We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely environment for a sunshine break🇮🇹”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely environment for a sunshine break🇮🇹”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the ariston after a fortnight break with my wife and teenage daughter. The hotel was well run with friendly staff and staying there was a pleasure. One criticism of the place however nwas that no money changed hands until you were leaving as everything was charged to your room number, this made it feel like an all inclusive although it isn't. So make sure you put some euros away every day to pay for all your food and drink that you consume. All in all we really enjoyed the hotels ambiance and would recommend the place any of our friends to visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ekcharlie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ekcharlie_1,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a nice holiday. As for your criticism, we do this in order to make our guests feel more comfortable, without any money changing hands, which would make our hotel feel like… a bar. :-) Anyway, we are very grateful to you for your recommendation and look forward to your coming back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    401
    139
    48
    29
See reviews for
160
551
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in the Ariston for a week B&B, traveling with a 6 month old baby, the parents and a grand parent. The hotel though not suited for a child was very accommodating and as the parents/ grandparent had stayed there before they were treated fantastic by the staff.
The two rooms that we booked were as advertised a balcony room overlooking the sea which was ours and was stunning view. The in-laws and grandparent had the large family room and the view from that room was outstanding. The rooms were functional and maybe could do with an update but all appliances working fine.
The breakfast had a varied selection of hot and cold food though this did not vary at all I found for the week was enough of a selection to choose from without getting boring.We stayed for evening meals a few times and found the set menu great value for money as was the buffet evenings such as the Sicilian night and Fish buffet.
The pool area is quiet but as its 2.5 m at the shallow end i would not recommend it for children.
The hotel is situated high up on the road so it was tough with the pram and a bit hard on the grandparents legs, but those small problems in no way spoilt a very enjoyable week that i would recommend staying to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay extra for balcony/ sea view as one side of the hotel is facing a rock face
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El-Cleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear El-Cleggo,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Glad that you liked our staff and the selection of our food. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have been back a week from Hotel Ariston at Taormina and would like to say how wonderful the hotel was. The hotel check-in was very busy upon arrival but we were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We had two rooms at the rear of the hotel. We agree with the previous comments, although the view wasn’t brilliant, the rooms were of a good size, clean, well equipped and cool in the afternoon which was important after a day out in the sun. All the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful particularly those on reception and at the poolside. We were bed and breakfast and thought that the breakfast was really good with plenty of choice both hot and cold. We had lunch a couple of times during our stay and thought that the quality of the food was excellent.

Out and about:- the cable car to Isla Bella Beach is 3 euro per person each way. The beach itself is very pebbly and it’s worth investing in beach shoes readily available in shops or with the street vendors and 10 euros per pair. We only used this beach once as we found that the Tropicana Beach as advertised in the foyer of the hotel was really good value. You book this at reception and costs 8 euros per person and includes a bed and umbrella. On arrival to the beach you book the return journey time and are allocated your beds for the day. The restaurant that is attached to this beach provided decent food and a reasonable price. There are a couple of supermarkets within walking distance of the beach and a mobile Panini seller nearby.

Food:- There are literally hundreds of restaurants to choose from in Taormina but we particularly enjoyed Taverna Da Nino which is just up from the bus station and opposite the cable car. The Bella Blu where you have the welcome meeting was also nice. Good pizzas and a really good view.

It’s worth noting that Italy charges a tourist tax which is 2 euros per person per night and is payable at the end of your stay.

The Thomsons rep Ann was very knowledgable about the resort and helpful with any queries.

All in all it’s a really pretty place, not as expensive as we thought it would be and the hotel is fantastic. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brynjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear brynjulie,

thank you so much for your nice review. Glad that you appreciated our b&b accommodation, but, as you noticed, one of our strong points is our food, in particular at dinner time. So if you happen to visit us again, we suggest you try our dinner as well.

Looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leic
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Came here in 2009 the first time and had a fab time even though we had a room round the back facing the cliff.
This term we had a sea view room. Unfortunately it was a lower room and therefore much of the sea view was obscured by parked cars and buildings-perhaps there should be a lower tariff for a limited sea view as I was expecting to be at the front in the rooms above the reception. Although the hotel were very helpful in trying to sort another room out it wasn't large enough for us.
The hotel is fantastic-meals are now waiter service and served on the terrace which makes sense as it is lovely to eat out when the temperature makes it possible. The rooms have been revamped since our last visit and are much lighter. The rooms facing the cliff were made darker by the dark carpet and decor so I am sure the revamp hugely improves these rooms at the back.
Our favourite pizzeria from last time was closed down much to our disappointment-it was just outside the gates to corso umberto if you head out up the hill from the bus station.
Lovely hotel and staff and would not hesitate to recommend it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IloveholsLeic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear IloveholsLeic,

thank you for your nice review. We're happy that you had a nice second stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked on line with a Thomson emailed direct to hotel to up grade which was confirmed, baggage collection was un organised at Catania and was extremely slow with the screens not showing the information for the flight arrivals.

Check in at hotel was a little slow too and up grade was not available and we were allocated a room in the annex which was down a steep hill. Rooms were in need of a refurb, mould in bathroom and was overall dated. However see view in the distance and room was very spacious! Complained about the up grade and was told hotel was full. Our Thomson rep Ann spoke to the manager and after showing our email trail free lunch and evening meal plus free soft drinks in the mini bar was agreed. It appears the confirmation was made via their central web site and not filtered down to the actual hotel. Also our booking did not mention Annex however it appeared on the paperwork which the Thomson rep showed us.

Location is fantastic with beautiful views, but hilly and lots of steps to climb. Very close to the bus station so good for catching the coaches for the excursions, and sight seeing bus.

From the hotel into the bus station turn left short walk up the hill to the main town which is bursting with bars, restaurants and shops.

Wunderbar has a guy there playing the saxophone who was brilliant but only there a few nights so make sure you stay for a drink there if he is playing. Lovely restaurant just opposite that bar right at the top of the steps, L'Orologio, pasta was so yummy and fresh, definitely worth a visit.

We did 2 excursions with Thomson Mount Etna at sunset and island tour to Lipari and Volcano islands.

Mount Etna was huffing and puffing with a few fire works which was fantastic to see. But there is a lot of walking (optional) and it was really really cold. I probably wasn't best dressed for this occasion but had 2 cardigans, scarf and my husbands jacket on and was still freezing! Didn't have the right foot wear either and the ground was difficult to walk on and was narrow in places, health and safety officers would have had a field day! Was a very long day as pick up was 3pm and we were back at midnight. Food at the restaurant was very good even though they were catering for a lot of people.

Island tour to Lipari and Volcano island was fantastic with some fabulous views again, don't miss visiting the black sandy beach (Volcano Island) which was shallow for a long way out and so warm, un like our local beach.

Islabella - we took the 900 steps down which was to left of the beauty spot behind the hotel and legs were like jelly at the end of it, but again fab views, beautiful to look at but very crowded on a Saturday with the locals.

Overall loved the location hotel rooms just need a refurb, food and drink there was excellent. If your not that worried about your room then this hotel is perfect.

Very lucky with the weather very hot & just 1 heavy down pour when we were on the sight seeing bus (€20 each) which didn't have a cover so got wet. Also there doesn't seem to be enough buses as people were queuing to get on at the stops but no one was getting off so they had to wait an hour for the next bus! Not really a hop on and off bus like it is advertised, good tour up to the castle and down to where the cruise ships port.

Room Tip: Book room within the hotel not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJV41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MJV41,

thank you for your review. We're sorry for your experience of our rooms. We will take your review into account so as to improve our service. We're glad though that you liked our food. We look forward to seeing you again if you happen to come back to Sicily.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really well kept hotel, great views over Med to mainland Italy. Helpful and friendly staff. Pool and pool area really good (pool deep - couldn't stand at any point, but that was fine). the room was clean and comfortable and our balcony was at the front of the hotel with a lovely view.

We ate there several times, the food was fine (for hotel food) - a bit better than average, but sitting out on the terrace for dinner was stunning. Decent choice of regional wines. We did eat there four nights out of seven. The set menu was good choice and good value - didn't feel the need to order from the a la carte. Food and drinks prices very reasonable.

Internet available but not free. Access patchy, it worked in the bar and reception, but not in the room or by the pool.

It's close to the town centre but it is quite an uphill walk of 10-15 minutes. We got a taxi several times to restaurants in the evening, and once to the far end of Toarmina (Piazza San Antonio) & walked back through the town (downhill) to the hotel.

There was live music every night, a pianist/singer on the terrace which was actually quite pleasant.

We had a really lovely week. The best things about the hotel are its location - views, staff and the fact that it was mostly couples or families with older children. Very relaxed and relaxing place.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony and sea view ( not partial) in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear edcb,

thank you for your nice review. We're happy that you had a relaxing stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just come back from our Silver Wedding anniversary holiday at the Ariston and we had a wonderful time. The views are beautiful from this lovely hotel. Our upper sea view room was a good size, a balcony would have been a bonus but we spent little time in our room. The staff at this hotel are exceptional and nothing is to much trouble. The food was wonderful and a good variety. We visited a number of the tourist things whilst there, the Godfather trip was very good, and we will be getting the films to watch again. The cable car to the beach is very handy and the causeway to the Isobella island was an experience. The town is not to far and pleasant in the evenings to walk off diner. The bus station was very conveniently placed for exploring the Island. We would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with balcony for the ultimate experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 21HOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Holly,

thank you for your nice review. We're happy that you had a nice stay at our hotel. It's great to read that you would come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#21 of 87 in Taormina
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Property: Hotel Ariston
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce | behind the ancient Greek Theatre, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina, Sicily
Ariston Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing