views are even better than those from the main terrace, so if you do splurge, it is definitely an exceptional experience. The decor of the rooms is understated yet luxurious. The service is quiet and efficient. We had a little garden area with spectacular view of Mount Etna. The Garden room had a walk-in-closet which was perfect with all the things we had to bring for the wedding.

The food: As someone who stayed at Timeo for a week and vetted a menu for the wedding, I got to try almost everything. My personal favorite is a simple pasta pomodoro made with fresh Sicilian tomatoes. The wedding menu was authentic Sicilian. From starters to Pasta alla Norma to Branzino baked in salt to sublime desserts, the food was pretty much perfect. I have experienced food in other Orient Express Hotels in Italy and South Africa but non of it came close. There is something about Timeo's chef, Sicilian cuisine and ingredients that makes it so much more special (wedding aside).

The concierge: Stephen knows everything and everybody in the area. He will pick the most interesting and rare experiences. Taormina can be very touristy, so you really need someone who can curate an authentic experience both in town and in smaller towns in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CamillaPapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for your lovely words.

All of us are very proud and delighted to learn that you had such a memorable stay and especially happy that you decided to come back to the Timeo for your wedding! We all have this special day in great memory and felt honored that you chose us for this important event in your life!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to your Sicilian home many times.

Warm regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing