We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with great location”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Hotel Ariston is just behind the bus station, a short walk from the town and very close to the cable car to the beach. Walking out of the back of the hotel brings you to Taormina's pretty gardens and quickly into town and the greek theatre. Hotel entrance is unusual. You can either climb lots of steps or climb a few steps then walk along a passageway with views into the side of the hotel's pool and then go up in the lift to the pool area and climb a few more steps to reception. Reception is spacious and clean and the staff are efficient but aren't very friendly. Maybe they are just trying to be laid back and unobtrusive. There is very little hotel or resort information in the hotel. Our room was very nice. It was spottlessly clean and looked newly decorated. We had a small balcony with a beautiful view. There is lots of storage space and a very nice large bathroom with lots of hot water and frequent towel changes. We received a welcome bottle of sparkling wine and some really nice fruit and every evening 2 chocolates were left on our pillows which was a nice touch. Robes, slippers and toiletries were provided too. Plumbing was a bit noisy and we could hear voices in next room but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was fine but as usual became a little samey by the end of the week. It is served from 7am to 11am. Hotel gave us a resort map and so did our Thomson rep who was very efficient and good fun. However the most useful map we found was in the SAIS tours office in the town. We didn't try the restaurant as there didn't look like a good choice of vegetarian meals on the menu but we did notice that it was always busy even though I don't think the hotel was full. The pool area is lovely and I swam several times in reasonably warm water. Towels can be collected from reception. There were very few hotel guests from the UK which didn't matter at all except there were no books to swop in the little library. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms look onto cliff but are cheaper
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helena-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Mrs Helena,
we thank you very much for your nice review and we are glad to realize that your overall stay was pleasant.
We are sorry to read that the reception didn't give you the impression of a warm welcome, we deeply apologize for that ,but we assure you that is not their usual behaviour .
We also thank you for your suggest to improve our vegetarian menu', we will take into consideration next year.

We wish to welcome you again in our hotel.

Regards
Valeria Bosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ariston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

I have stayed at the Ariston hotel many times and although the rooms are definitely in need of renovation (which was done during the past couple of months), I very much love this hotel. It's extremely charming, very Italian and not one of those typical modern hotels.

The location is the best: about a 7 min walk to the Corso Umberto (main street in Taormina) and it's also close to the cable cart (to go down to the beach, Isola Bella, etc). The views from everywhere in the hotel are so breathtakingly beautiful that you could just quietly sit outside for hours enjoying them (I recommend booking a room with a view as the rooms without view are facing the side of a mountain and are rather dark - which is ok if you don't plan to ever be in the room and the advantage is that those rooms are always cool so no airco needed :-). You can also try the annex building which has really spacious rooms with a large balcony and a nice seaview. Those are a small uphill walk to the main hotel so maybe not suited for everyone.

The hotel has 2 entrances, the main entrance and the one at the back of the hotel (both take you to the centre of town but the one at the back takes you along the Public Garden). A lot of people don't know about the one at the back but you should try it because the Public Garden is stunning.

The pool is a good size and there is also a jacuzzi. Near the pool you have a stand where you can buy drinks, ice cream, etc. A waiter brings it over. The pool is cleaned every day and the chairs are comfortable (you also get a free towel every day). Music is played all through the day but very softly so it's not at all disturbing. And since the hotel is at a higher level, you don't hear anything from the surrounding hotels or houses. Very relaxing.

Another great thing is that you have the busstop at your doorstep (this is also where you are picked up for excursions). From there you can take a bus to Castelmola, Catania, the airport,......

The food is varied and there is plenty of it. I am a big lover of pasta so I very much enjoyed the different offerings of pasta for dinner. You can also order lunch outside in the bar area, the food is great.

The personnel is friendly (at least that is my experience) though sometimes during high season, when it gets really busy, they get a little stressed :-) My tip : try a little bit of Italian, even if it's only "buon giorno".. it goes a long way !

Every evening there is a pianobar and the guy is very good. It's quite relaxing after a stroll in the centre. Nice cocktails, good wine, nice bar staff.

Can't wait to go back because with the renovations that have taken place, I am sure it will be even better than ever ! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

And.. Taormina is a very genuine and romantic city.. it has not yet lost its charm and some corners still give you a medieval feel which is fantastic ! Check out the small side streets and corners.. there are surprises everywhere.. and bring your camera as you will not know what to photograph first !

Room Tip: Room with seaview, it's worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Web PR Manager at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear client, we are very happy that you appreciated our hotel. We hope to see you soon in Taormina again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

If you have ANY issues walking, this is NOT the hotel for you! There is NO access except to hike up several very steep inclines and many stairs.
Our first room was disgusting: It was tiny, with a rock wall view; filthy carpet; the shower stall was so small, we could barely fit in it; the walls were SO thin, we could hear everything when our family members were in THEIR bathroom; the bed was very small and low to the floor, we had the elevator shaft right behind our bed (very noisy)!
HOWEVER, we only had to stay in this room one night. We were moved to a different room in their other building the next afternoon. We didn't complain, we just politely asked for a room with a view. Maurice was fantastic about the whole thing; not so much the woman who worked behind the desk. I don't know what her problem was; very unfriendly.
This room was MUCH nicer; much newer; better view; no carpet; normal tub and shower. They moved our luggage for us. However, it was in a separate building, down another steep incline, stairs, elevator, etc. But for us it was worth it.
The breakfast and dinner buffets were not very good at all. We were sad that we had all-inclusive. They put out the same breakfast every morning; at dinner, the meat would change, but the side dishes were all pretty much the same every night...and the choices were not good. And nothing was ever hot. I had brought my own cereal for breakfast, and was very happy that I had.
The common areas and grounds of the hotel are lovely; but the rooms in the main building are in desperate need of a make-over and the buffet leaves something to be desired.
The location is good as far as getting up into the town is concerned and it's a very short walk to the cable car, but walking up to the lobby, restaurant, etc. is quite challenging!
I can't comment about value; we paid one price for our whole trip; I don't know how any of it was broken down.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannie268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebPRManagerPHI, Web PR Manager at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Dear Jannie, thank you so much for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you found some inconvenience during your stay. We will take your remarks into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

At first I was disappointed with the hotel because it's a tad dated. I checked out 3 rooms before settling on one. Issues included water coming in window sill with wind whistling.
Another room smelled badly. The 3 room was very nice with 3 balconies and AWESOME views!! One balcony overlooked Giardinia-Naxos and it was a gorgeous view! I think the hotels needs to close for a month and paint the rooms. Also, updating the bedspreads and drapes would give it a great lift because the views are gorgeous!
Breakfast, Lunch and dinner are buffet but the varieties are endless! And delicious food. Lots of fresh local fruit and veggies. Lots of choices. The staff was great! Very personable and warm. I would return there but only if it gets perked up!

Contessa

Stayed: November 2010
Thank contessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebPRManagerPHI, Web PR Manager at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Dear client, we thank you very much for your kind words. We will take also your remarks about our hotel into consideration. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Dreadful spacious, exhausted, smelly, tired rooms. The towels were so frayed there were holes starting to appear in them. The bathroom was old and musty with dreadful sounds of drainage every few minutes. Everything in the room was tired, stained and frayed. Definitely does not deserve any stars!

Howerver, the views were spectacular, the gardens very pretty and a great pool if you could swim... as it had no shallow area. If you want good Italian food DO NOT eat here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Web PR Manager at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2010

Dear Feedee, we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. Yet, we are very thankful to you because you helped improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for 6 nights with friends. We had rooms with balconies and it was like heaven to sit outside in the evening with a glass of wine and wake up to a beautiful sunrise. I think the only downside to the rooms are the thin walls. We could hear many conversations from next door. Also, the bell in the church down below would go off at 7am (33 times). We had to be up anyway. The hotel has lovely grounds and is very well kept. We also loved Claudio!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leeny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This hotel is set in a fantastic location high up overlooking the bay of Sicily, so a sea view room is a must here! It's conveniently placed next to the bus station ( direct bus from Catania airport, 7 euros, just over an hour, excellent). A very quiet spot, with ample seating areas around the hotel, on different levels. Room was fine and clean but in need of updating, (which we were told was being done in January) with beautiful views from the balcony ! Breakfast, buffet style, was very good, with plenty of choice. Lunch was available on the terrace, again a good selection. We were only on B/B but did stay in a couple of evenings for dinner, which again was buffet style, and whilst very good, a bit limited in choice so would not have liked to be on full board. Staff were most pleasant and friendly, especially Claudio ! The town was only just up the hill around the corner which offered lots of restaurants and choice, and all were extremely good. The main street through the pedestrianised old town is amazing, a good atmosphere, always busy and something to watch in the main square -saw a few evening weddings of the locals, gorgeous designer shops and stunning window displays - this is a town and not just a tourist area - wonderful. Churches, old buildings, a really interesting place, fabulous views from the square and full of history and culture. If you wish to go to the ' bottom ' you can take the funicular which is very close to the hotel - little bays for sunbathing and boat trips, but we preferred to be at the ' top ' for all the action. Lovely Taormina !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 87 in Taormina
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#26 of 87 in Taormina
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bagnoli Croce | behind the ancient Greek Theatre, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £61 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina, Sicily
Ariston Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing