We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and well situated. The gardens are particularly lovely. Our room was large with a nice seating area and 2 bathrooms (fab!). My only complaint about the room was the musty smell and as the hotel recommended not to open the windows due to Mosquitos then there was very little to be done about it. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality - especially the orange juice which was the nicest I've tasted. The staff at breakfast service could perhaps be a little more attentive and friendlier but overall I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dandyKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to know that your stay turned out to be a pleasant experience and you enjoyed rooms and hotel location and of course the ornage juice made with fresh Sicilian orange. I apologize for the smell but it’s good to know that this incident did not negatively influence your stay!
We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Taormina for your fisrt Anniversary.
Sincerely!
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Okay, so this is our third stay here so we obviously love it. The whole experience is wonderful from the beauty of the hotel and its grounds to the staff and the food. The hotel is in the perfect location in Taormina, near the Porto Catania and a short distance from the Corso. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea is fabulous. I agree with previous reviewers about the wifi - it should be free everywhere in the hotel but our experience with most hotels, particularly the big ones is that they charge for internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Helen W,
thank you so much for your nice comments, it’s always a pleasure for us to ear that you enjoy your stay with us.
I will forward your compliments at the entire staff.
Thank you again and best Sicilian regards!
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This converted monastery sitting cliff side over the sea in Taomina is very beautiful but ultimately disappointing. Our room was nicely appointed but a bit tired. It had a nice little balcony overlooking the spectacular bay, and a good sized marble bathroom with a strong shower. Internet was so weak as to be non-existent, even in the lobby. A door to the room adjacent to ours was paper thin and consequently we heard very word of an admittedly loud conversation next door. Our main complaint was an unpleasant odor, originating from the plumbing, which pervaded the room. The management blamed it on the old sewage system of the town, and no real resolution was offered. Similarly, we experienced poor service at the reception desk - with the sole exception of Tiziana, who was attentive, and effective. For example, we asked to buy stamps and were told the desk had none. When shortly thereafter we asked Tiziana for stamps, she was able to respond satisfactorily. Lastly, a complimentary dinner in the restaurant included in our stay. A reservation was made for us and we were on time. First, we were ignored in the bar area that serves as an anteroom to the restaurant, and when we were seated, the Maître D did not recognize the names of drinks we selected from the house cocktail list. We were the last table seated that evening, and the staff was so obviously eager to close for the night that they had to be reminded to bring our main course. Once it came, the entire staff stood at close range watching us, almost literally tapping their feet with impatience for us to be done. Abysmal. We did receive some consideration on our final bill after a talk with management but frankly, for a supposed 5 star hotel, it was way too little & too late.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

let us thank you for your feedback and nice comments you had written on Tiziana. Positive and negative comments are very important for us because they let us known something more of our hotel. We are very sorry that your experience with us did not matched your expectation and you disliked our services. I can assure you that this is not the standard at the San Domenico Palace Hotel, therefore the issues have been addressed and corrective actions have been taken.

Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great 7 day's holiday last week. Upgraded to a sea view when we arrived, which was a lovely surprise. Great views, beautiful gardens, all very tranquil. Breakfast is superb! We travel a lot..and the selection here was probably the best we have had.
Only criticism is that the Wi Fi is available in the lobby only and takes an age to get on and falls out all the time. For a 5 * hotel, this is woeful. 5 * travellers expect this to be free and available in all areas in 2014! The hotel even had a sign up stating it was out of action for a whole day.

Room Tip: Sea view and balcony are the best rooms. All rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to know that your stay turned out to be a pleasant experience and you enjoyed our upgrade in a sea view room. I apologize for the wi-fi but it’s good to know that this incident did not negatively influence your stay!
We will be looking forward to welcome you back ate the San Domenico on your next trip to Taormina
Sincerely!
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

San Domenico Palace is fabulous. It feels like you're stepping back in time. It's lovely gardens overlooking the spectacular views are wonderful. Having breakfast in the terrace with views of Etna was great! The breakfast was also very good .
Only disapointment that they don't offer free wifi!

Room Tip: We had a classic room with no views. It was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JS21274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments regarding your stay with us at the San Domenico Palace we really appreciate them. We are glad to ear that you spent same unforgettable moment with us especially that you had enjoyed our buffet breakfast and our gardens.
Thank you again and best regards.

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at this hotel with my wife for a romantic weekend. We had the luck to be upgraded to a suite with a view over the sea. What a fantastic view! The hotel is in great conditions and the staff is super friendly and accommodating. Furthermore breakfast on the terrace with a view of the Etna and the sea at the same time is unbeatable.
Thanks for s a great stay and for creating amazing memories.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at the San Domenico Palace . It’s good to know that you enjoyed hotel staff , our rooms and breakfast. Our goal is to provide out guest with the experience that exceed their expectations .
Thank you again and best regards
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Location is great , the hotel is fascinating but important features need to be modernised while respecting the character of the hotel. It is embarrassing the wifi connection: even if you pay for the fast speed connection (!!!!) it does not work. Gym is a joke (A very small room) as well as the Beauty Spa (same). There are magic spaces in all the hotel not really exploited! They may create more themed areas ( with bars and billiard or library and music). The swimming pool and area should be definitively improved (the pool is really too small and misses an imprinting). Bathrooms are too old fashion. Net we believe the hotel needs work but has lot of potential for becoming a target destination which combines art, culture, history and modernity.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anto20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
let us thank you for your feedback and nice comments you had write on Trip Advisor. Positive and negative comments are very important for us because they let us known which part of the hotel need more attention. As you have seen in our ancient convent – hotel we have to maintain all the area as they are.
I will thank you again and I hope to welcome you back with same renovations.
Sincerely,
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £41 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed for renovation. Opening date to be announced soon. A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing