We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monastery life isn't bad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
294 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Monastery life isn't bad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. The garden, lobby and public areas of this former monastery are tranquil and well appointed. Our suite had a private balcony with a fabulous view of the sea. It is a short walk to the picturesque town of Taormina with interesting shops, great restaurants and historical points of interest.
Very reminiscent of the Amalfi coast

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
let us thank you for your feedback and nice comments you had write on Trip Advisor about our Hotel and Taormina. We are glad to ear that you spent some unforgettable moment with us.
Best Sicilian regards.
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    254
    105
    23
    18
See reviews for
212
650
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My girlfriend and I came to sicily for 2 weeks and hired a car to try and see as much of the island as possible. We got tickets to see Mark Knopfler in the Greek Theatre so we took a drive over to Taormina from Palermo and the whole experience was out of this world from start to finish. We found it difficult to decide where to stay in Taormina because there are so many beautiful hotels. You cannot go far wrong but The San Domenico Palace is not just a 5 star hotel, this is a life experience. It is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in our lifetime by a long stretch and have stayed in some great places over the years.

Rooms are fantastic, bathroom is very fashionable. I loved the tiles and fixtures. The bed was super comfy with nice material on the blankets. 99% of the rooms face the sea and the view is breathtaking, even the view of the hotel grounds is beautiful.

The only problem you may encounter is the price, but in my opinion it was worth every penny. the price reflects everything, because you do get the best. You get the best view, the best food, wine, service, facilities. There is no messing about, if you are chilling by the pool and want food or a drink...... bang its there and it will be the tastiest drink/food you've ever had.

The pool was great and the service impeccable, the highlight of my day was relaxing by the pool having a few delicious pina coladas (16 euros a pop), and having our evening meal in their michelin star restaurant which came to 400 euros for the two of us with wine. The food was great but it is all about the view, setting and service. Just one thing to note is they brought us 'samples' from the chef to try, which we did and they were delicious but they went on the bill so be careful not to get carried away. We had a cute table on the balcony overlooking the ships in the bay and the staff will literally do anything to help. They have a 6 month waiting list and we hadn't booked, as it was my girlfriends birthday they some how managed to fix us a table and was a perfect end to our evening. The wasps are really annoying but this is life and there isn't much they can do about them, just make sure you don't wear aftershave before the meal.

The breakfast was phenomenal and I can only compare it to the Waldorf Astoria sunday brunch in New York. They have a massive spread and you can get just about anything and all fresh.

The service desk was incredibly helpful, they always seem very busy but they do not keep you waiting for a long time they work very hard to make sure you get everything you need. We got a cab to the teatro greco as we were rushing for time but it actually would have been quicker to walk. Taormina is a special place. If you don't come this time put it on your bucket list. If somebody told me it was heaven I would have believed them

I could talk all day about this place but the long and short of it is if you are considering staying here and your overall experience is worth more than price book it and don't look back.

Room Tip: We booked a non sea view and got a sea view as apparently all rooms face the sea. Absolutely spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review. You had described the San Domenico Palace so well that I can feel your happiness, walking true the hotel and Taormina.
It is wonderful to read that all our staff provided you with excellent service throughout your stay (front desk and Principe Cerami’s restaurant). We will be sure to pass along the compliments to them and I will personally be thanking them.
I hope to welcome you back at the San Domenico Palace Hotel.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we chose San Domenico Palace for our short weekend break. We returned this Spring following our great experience last October. The property is just magical which words cannot describe - you will surely not be disappointed with the fantastic 15th century architecture and with the very high standard of renovation.
The staff of the hotel are all courteous and pleasant, making your break that much more special. Everybody greets you with a smile and goes that extra mile to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. Credit is especially due to the doorman (Alessandro, I think) who took super care of our Ferrari & Audi parked in the hotel yard.
The rooms are properly maintained and cleanliness is obviously a priority of the hotel.
Although the Breakfast spread is great, kitchen staff were still happy to cook our requests which were not available on the spread.
Thank you for yet another memorable stay in Taormina. We will surely be back soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments we really appreciate them. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is valuable for us to know that our staff provided everything you need and that you enjoyed the food of our Les Bougainvillèes’ restaurant.
I will thank Antonio, our doorman, for his superb service and we hope to welcome you for the third time at the San Dominico Palace.
Sincerely

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

this was a magical place to stay. the gardens overlooked the sea and cascaded down the side of the hotel. the view was breathtaking and the ambience of the hotel was delightful. Inside the furnishings were i keeping with the grand but gracious style of a Palace. Most importantly my friend became ill whilst there and the staff could not have been more helpful . we loved our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255100Frida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at San Domenico. It is wonderful to read that all our staff provided you, especially during your friend's illness, with excellent customer service throughout your stay. We will be sure to pass along the compliments to them, we greatly appreciated and I will personally be thanking them.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Most wonderful place in all regards! The view of the sea, and of the hotel's surrounding patios and gardens is most tranquil and colorful. Dining in the magnificent dining room is a very delightful experience. But most of all, just roaming the beautiful gardens, and interior spaces, is a feast for the eyes! Would love to return......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Frances80,

I would like to thank you for your review about your stay at the San Domenico Palace. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and we would like to thank you for the special mention and description of our garden. It's true that the colors and smell thta you can see and feel walking into it , gives the sensation to stay in heaven.
We hope to welcome you back in Taormina and in our Hotel.
Best Sicilian regards!
Luisa Cacopardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frtrip
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you do not have the budget for a room, take at least an afternoon tea to enjoy the place.
There is a very pleasant internal patio, where you can take good quality teas and small pastries for an affordable price.
Even if you do not lodge at the hotel, you will be warmly welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your comments we really appreciate it. It is valuable for us to know that our staff warmely welcome you and that you enjoyed our afternoon tea.
Thank you for the suggestion about the possibility to take a cup of the in the ancient settings of our cloister

Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent 5 nights and enjoyed an amazing New Year's eve gala dinner. The hotel's location and setting are ideal. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was superb. TV needs more English-speaking channels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praguevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing this extraordinary review of San Domenico Palace. Your remarks are wonderful and we really appreciate it.
Best regards
Luisa Cacopardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Property: San Domenico Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing