We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel ariston D&J Sheffield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotel ariston D&J Sheffield”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just arrived back 15th September had a lovely weeks holiday, location was perfect and the set up around the hotel was lovely , good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast and we tried a couple of evening meals that were very good quality and very good service ,staff on reception were really helpful . I would recommend a room with a sea view its well worth the extra cost

Room Tip: recommend sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetsheperd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mrs Janet,
thank you for posting a review about your recent holiday.
we are happy hat you had a lovely stay with us and we are delighted that you appreciated our food and our welcoming staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    385
    136
    47
    28
See reviews for
153
529
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Back from a 10 days stay at Ariston. Nice, clean, neat and comfortable hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor, a large, comfortable room with a good bed to sleep. The main disadvantage is that the walls are very thin, we fortunately hadn't noisy neighbors so I can not complain but the shower from the next room is like someone is taking a shower in your bathroom. The first day I was unpleasantly surprised but after a while you get used to. Require the room with a sea view for your full enjoying. It's really a must.
Too bad also that breakfast is not served on the large, spacious terrace but in a bit depressing breakfast room. The choice of the food is very good, maybe a little bit repetitive but good, for everyone's taste.
The pool looks ok but we didn't use to swim in it because the sea is beautiful and warm.
In the evening there are evergreen music, who likes it's ok but for us it was boring and also too bad to sit at the hotel in the evening when outside is full of people and wonderful restaurants.Try Sicilian delights, especially Tiramisu and Cassata cake.
Excellent location of the hotel. From the reception area to the left, by the pool then downstairs is the bus terminal for all destinations and down the street you can reach by foot Messina, Taormina center. From the reception to the right, by a small street go to the Giardini Communale, a beautiful park, from where you can return to the center of Taormina.
We went at the beach Letoianni to which hotel provides mini bus, 2 chairs and an umbrella for 6 euros per person. Beautiful beach.
We went also to the beach Isola Bella but still many people and too awkward for swimming because of rocks.
Have a visit to Catania, Siracusa, Palermo. Beautiful cities full of history.
All in all a nice stay in Sicily and at this hotel. The hotel has exactly 4 stars no more, no less.

Room Tip: sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alekb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Mr Alec,
we are pleased to read that your holiday at the hotel Ariston met your expectations !
We are also happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you particulary appreciated our food.


We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I really liked this hotel, stayed 1st-8th September.
We had a room on the second floor with a good sized balcony, i can see why other reviews complained about balconies though as some looked very small.
The balcony chairs (wrought iron) were uncomfortable though, plastic ones would be better but would spoil the tasteful look.
The bed was comfortable with clean sheets, the counterpane was looking a bit tired with bobbles but was clean. Lovely large shower with good water pressure.
Food was good, really enjoyed the gala buffet nights which were 22 Euro each, very good value.
i loved the pool as it was very deep. and the pool attendant claudio was friendly and made sure there were enough towels and sun beds for everyone. Not much food choice at pool bar though, only toasties which were around 4 euro and were huge!
Lots of steps and steep incline up to hotel, but good exercise. Definitely not suitable for buggies and children, but people should do their research before booking. i would say this hotel is for mature adults, i would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your lovely feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and your overall stay.

Your kind compliments have already been forwarded to Claudio you thank you very much !
Your recommendation si very valued and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit !

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and i are just back after a week in taormina We stayed at the Ariston and i can highly recommend it We asked for a twin room with a sea view and balcony and we got what we booked for The room was clean and spacious but the balcony less so The bathroom was small and would not suit the oversized but entirely adequate and spotlessly clean The staff were very helpful and efficient The breakfast was wonderful a great choice of all you could eat Evening meals were a bit hit and miss but adequate Overall a very pleasant stay and can highly recommend it PS (make sure you get the room you ask for)

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Mr Seamus,
thank your very much for your kind compliments and recommendations :-)
We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you appreciated our welcoming staff, our service restaurant , as well as the cleaness of the room !

We hope to welcome you back again

Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Ariston Hotel is a very comfortable hotel in a good location, convenient for the Corso Umberto main street and very convenient for the bus station which is a couple of minutes walk up to the rear of the hotel. Very convenient for buses and coaches. The hotel room we had was on the top floor but we had no problem with using the lifts. There was a fridge and safe. You have to give a 50 Euro deposit for the key but this is returnable. There is a balcony but large enough only to stand on. The staff as usual were friendly and helpful. Good English speaking. Although we were here for bed and breakfast, we had a number of evening meals in the hotel out on the terrace which faced out to the sea although from the terrace, there wasn’t a clear view out. As it was open air dining with good ambience, it was very pleasant. These meals were good and competitively priced with respect to restaurants in the town. There were always many people dining here so this is a recommendation. Walking out of the rear of the hotel through the bus station, it is a 10 to 15 minute walk up the town. Not the most attractive street with a few restaurants and shops dotted along it. A good view out to the far bay though with the cable car station down to the beach located on it. Leaving from the front of the hotel, one has to go down a narrow road which leads down to a street on which the English Garden is located. This is worth looking around. One can get made to order sandwiches in a local shop along this road if one wishes to have a picnic meal in the garden. The hotel is pleasant inside and has a good swimming pool with loungers around. However it is very deep with no shallow end. The water was a very good temperature. The hotel breakfasts were good with a good selection including bacon, sausage and egg as hot dishes. Taormina is a lovely place to visit with much history and culture. It is not cheap however and I was surprised to find wine expensive. Sicily is a very large island so it takes a long time to get anywhere. Our original intention was to use public transport but eventually decided it was easier to take excursions. Local buses are easy however and local return journeys costs 2.8 Euros each. You can buy tickets beforehand but you can also pay on the bus. We took an excursion to Syracuse which is very interesting historically. It took between 2 and 2 ½ hours journey to reach here. We also did the Godfather tour which is interesting if you are familiar with the Godfather films, basically the first one. This tour also gave a view of the local landscape. We hoped to visit Palermo but found it would be about 4 hours journey each way, although on motorway, so that idea was discarded. Although we had a few rainstorms during our holiday, they didn’t last long so didn’t cause us a problem. It was hotter than I expected, just coming into September.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandKHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your very detailed review.
We are very pleased that you valued our hotel very comfortable and its location in a good position.
We are also happy that you find dinner in our Terrace to your taste .

We wish to welcome you again soon.

Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel cannot be beaten for it's location to Taomina and the surrounding area. If you stay here it really is worth paying the extra for the sea view and balcony. As other reviews say the hotels sound proofing is not great but that said you do get used to the chatting of the neighbours and the ringing of the convent bell at 7a.m, Honestly!
The bus station is on the doorstep and I would highly recommend the bus to Catelmola it was just over 5 Euros and well spent even if only for the view and the bus ride, go to Mount Etna restaurant the Pizza is great and the best view of Etna.
The food in the hotel is very reasonably priced and also very good, eating on the terrace in the evening is lovely and very relaxing.
The hotel is not child/family friendly but Taormina is very hilly and therefore not pushchair friendly this is not the hotels fault it's just the location.
I will hopefully return to Sicily and would not hesitate to stay again at the Ariston.

Room Tip: You must pay for the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mr Kim,
thank your for posting a kind review of your stay.
Our Hotel is well located, within walking distance to the main street Corso Umberto.
We are plased that you had the opportunity to try our restaurant and that our food was of your taste.

We very much appreciated your nice compliments and we really hope to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is not family friendly at all. The reception were not helpful. We were given a claustrophobic room in Palazzo Santa Caterina, which was meant for two persons not for four. Seaview was obstructed by trees. The annex is situated in a very steep slope, cut off from the main building. It rained which made us more stuck in the building. The management/reception did not want to change our room with another one in the Ariston, stating that the hotel was full, which undoubtedly was not. Finally we had to change the hotel as our stay was becoming a nightmare. Obviously, children are not welcome and are preferred to be as cut off from the other guests as possible.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and want a hotel near the centre, choose a sea view hotel in the Ariston main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mrs Maria,
we are very disappointed to learn your stay with us didn't meet your expectations.

Our hotel Ariston is not highly recommended for families but more for couples as it is clearly explained in all our brochure and webiste descriptions.
Of course we are sorry that we have not been able to change your room , but I reconfirm that during your stay we really were fully booked ,otherwise we would have been happy to offer you an alternative accomodation.
We would like to have the opportunity to further discuss with you your concerns in order to reedem your faith in our hotel.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 88 in Taormina
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina

Property: Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce 1, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina
Ariston Hotel Taormina
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing