We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true classic in every sense….”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A true classic in every sense….”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Many hotels in Europe claim unique and stunning locations. They claim tradition and history and quite often a strong dose of faded fame. And service that is underwhelming at best!
Not so, the Grand Hotel Timeo. An utterly stunning hillside location with the ancient Greek theatre behind, and overlooking the sapphire blue Bay of Naxos, the views are timeless and magical. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, the hotel delivers highly personalized service, exceptional cuisine with a style and flair that is rarely encountered today.
But can everything be so perfect in one hotel….. well yes! If there is one small negative, it would be some of the smaller rooms. They are well appointed, as you would expect from a luxury hotel, but may will not blow the socks off everyone. Spent a little extra and go for the junior suite category- well worth the extra cost.
And yes, such style and luxury comes at a cost but if you are going to spend your hard earned cash anywhere in Italy for a luxury hotel experience, this is the place to do it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Grant H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you could not have been more pleased with your stay. I am truly glad you enjoyed our hospitality and service and your words were much appreciated. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    59
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
156
459
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Timeo is a wonderfully elegant hotel with a great history. The staff are all absolutely fantastic and we were warmly greeted by everyone. The location is perfect, just below the Teatro Greco, and very near all the shops and restaurants. The views from the main hotel are spectacular and overlook the bay and Mt Etna. We had lovely rooms, furnished with antiques, and the housekeeping was second to none. They have two restaurants - the main one serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food is excellent. The other restaurant is by the pool and is mainly open for lunch although they did have a special Sicilian evening with local dishes and entertainment one evening. They have a wonderful concierge, Steven, who can book or arrange anything and organised a great trip to Etna for myself and my grandson. We couldn't fault any of the staff they are extremely attentive and friendly. We are going back again for my daughter's wedding in September and are having the reception at the Timeo, which is being brilliantly organised by their lovely wedding-coordinator Marie Angela.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel building have lovely view of the bay and Mount Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieMcK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JackieMcK,

I truly appreciate the time you took to share your feedback about your recent experience at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, definitely comments such as yours uplift our spirit. There is nothing more rewarding for us to see than a satisfied guest.

I gladly share your kind words with the whole hotel team and in the meantime we all look forward to welcoming you back in September to Taormina.

Best wishes,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Only two nights there. I wish i could afford more. This hotel, apart from a fantastic location both in the centre of the tourist resort and the picturesque beach, has this special ambience which gives you the opportunity to relax completely while being pampered to the highest possible extent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tomek K,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the time with us and that the location, the atmosphere at the hotel and our team have created wonderful experience you will never forget.

On behalf of the entire team, I hope that we may welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire Uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A uniquely wonderful property , stunning views , personalised service , gracious hospitality, attentive staff, opulent breakfasts . We were a group of 27 all ages they could not have done anymore to ensure we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank malabar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you could not have been more pleased with your stay. I am truly glad you enjoyed our hospitality and service and your words were much appreciated.

My team and I certainly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After spending 2 nights on a horrible cruise ship (Windstar Star Pride- read my review on that before you book!!) we disembarked at our first stop and went directly to Hotel Timeo. We arrived at 10am and were immediately greeted by Roberta and the hotel concierge. They explained they would do their best to get us checked into our room as soon as possible, even though check in was officially 2:00. While waiting for our room we had breakfast on the terrace. The breakfast buffet was spectacular- delicious fresh juice, many organic and gluten free options, fresh local cheese and a menu to order hot items. Don’t miss the granita! Our servers made us feel as though we were in their home and they were incredibly attentive. After finishing our breakfast we were taken to our gorgeous suite which overlooked the swimming pool and the bay. The hotel grounds are gorgeous. The location was perfection - gorgeous view of the coast, waking up to the chirping of birds in the morning and you could walk everywhere from the hotel. The service was just right - not intrusive, friendly, timely and helpful in every way. Stephano at the bar created personalized cocktails for us both with fresh ingredients. We spent a few afternoons relaxing and reading by the pool where we also had great service. This was my absolute favorite hotel in Italy and I don’t see how anyone would ever want to miss a visit to this spectacular spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1995sb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taormina! Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and with TripAdvisor’s readers.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Timeo and that the location, the atmosphere at the hotel and our team have created wonderful experiences you will never forget.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to Sicily and in the meantime we send you our best regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here many years ago and were very pleased to return and stay for a couple of nights. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast on the patio overlooking the sea can't be beat. The service is outstanding , the rooms very nice with great views. There is a shuttle to the partner on the beach but we didn't take advantage of it though. The town itself is very touristy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mercant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you for your words of praise regarding Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have loved to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights in this wonderful hotel, in a most beautiful place. From the moment you arrive, the staff are there to look after your every need. The rooms were superb, the housekeeping spotless. Breakfasts were wonderful, sitting on the terrace with that wonderful view. And the choice amazing.

The Restaurant Manager was magnificent. Remembering your name whenever he saw you! The food was delicious at every meal, and the knowledge of the staff regarding local wines was so helpful.

We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I am so proud to read all your amazing words you found for the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo and its unique staff and I am so delighted to learn that there was nothing we could have done better.
I hope you will give us soon the opportunity to welcoming you back to Sicily!

Warmest regards

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Belmond, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing