We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel in good location but lots of steps and unreliable lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in good location but lots of steps and unreliable lift”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a pleasant hotel in many ways. It was conveniently located near the bus station - useful as many trips had a 7am start. It was possible to walk easily to either end of town - up to the Messina gate or down a little and then across to Piazza IX Aprile. The latter route also led to the delightful Public Gardens with fine views towards Etna and Southwards along the coast. Lovely views from the bar terrace, restaurant, and particularly the lounge. Also from the front rooms though we had a back room that looked out on a rock face. The pool area was lovely, and the pool a good size though a little chilly in early May. There was a good choice of food for breakfast, and evening meals were competitively priced for Taormina (not a cheap place).

Reception was helpful, and even managed to book a Sunday trip for us that we didn't ask about until about 9pm on Saturday!

The room was clean, and an adequate size though I personally found the bed very hard.

A few little grumbles:
1) Bed was very hard as mentioned above
2) There are 92 steps up from the bus station to reception. There was a lift but there is still a slope and 17 steps to reach this, and on several occasions during our stay it wasn't working. This meant going back down the 17 steps and up the 92! I think you might mention this in your publicity or get a more reliable lift.
3) The wifi didn't work

Nevertheless an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Probably worth going for a sea view. Other rooms look out on a rock face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Gill,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you found your stay enjoyable. Thank you for your remark about the Wi-Fi, we will take steps to sort it out. We would be happy to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    380
    134
    46
    27
See reviews for
153
520
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent a week in this hotel in Taormina. Our room had a sea view and a small balcony. The sea view was stunning. The hotel was spotless. Bathrobes are available but have to be asked for. Despite paying for wifi, this was only available in public areas, with no in room access. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was varied, offering both hot and cold choices, obviously catering for the diversity of nations holidaying here. Supper menu was again a buffet, again with a variety of hot and cold choices. Lovely desserts.the hotel is a short walk from the town centre
There are quite a few steps to climb, even before the lift to the reception area is reached. The swimming pool is very deep and not really suitable for young children. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the small additional charge for the sea view. Third floor has the best balcony, but second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyAnn897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear SallyAnn,

thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you found your stay an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For Taormina, this hotel is good value for money. I was there for a business meeting elsewhere in town; everywhere is a bit of a hike in Taormina, with plenty of walking up and down significant slopes. My room was large, the shower was OK, the bed mattress was of moderate quality. I had a view of a rock wall from the room, but a balcony allowed a sea view. Below the balcony was a noisy aircon unit. Breakfast was extensive, with hot and cold meats, yogurt, fresh fruit and plenty of breads; the coffee was terrible. The fresh elements of breakfast tended to be put out later than the advertised 7am. There is a nice looking pool, but it closes at 7pm, so I did not get to use it. I did not eat there in the evening. There is no internet access in most rooms, although there is free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Julian,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you found our hotel to be good value for money. It is, as a matter of fact; but you can also have a good dinner buffet of Sicilian specialties. We hope to see you again soon, for leisure or business.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just got back from a delightful weeks holiday in Taormina, staying at this delightful hotel. We cannot speak highly enough of the friendliness and quality of service we received whilst staying there.
If you go there my only advice I would give you is to pay the extra price for a sea view room. These offer truly stunning views!! Well worth the money, the rooms at the rear look out at a sheer rock face.
The standard of cleanliness is really good throughout the Hotel.
The food is truly amazing. The choice and quality is exceptional.
The resort itself is charming as well, there are plenty of things to see and do, and a trip up to Castellmolo is well worth the 6 Euros return fare for 2. The views are stunning.
Also the Greek Theatre, located on top of the cliff that the Hotel stands in front of is very impressive and offers stunning views over Giardini Naxos towards Mount Etna.
The excursion "In The Godfathers Footsteps" is a must see as well.
The Hotel is located less than 5 minutes from the bus station where you can get a bus to wherever you want to go.
There is a lift up to the Hotel from the bus station or you can take the keep fit option up the many steps, good for the calf muscles and a very good cardio-vascular workout!!
We have really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back and indeed hope to.
The only slight fault we could find was that the rooms had very thin walls.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeefieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear KeefieL,

we are very happy that you are going to come back. We're also glad to read that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of May. The hotel is very well positioned for getting into the town. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea, it was lovely to start the day sitting there with a cup of tea. It was a real bonus to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel was excellent, all the staff were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was delicious with a really good choice.I loved the freshly squeezed orange juice.All in all an excellent place to stay. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Denny,

thank you so much for your recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon: if you come back to our hotel in Taormina, you can also try our buffet dinner with Sicilian specialties.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Ariston for 1 week from 11th May and enjoyed our visit very much. The hotel room was clean and comfortable with lovely views. We paticularly enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine and fresh fruit placed in our room. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice especially the freshly pressed orange juice. The pool area and gardens immaculate and free pool towels supplied. One final word to the management of the hotel, hold onto your reception staff they are worth their weight in gold, excellent holiday all round. Many thanks. Yvonne & Tony Gormley

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear bridie,

we are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel so much. Thank you so much for submitting your review. Our complimentary wine and fruit are always appreciated and we're glad that you noticed it. If you come back, we suggest you to try our buffet dinner of Sicilian food.

Thank you so much again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went with Thomson on a competitive B&B package in early May, to this town with a reputation for being for the rich and famous. The hotel has fabulous views from the terraces, dining room and lounge, Though it certainly isn't alone in this, many hotels seem to be away from the main part of town. The pool was a decent size, but 2 metres throughout, not for kids.

Our room was at the back, but had a small slice of sea visible. It was large and plenty of storage etc. Service was uniformly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a good variety. We like to explore restaurants,they tend to be pricey, but the hotel in the evening was competitive and the food good, both a la carte and buffet..

The location is excellent, and we quickly dropped the idea of car hire after looking at the traffic/ parking. The local buses are cheap and reasonably frequent, and the coach tours early, so being right next to the bus station was helpful. There is a splendid belvedere a couple of hundreds yards from the hotel, you can also walk down to Isola Bella from there and cable car up.

Evening entertainment was a piano bar and once a week an amusing serenading group.

Tip.1 The bus station cafe is friendly, has free wifi which is secure, wasn't busy when we were there, and does a good fresh filled cannolo.
Tip2 Try the romantic opera evening (see separate review)
Tip3 Take the local bus to Castelmolo, high above the town, have a filling lunch at Gallo Cedrone looking out to Etna, then walk down.
Tip4 Don't feel restricted to Thomson tours (very few), the hotel will book you on many others. We enjoyed the Stromboli/Panagea trip, Montalbano tour, and the Round Etna with the little train as well as going to the cable car.

Minor grouses. Wi fi didnt work for us, The key was a traditional lock, modern plastic keys give you one each and a chance to charge gadgets during the day. The lift from the pool belongs in a museum !

We would certainly recommend this hotel.for adults.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jonathan,

thank you very much for your review. It's true what you said: though many hotel in Taormina have a view of the sea, very few are as conveniently located as ours. Thank you so much for your recommendation as well. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#28 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina

Property: Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce 1, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina
Ariston Hotel Taormina
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing