We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel, ideally situated for the town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good hotel, ideally situated for the town centre”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from a week in Taormina, staying at the Ariston, a very well managed hotel with friendly helpful staff. We stayed on a B&B basis, the buffet breakfast was good with lots of choice. There are a lot of steps, not only in the hotel but in the area in general, but they are more than made up for by the spectacular views. The hotel is ideally situated just on the edge of town, it is quiet, perfect for a peaceful break.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view room on the top floor, the view was lovely and it was very nice to be able to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annabel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Annabel,

thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you liked our hotel and we're grateful that you highlighted our strong points, so we look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    395
    138
    48
    29
See reviews for
155
544
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We have just had a weeks holiday in hotel Ariston in taomina, Sicily. The hotel is situated on a very steep hill which is difficult to manage when able bodied, so be care if you have mobility problems. My partner has problems with her mobility and the climb to the hotel nearly killed her!. Once at the hotel it is easy to get around, with choice of stairs or lifts. The room we had was large and airy and wone of the best we've had for storage and space for hanging clothes. The bathroom was large and the shower so powerful it almost took your tan off! The room was cleaned daily and always appeared spotless.....except for the floors. I was sick of having to wash my feet only for them to be dirty again within minutes of walking around the room. We were bed and breakfast and found the choice to be excellent and of high quality. All in all this hotel is perfect except for one thing, the staff. We found some, certainly not all, to be off hand and surly. We had an incident with a waiter one morning which made us very uncomfortable. We dared to sit in the wrong area of the restaurant for our breakfast. A waiter approached us, screaming at us ,in a very aggressive manner, telling us off for sitting in the half board area. There was no visible sign indicating were we could/could not sit. Many diners witnessed the waiter shouting at us and we were very embarressed. After speaking to the waiter and his manager we were offered no apology. The way he spoke to us was absolutely disgusting and spoilt what was an otherwise perfect stay in a lovely hotel. r

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jakeychin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jakeychin,

thank you for your review. We're sorry for your experience about our staff. We would like to apologize for that and we say that we will take steps so as to prevent this from happening again. We hope that, in spite of your experience, you will come back again when you happen to stay in Sicily in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The climb to the hotel certainly kept us fit, but otherwise the holiday was very relaxing. We stayed in the annexe (Palazzo Santa Caterina), which had a special atmosphere of its own with balcony, views, terrace, access to community gardens, tea and coffee and daily nougat treats. The staff of the hotel were pleasant and helpful and the buffet breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and very tasty. The piano music in the evenings in the bar made for a relaxing and entertaining end to the day. I little disappointing that nobody danced. The Sicilian evening was very lively and the musicians certainly worked hard. The notice about the city tax to be paid at the end of the holiday was a bit of a shock - just glad we hadn't quite spent up. News of this before we went on holiday would have been helpful.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Hilda,

thank you for your kind review. We're happy that we made you have a wonderful holiday. We will take into account your remark about the city tax. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a one week stay and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Although the access is a little difficult there are lifts to help you bypass the numerous stairs, however the views from the hotel are superb and worth the climb. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was plentiful and varied. We only had dinner once at the hotel and the a la carte menu was good and at a reasonable price. Our room was well furnished and equipped the little extras of the complimentary fruit and wine were well received. The staff were excellent throughout, friendly and helpful without exception. The hotel is situated just above the bus station and the cable car terminal which was vey useful for the various excursions we undertook. The town of Taormina is a delight with narrow twistng streets with plentful restaurants to choose from, and a different view at every turn. Our only criticism is that the wifi is not free otherwise we would have given this hotel an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea views, they are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear John,

thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel. We will take into account your criticism about the Wi-Fi connection. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent Hotel, well situated. Very friendly staff. Loved the kettle in the room with fruit teas. Breakfast very nice and plenty of choice. Went to one of the Buffet evenings (the Sicilian one) and the food and the atmosphere were lovely. We loved the choice of cocktails in the bar. Taormina is definitely the best resort to stay in , though expensive to eat out and to shop. It's a lovely picturesque place with much to offer. Restaurant recommended in the town is the Grotta Azzurra fish restaurant. Beautiful fresh fish. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms with balcony are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krysia2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Krysia,

thank you very much for your nice review. It's great to read that you are going to stay here again, so we look forward to seein you again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A VERY GOOD AND WELL MANGED HOTEL WITHIN EASY WALKING DISTANCE OF TAORMINA, WHICH HAS A VAST SELECTION OF RESTAURANTS.
THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL IN EVERY DEPARTMENT.
BUFFET BREAKFAST HAS A WIDE VARIETY OF CHOICE,
TWICE WEEKLY HOTEL RUNS A GALA BUFFET DINNER AT €20 IS EXCELLENT VALUE AND VERY GOOD SELECTION ( Buffet dinner wouldn't be normally high up on my choice list)
The only negatives to me were 1 Swimming pool has a depth of 2.4 to 2.8 metres, which is no use to anyone who isn't a good swimmer and 2 The charge to use WIFI at around €14 for the week was unexpected and would not be the norm for hotels today.
Nightly entertainment was excellent. Staff member looking after poolside area was most obliging and friendly.
Would recommend this hotel as a great base to visit all the attractions in the region.

Room Tip: If you want a great view then pay the extra with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Peter,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you liked our hotel. Not only is it a great base to visit Taormina and the other attractions of eastern Sicily, but perhaps not everybody knows that we also have a small 15th century convent cell. As for the Wi-Fi, we will take your remak into consideration. We hope to see you again in Sicily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We found this hotel was very good and well located. Apart from the Hotel Isabella directly located in the town centre on Corso Umberto, it may be the best located mid-range hotel in Taormina. It is just below the Greek Theatre although to access the latter you have to climb up to the town centre first. The small bus station from which all excursions leave Taormina is less than 5 minutes down the steps from the hotel.

Taormina (apart from the level Main Street of Corsage Umberto at the top) is very hilly so you probably need to be reasonably fit to stay anywhere there including the Ariston. However as long as you are fit and mobile, it is a pleasure to walk around the town, theatre, public garden and restaurants. The Ariston itself is set in attractive gardens with a long terrace which at the end of May had plenty of private tables and chairs that we sometimes sat alone in and read our books when not either wandering elsewhere or using our balcony.

We stayed in the main hotel in a room with a balcony and sea view. The room and bathroom size were perfectly adequate and the balcony was small but enough room to enjoy sitting out on with a drink or snack. Over the Strait of Messina we could see the toe of Italy.

The room was clean and service was good and friendly throughout the hotel. We could hear snoring next door the first few nights as the walls are thin. The range at breakfast was excellent including fresh fruit, fresh natural yogurts, cereals, granola, proscetto, hams, eggs, croissants, cakes, coffee, pretty much whatever you could like.

We only ate dinner there once and booked b&b basis. Dinner was ok but there is such a range of good restaurants in the town that it would be a shame not to search and sample them. We revisited two that we would particularly recommend for excellent food and service. Perhaps tops was Le Quattro Fontaine opposite the Duomo but a close second (with unbeatable service) was La Dracena down an alley just before the Duomo which had a nice garden and a lovely family operating it. You will probably only sit in the Wunderbar once like us, since although the food and service are good and it is the most beautifully located, the prices are precisely twice as much as the other restaurants in Taormina which given the quality of many others is hardly justified.

The town is in a wonderful setting with attractive buildings and we would definitely recommend staying in Taormina rather than Mazaro, Giardini Naxos or elsewhere in the area unless you are determined to be right on the pebbly beach. However, it is truly there purely for the tourists - all the buildings apart from the churches are either restaurants or designer shops (plus one excellent natural iced fruit on a stick outlet). It is difficult to find anywhere to buy do it yourself snacks / sandwiches etc for your own picnic. Best tip for this is the one supermarket which is just up from Porto Catania at the western end of the town.

Do not miss the Greek Theatre, we went twice just for the most outstanding views in Sicily. Excursions to Siracusa and the Inspector Montalbano (Ragusa Ibla, Scicli & Punta Secca) locations we're also good.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with a balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hvzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Hvzm,

thank you very much for you kind review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We're grateful to your for highlighting our strong points, among which there is our location and the variety of our food offer. We hope to see you again next time you are around Taormina.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina

Property: Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce 1, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina
Ariston Hotel Taormina
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing