We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Domenico Palace in Taormina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the San Domenico Palace Hotel in September 2012. We arranged a transfer from the airport through the hotel and the arrangements went very well. The Hotel gave a very good first impression, we ate in the restaurant and the fish was excellent. Our first night was spoiled by being woken regularly all through the night with the sound of an electrical motor starting and stopping and with the sound of glass bottles being emptied into bins from time to time. The next morning the reception staff were very responsive in resolving the problem and we were upgraded to a superior room that was free from noise. The breakfast service and selection of foods were the highlights for us, they were superb. The pool was also a favourite. The location was ideal for the main shopping areas, the Greek Temple, and local gardens. We walked up to Castelmola one morning (when it was cloudy and cooler) and it was well worth the effort. We also took advantage of some local tours however going to the top of Mount Etna was the highlight. We were lucky that there was no cloud on the volcano that day, the view was fantastic. We can recommend Taormina as a relaxing resort and the hotel as a very good home for a week. It would have been 5 star but for the noisy room on the first night.

Room Tip: We suggest you ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel amenities detract significantly from the spectacular view and incredible gardens. You can see all the way to the Italian mainland and the Sicilian landscape is classic. Nevertheless, the air conditioning barely worked at all, which is a problem even in October in this Mediterranean setting. Also the hotel staff seemed ill prepared the entire week we stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleveland50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My family and I toured Italy for 2 weeks and stayed at 6 different hotels; this was hands down my favorite. Upon our arrival (we stayed 3 nights, with 3 rooms), we were told they had upgraded all of our rooms to a sea view. Not only was the view great but our three rooms were at the end of a hall, kind of tucked back in an alcove (doesn't sound that great, I know), which made it really easy to go between the rooms (if you needed something real quick from another room, you felt perfectly fine momentarily leaving your door open). The rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and clean. The staff was very kind. And the food in their Michelin starred restaurant was fantastic (my favorite meal of the trip). I would definitely return to the San Domenico.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the San Domenico Palace Hotel in September 2012. We were in the convent wing in a superior room. It felt of old time typical Italian palatial luxury. Not the usual room factory with a sterile feel. This place has character and grandeur. Stunning views. Amazing breakfasts - so much choice and even a glass of bubbly. Nearly as good as the Danielle in Venice for breakfast. Good location and easy walking distance to everywhere in Taormina. My only negative would be the bathroom - needs updating - modern shower / bath please; I didn't feel I could take a soak in the bath with rust around plug hole!! (Take a leaf out of Sant Andrea's bathroom's - we checked out several hotels during our stay).

I would definately recommend if you would prefer old style luxury with character instead of modern 5*

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

If you can only stay in one luxury hotel in Italy it should be this one! Simply put, the San Domenico is heavenly - a glorious setting on the clifftop; beautiful building with historic atmosphere and quality furnishings; pretty cloister court for drinks in the evening; the best breakfast I have ever seen on offer. You definitely need to book a seaview room - stunning vista from our balcony!

Room Tip: Seaview room a must - only criticism would be that some of my husband's pills went missing from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This history of this hotel has no equals. One of our destinations was Sicily. Being lovers of excellent cuisine led us to choosing this stunning hotel for our “work vacation” which was strongly recommended but some of our friends. We have been immediately welcomed with courtesy and warmth by the front desk employees who have followed us and called us by name and last name during all our stay here. The room that was assigned to us had a amazing or should I say breathtaking view of the beach and a huge balcony. After all, this is the kind of beauty you expect to admire in the South of Italy. We enjoyed every single moment of quietness and relax that this place can offer. The pool was enchanting and all the gardens were clearly well taken care of. Our biggest surprise was the breakfast: it was presented with a variety of products selected from a local pastry shop along with a lot of seasonal fruit. Likewise for the cheeses and the homemade breads: all delicious. As for dinner, we wanted to try out the cuisine of the 2 Michelin starred restaurant Principe Cerami that many people recommend. We were also very eager about it since we read a lot about its young Chef Mantarro. The ambience is pretty unique, refined but not excessively designed with many warm colors. A very vast a’ la carte menu was offered with particular attention to the local products, vegetables and fresh fish that the chef was able to customize and cook in its own way. Above all, the main courses were astonishing in taste and well presented. The wine list was very ample with great wines from all over the world with a specific focus on Sicilian wines. A+ to the service, they were all young professional guys that knew exactly how to present and value every single plate they were serving us. PS. We dined on an outdoor terrace with an amazing sunset. All this was worth the cost of the entire vacation and was the icing on the cake especially because the occasion, our wedding anniversary, was very special. If there is one thing I would state as being not excellent is the ordinary maintenance of the Palace. In my opinion it would look much better with some additional restoration. Aside from that, though, it was an hotel “da mille e una notte”

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

From the second we arrived we were looked after unbelievably well. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Our room was fantastic and even though it was expensive, it was value for money in that we enjoyed it so much. It is hard to leave the hotel as it is so beautiful - full of fabulous antiques and furniture. Oh and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The junior suite that we were in had a private terrace that overlooked the sea. Just heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £28 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed for renovation. Opening date to be announced soon. A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing