We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunningly beautiful hotel in a superb location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful hotel in a superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

A stunningly beautiful, historic hotel. We walked to our rooms past a large central garden courtyard, and up a beautiful wide staircase. Our room, one of the former monks' cells in the old monastery wing, was off a wide corridor, which still retains the sense of privacy and peace that must have existed when San Domenico was a monastery.
There are tranquil cloisters, and wonderful gardens with stunning views of Taormina and Etna, planted with citrus and palm trees, bougainvillea, lovely flowering shrubs and flowers which looked good even in September after the heat of a Sicilian summer. To get to the dining area - a massive former refectory - with a beautiful terrace, shaded by sun umbrellas, where we ate breakfast, you pass through the sort of incredibly spacious and beautifully furnished rooms you find in stately homes. I felt really privileged to be staying there.

Practical stuff!
Rooms: We (mother and adult daughter) stayed 10 nights and had a superior double, (room 220), the best we could afford, with sea and garden-view and views of Etna. Quite small, with a small balcony - big enough for two to stand, one to sit. A bit short of surfaces to range our bits and pieces, as a large flat-screen tv, tray with glasses and hotel info folders took up quite a bit of space on the one table.
Talked to guests in the modern wing and they had bigger rooms and balconies, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Beds: an absolute dream - the most comfortable I've ever slept in (most hotel beds in Italy are hard!)

Bathroom, a tad small, but very nice, Good shower, (not a fixed head, thank heavens) masses of lovely bath gels and body cream etc. (in big tubes, not the usual little travel size) Soft towels, bath robes and slippers.

Plenty of hanging and drawer space in a large wardrobe in the entrance.

Room service and cleaning immaculate. Sensibly, they provide cards so you can request for bedding to be changed or not, when you wish, depending on how environmentally conscientious you are.

The only thing I would complain about was the air conditioning, which was rather noisy - other guests in this wing said the same, though the modern wing was ok apparently. As the temperature was in the 30's we needed the high setting. However at least it was a consistent sound and we got used to it, so after the first night our sleep wasn't disturbed. There was no other noise from inside or outside - it's the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Breakfasts - what can I say?! Only superlatives... Serve yourself with everything you could ever want cooked English-style, Sicilian-style, French-style etc. Mushrooms, bacon, three types of sausage, grilled cherry tomatoes. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - mmm! Cold meats. Delicious rösti potatoes. Salads. Fruit. If you like honey, there's lemon, cardoon or mixed flower honey - all exquisite. Breads and croissants of every variety. Fresh orange-juice, teas of every type. I drool thinking of it all.
And tea or coffee served on a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea, by perfectly-trained waiters. Bliss!

The pool is actually bigger than it appears, and very pleasant for a gentle swim. There is a shaded section as well as sun umbrellas, which we were quite grateful for in the heat.

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings, as I'd been told it was expensive. I rather regret now that we didn't have one meal there, as I think it was for us a once-in-a-lifetime treat to stay in a hotel of this category.

It is a place I shall remember all my life, for its setting and class, the sheer beauty of the building and gardens, for the exquisite service and charm of the staff, and for those breakfasts...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    254
    105
    23
    18
See reviews for
212
650
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel is set in the loveliest gardens and there is a beautiful courtyard with pianist in the evening, the restaurant on the terrace was very good and all the staff were very professional and helpful. The rooms were classically finished and only a little tired with the bathroom needed a little updating but was still lovely.

Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry northern ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from 7 days at this beautiful hotel and the view we had from our balcony the most beautiful view we have ever had. This old monastery convert over 100 years ago to a hotel deserves it 5 star rating. Breakfast was good, we liked the buffet style. Lunch we were told also good. Dinner was expensive but so is everything , do not go if you cannot afford €17 for a G and T.
The shower was the only thing not 5 star, we did not complain , however everything was so good , we decided not to.

Room Tip: We could only afford the superior double , but view was so good this small room was acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirtmaker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Sure this place is expensive but there are few opportunities to combine a 15th century monastery with first class infrastructure and friendly service. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the ocean is to die for. The place is truly unique and worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJohnson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We loved our stay , service was excellent , location is good and rooms are lovely with great sea view.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelinejec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The San Domenico has a number of things going for - principally its location and its physical surroundings. My wife and I stayed here for a week in July. We loved the gardens and the peaceful atmosphere within the hotel. However it wasn't perfect. It is very expensive and at times I felt the service was not all that it could have been. Having said that, the staff were never in any way rude - it just seemed that the systems were a little old fashioned. Our room was on the small side but extremely quiet. That coupled with a very comfortable bed and bed-linen meant that we have rarely slept as well in a hotel. I would recommend for a special treat but perhaps for a weekend rater than a week in view of the high prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is an expensive hotel and a very classy one. The staff are friendly and not at all snooty. Reception was exactly how you would expect-fantastic. I cannot fault the gardens, food, rooms, swimming pool is a slight disappointment as you might expect something more for such a wonderful hotel, but it is still very good. A little tricky to get in and out of.
Probably not the sort of place to take children. You would be worried about what they might break (in terms of the precious surroundings).

Had a great time and it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: book a room with a proper balcony or terrace- not a silly little one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debthereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Property: San Domenico Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing