We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well pleased.”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well pleased.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just come back from a week in the Hotel Ariston, and well pleased with the whole experience. Really friendly welcome. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and the fresh, and I mean really fresh blood orange juice, was delicious. Pity the hotel didn't have free wi-if as I am sure that would encourage more people to stay around hotel and enjoy bar, pool, and restaurant facilities. Room clean and very comfortable. We paid extra for sea view which was stunning, unfortunately as the wind got up and sun went behind hotel in afternoon , didn't take full advantage of the balcony.
Really interesting little chapel in hotel grounds. Very convenient location, 5-10 minutes walk to Taormina centre, 2 mins from bus station with numerous bus routes available.5mins to cable car, 3 euro each way down to beaches. Just a really really nice holiday and would certainly recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Steve,

thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel. In fact, it is very conveniently located, as you noticed, as it it just a few minutes' walk from the centre and the bus station... we're also happy that you noticed of the, I would say, "treats" of our hotel, the lovely little chapel, which adds to the charme of the location. As for the Wi-Fi, unfortunately it is only available in our internet point at the moment, but we will take your comment into consideration.

We really hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    401
    139
    48
    29
See reviews for
160
551
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

One of the best things about the hotel is the view. At first I was disappointed that I could not book a room with a balcony(first 3 floors) but being on the 4th floor with a small viewing balcony(you can fit a chair on it) we had the most amazing views. Rooms are typical for the style of building, basic and could do with a little tlc but spotlessly clean and bathroom more than adequate. The location is excellent, 5 mins walk into Taormina town, cable car down to beaches or book a lounger/parasol and a lift to the beach at reception for a few euros. The bus station is a couple of minutes away. The staff make this hotel a pleasure to stay in, nothing is too much trouble. I definitely would not stay here with small children, the pool is very deep, no shallow end and there is nothing to entertain youngsters. The evening entertainment was lovely although apart from one gala evening was the same all week, namely someone playing piano. The food was of a good standard for the hotel rating, everything was cooked well and the care and attention of waiting staff was definitely comparable to much higher rated hotels. The perfect place for a restful holiday with everything that you might need within walking distance(very hilly though) even the short walk from the bus station is via a steep path. I would go again this year but unfortunately no sea view available for dates I would like.

Room Tip: Would not like to stay here with no sea view, definitely would not want to stay in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Client,
we are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at our hotel Ariston valuating it as the perfect place for a resting holiday !

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as our caring staff.
We are also thrilled that our food was of your taste and that you have appreciated our stunning views !

Please feel free to contact us if you wish to know if a room with balcony and sea view is available for the period required.

Wishing to welcome you again , we remain with

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The staff were so friendly and very helpful. This was my first time abroad so was nervous of alot of things. But this hotel and area was perfect very calm and serene. Stunning views . Made you feel very welcome. Clean with good upkeep. Best bit of a couple of mins walk from main streets and across the road from the cable car to the stunning beaches. Isola Bella is a must visit too! . Deffo reccomend For couples.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jennifer,
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience on trip advisor !

We are glad to know that all our services fulfilled all your need and that you had a pleasant stay with us !

We wish to welcome you back in the future

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Love the staff ! Amazing location and great rooms. Outside area is tasteful and pleasant. Food was good and vegetarians will have a vast choice of great veggies. Breakfast is a treat with all you can wish for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolviMBAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guests,
we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us !
We also thank you for the praises about our food and our welcoming staff,they are really happy to know that they have been able to assist you well during your stay.

We really hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forde, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very bad internet connection, available a bit mostly at night between 4 and 6.
The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is a buffet , many choices but mostly overcooked and/or laying long time in hotwater and/or etc the bread is good. Seating is sometimes as they put you all in the same corner just to easy the workcondition of the staff whitch are friendly, helpfull and hard working.
The view from the room is fantastic, the pool area is great, the bar perfect....
There are some stairs to take but the hotel is not far from buss terminal and taxi,
mainstreet and center on walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for you having shared your travel experince on trip advisor.
We are glad to hear that you have had an overall enjoyable stay.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused with with the internet connection. This point were addressed to the maintenance staff that has dealt it already.

Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were met at reception by friendly and helpful staff and this continued throughout the week. The bedroom was fine but the bathroom had only a rudimentary shower and there were other failings in maintenance. Breakfast was about average for international visitors - hot food was only so so. The location is easy walking distance from the local bus station where most visitors arrive, and is also the starting point for excursion buses. Taormina can be accessed in two different directions - one to the top of the town and one to the centre area.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - the rooms at the back have little or no view of anything except a rock wall. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATJ350Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the breakfast service.
We are sorry for the inconvenience with the service maintenance. We have already reported this issue in order to avoid this problem in the future.

We look forward to welcom you again .

Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were thrilled when we arrived to see the gorgeous views but when we were given our tiny room and saw that it was on floor one with a HUGE TALL wall right outside the window that made the room dark and damp, we were so disappointed! No sun ever came in! Apparently some rooms are nice and others are awful! No recommendation from us!

Room Tip: Don't even go there if you are not assured of a room on the front of the hotel with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank astute4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guests,
we read with great concern that the room booked wasn't to your liking.The standard room usally have a inner view.
If at the time of reservation you would have pointed out the need to have a room with a view we should have recommended to book one of them.

We hope to welcome you again so you can revalue our rooms.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#21 of 87 in Taormina
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Property: Hotel Ariston
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce | behind the ancient Greek Theatre, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina, Sicily
Ariston Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing