We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I have just visited Trip Advisor to see how the Timeo is faring recently. My wife and I stayed there with our two teenage children three years ago, and we were both looking to revisit Sicily on our own later in the year now our teens are both off to Uni and we've finally got time on our own. Nice to see that the reviews are still in the most totally positive. My family thought it was the best hotel we had ever stayed in, with absolutely wonderful views over the bay and Etna for breakfast buffet. What to say about this hotel; Expensive yes, but you get what you pay for. The Family had the pool to ourselves on most days early June. Chilling by a lovely little pool and even receiving free sorbets as the temperatures got high. Rooms so clean & comfortable and my wife declared the best sleep she had on holiday for years, it was so quiet. Service totally professional and impeccable, nothing too much trouble. My daughter left her designer sunglasses on the beach of the sister hotel one afternoon, and had them returned by Timeo reception the next morning. The staff in general definitely couldn't do enough for guests. Having a drink in the early evening on the terrace is a world beater. The views are so awesome. If you wan't cheap, go somewhere else. If you want to stay in a hotel where fellow guests have more decorum than to put towels on sunbeds at 07:00 am and are polite and mutually enjoy first class standards, then stay at the Timeo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTrollKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at Timeo two nights this past weekend for our Baby Moon and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was exceptional, the views are out of this world and the food is delicious. The breakfast that is included in the rate is one of the best breakfasts we have had at a hotel. Due to the fabulous 70 degree weather, we dined on the porch both mornings with the sea and Mt. Etna in the background. The service was exceptional, they did everything possible to make us feel welcome. The hotel is located directly next to the Teatro and about a 3-5 minute walk to the centre of town. The town is located about 15 min from the train station in Giardini Naxos (accessible by cab) and the bus station is in town about a 5 minutes from the hotel.
The spa was wonderful and gardens are beautiful to walk around in and enjoy the scenery. I just cannot believe any of the negative reviews that have been posted on Trip Advisor about this hotel. I would recommend this experience to anyone and we plan to return next year at this time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevinandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The hotel is truly a five star. Everything about the hotel is great. The location, the staff, the accomodations, the food service were all terrific.

I can say enough about the entire experience

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsl62146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Staying at The Grand Hotel Timeo is a truly memorable experlence, the perfect combination of great location, setting, view and service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The Grand Hotel Timeo has everything. The grounds, the views, the hotel itself and its amenities are extolled (or should be extolled) by anyone who has had the good fortune to stay there. However, whatever accolades are heaped upon this treasure, none can do justice to the staff. One would expect exceptional service from a hotel of this caliber, but the staff at Grand Hotel Timeo goes beyond exceptional, with a genuine warmth that makes a stranger in a new place feel at home. My wife and I had some stressful issues that pertained to our automobile rental and our plane reservations, and the staff helped us resolve them with an attitude that made us feel that we were being helped by best friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceman017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Myself and my wife celebrated our 60th birthday in July and booked the Hotel Timeo for the last two weeks in July. The experience was fantastic. The hotel and the rooms were excelent, the view from the terrace, where we ate breakfast and dinner was breathtaking, overlooking the bay of Mezzaro, We ate in the restaurant nearly every night and the food was superb, my wife is a vegatarian and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is located in the centre of Taormina so you have easy access to banks, shopping etc, however when you enter the hotel it is an oassis of peace and quite. The staff were first class and they did every thing possible to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Some might say it is a bit expensive but I say it is good value.

Paul & Ruth
Dublin Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotspur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This hotel rivals the very best in the world: top cuisine served in a relaxed Sicilian way and in a setting which first attracted the Greeks for very understandable reasons. Rooms and suites are the best we have experienced. Orient Express has a sure touch but it has also benefited from very dedicated staff who are enthusiastic to achieve yet greater heights under the new owners. Don't expect it to be cheap but the Timeo is worth every cent.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank Nigel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £292 - £1,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing