We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel itself is great, large courtyards, long hall ways, incredible view from the terrace, pleasant swimming pool area and is located conveniently off the main road. The rooms are clean, nice and have a slightly older feel about them (which suits the look of the place). The only downside was the noise around our room. We were next door to one of the cleaners rooms and there seemed to be racket every so often throughout the night which made it difficult to get a decent nights sleep. There also seemed to be people collecting bottles most morning in the street outside our window. Would recommend that you ensure you get a room away from the cleaners rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
There are newer reviews for San Domenico Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the San Domenico Palace this year - first time back to Taormina since 1988. The room was wonderful iwth a view across the bay that must be one of the best in the world, and although I sympathise with the visitors who found the peeling paint and dusty corridors at odds with a five star hotel, we found it charming and far better than the Disneyfied refurbishments of other grand hotels we've stayed at.
Breakfast was fabulous with the great views and perfect staff, and our meal in the posh restaurant was, in the late Michael Winner's terms, historic - va brilliant vegetarian menu put together specially for us and the best sommelier I've ever met

However, management is rather sloppy - i didn't appreciate seeing the full guest list with room numbers and amounts paid left idly by the pool, and for EUR300 a night I woulf like to be known as a person rather than a room number. And the services have the bitter taste of the 90s about htem, when hotels could make a good turn on the extras - 35EUR a day for internet usage is riduculous when a 2 EUR coffee round the corner gets you free wireless, and the minibar prices just encourage you to die of thirst - or buy beer and water from ove the road and stuff it in the fridge. The guests are not all on corporate expenses or Liz Taylor, and the management should recognise this.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a sea view with a balcony. Waking up to the sunrise will be magical
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kit_1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked a 'superior' room with sea view in the 'newer' section. Wonderful view of taurmina town from the balcony. Lovely gardens and although the pool is small, it's agood shape and deepl enough to swim lengths. surprisingly quiet since a road runs round the edge of the hotel. Very good service. Very easy access to town and restaurants. 15-20 mins walk to get to bus station and cable car for trips and beach access. Public beach small so if staying by beach, not a lot of public access or walking areas since main road is VERY busy.

Room Tip: sea view with balcony ,second floor - balconies not overlooked. Higher floors have open terrace and...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This was our second stay. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. You could spend hours exploring the hotel and the grounds with both steeped in history. If you are looking for a standard, boring hotel this is not for you. It is perfectly located at the quiet end of Taormina. The rooms, the staff, the food are all fabulous. Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but choose the most you can afford, it will be worth it
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Relaxing atmosphere with breath taking views. Lovely rooms and a tranquil air. Wonderful location to walk into Taormina for great restaurants. Staff are charming and our every request was met promptly. The garden and cloisters are a delight full of lemon and orange trees, bougainvillaea and scented jasmine. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowergirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Some people say, that General Patton wanted at fiirst to reconquer Sicaly and Taormina for sure, because he wanted to occupie the "San Domenico" for his european headquarter in the second world war.
I will believe in this story, because the San Domenico is the best place in Europe to stay.
The Hotel is a 500 year old monastery and it iis laying at the "Balcony of Sicaly". If you are standing at your window of your room, you will have a bright view over the ocean. It is beautifull.
when you take a walk through the garden and through the colonades of the monaster, you can feel and drink in the athmosphere of the times, when the monks walked in.
If you don't have a sence for this expressions, you better should take a Hilton or HolydayInn or whatever.
the furniture and the paintings are as same as old as the monastery. They are also beautifull.

At least, what can I say to you?

I paid 350 $ for a doubleroom and if they would have given me an airmattress in a stowage, I would have been lucky, to stay in this great place.
but they gave me a wonderfull room, an extraordinary breakfast at the terrace and a full satisfying service.

Come and see the "Pearl of Mediterrane"

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is one of the most elegant hotels I have stayed in with high ceilings, beautiful corridors filled with amazing art, wonderful courtyard, great service.

We stayed with our family in deluxe sea-facing rooms. We had large, beautiful rooms with amazing views and nice balconies

Location is just down the steps from the main street of Taormina so reasonably quiet. There is a train line at the bottom of the cliff but the trains are quite infrequent

The restaurant was a bit too formal for me and the food quite average, so you are better off in any of the dozens of nice restaurants off the main street. We had a good meal at a restaurant called Granduca

The breakfast was what you would expect from what is regularly described as one of the best hotels in Europe

Most people choose between this and Grand Hotel Timeo - Timeo seemed very nice as well and the location is just off of Teatro Greco, but that makes it a bit off the main street. San Domenico is also much better value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max_d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £275 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing