We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Outstandingly good hotel! The rooms are excellent; the staff are very helpful.

The hotel restaurants are very good, but you need to check in advance of your trip that you can get a table in the restaurants for dinner if you want one- they take wedding bookings which can fill the entire place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prof_Yaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for San Domenico Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2008

I stayed st San Domenico for business in June 2008 and was blown away by its beauty and elegance. Our room was located on the old monastery side, and had a spectacular view of the ocean. The staff were very helpful at all times, and the outstanding daily breakfast buffet was a decadent treat each morning. If you can scrape together the funds to stay here, even for one night, I highly recommend it. The gardens alone are worth the price of the room!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Our family stayed at the Palazzo San Domenico in June 2008, the property is amazing with sweeping views of the Ionian sea.
The garderns are covered with bougainvilla, lemons, and geraniums as you descend down to the quiet and relaxing pool.
We were with our parents and our teenage children, although it may not be the best property for children, it's close proximity to the center of town with many shops and markets made the location perfect. The staff was friendly and professional, and the buffet breakfast was wonderful. We would definitely return. The palazzo is a great property!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DEGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed here 3 days last summer as a base to explore this end of Sicily. What a beautiful place. Taormina is a perfect place to visit and spend a few days. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Taormina. The only 2 negatives - 1) the manager botched our tour guide one day causing us to spend a day with someone we could not understand, and 2) the hallways had a funky musty odor that was annoying, but not major.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al1eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Stayed at the San Domenico for a week during the (extremely hot) summer of 2006 and found it to be a charming luxury hotel with terrific customer service. Yes, the structure looks "worn" - it is a several hundred-year-old monastery after all - but that only adds to the charm and uniqueness of the property.

Rooms are big and comfortable, and the air conditioning was great during the hot summer. Public areas are beautiful, with a lovely garden and comfortable pool area. The morning buffet was wonderful, with a great selection of freshly-prepared foods. Sitting outdoors on the bougainvillea-draped terrace with your breakfast while gazing out over the sea is a great treat.

The limo service from the airport is well worth it, and the concierge is wonderful - they arranged to have my lost luggage picked up when it arrived at the Catania airport four days after I did. The concierge also selected a terrific driver for a day tour of the Sicilian countryside, and during our outing he took us to a friend's restaurant where we had the most amazing lunch with homemade wine, cheese, olive oil, etc.

Had a massage - not so great. The "spa" is really just a refurbished guest room. Would not recommend it, unless you are desperately in need of a rubdown.

Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rickh710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We stayed for several nights in early April this year. We found a beautiful hotel which was located in the town of Taormina and close to everything. No need to taxi to dinner! The property is extremely well maintained. There are three courtyards within the walls of this former Domenican Monastery.The gardens outside and inside are beautiful.....probaby the most beautiful of any hotel we have stayed in...and all in flower now. From the garden you can see snow covered Mt. Etna in the distance, which is breathtaking. The pool is adjacent to the gardens down a few steps. Our room was in the "new" section so the rooms are little bit bigger. We had a view of the Sea from our room and balcony. The maid servce was seamless and the room spotless and well equiped. The hotel's food was excellent although expensive. The staff were friendly and we were particularily impressed with Caterina's help at the Concierge desk We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrldtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Had a family wedding reception here a few years ago. The hotel is great-ish! The food was great, staff were great, and there's a real feeling of quality and 5-star-ness about the place. It's an ancient monastery, and my caused my Dad to try his hand at chanting Latin hymns while walking down the corridors, much to our embarrassment.

I must say that some (but only some) aspects of the hotel are a little bit 4-star, but it's very historic, a beautiful place, a beautiful location, but somehow reminds me of what living in an English stately home might have been like. It's definitely NOT a second rate hotel. It's big, it's old, it's dramatic, and it's quality.

Oh yeah, it's expensive too, and full of Euro and American millionaires tanning themselves. But then Italy's best resorts are always very expensive, so I'd consider the price as normal for Italy. My room was 250 euro, which is the usual entry level price for a 5 star. Prices go up to 2000 depending. The pool is lovely, the view is beautiful, the gardens are great, our rooms are a little small, but definitely luxury.

The town of Taormina is fantastic, absolutely, and this hotel is in a fantastic location. I've been all over the world, but Taormina is one of my favourite places so far. Vibrant, old world, busy, beautiful, bring your Fendi glasses, and your Gucci bag. Restaurant prices are very, very reasonable in Taormina, and they have those attractive types of restaurants that are very hard to pass without going in, because of the beautiful scents, and the vibrancy of the crowd. You want to be part of it!

I would recommend this place for anyone, although, I am surprised at the few rare negative comments and photos. The food was great, but don't eat at the hotel, though, because you should get out and explore the town.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank emmetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £279 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing