We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We returned today from a lovely week at the Ariston hotel. The room we had was a front facing one with a sea view, our only disappointment was that we had a requested a balcony and weren't allocated one. When I asked about this they were unable to move us. We had booked this hotel specifically because of its location and the pool which meant there were unlikely to be many small children which turned out to be right. Some days it was difficult to get sun beds round the pool but there are other areas so we were never without somewhere. We were only on a B&B basis but the breakfasts were good and the staff friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Marian,

thank you so much for your nice review. Congratulations for your 25th wedding anniversary: we're glad that you celebrated such a special day at our hotel and had a good time. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at this Hotel. The staff were all, without exception, fantastically helpful. We elected for a 1st floor room at the rear, which had a huge patio area. If we went again, we may pay for a front room with sea views, which were fabulous. Only a short walk into the town centre, which is lovely.
Evening meals on the terrace with sea views were a delight. Good choice of food at both breakfast and dinner, although the gala buffets on Monday and Friday nights were a little chaotic. Good live entertainment every evening. Two excellent Maitre'd.
Pool very nice, bus station at the entrance to the hotel very convenient.
We would rate everything 4 star with the exception of our (rear) room which we would say was 3 star. Maybe the front rooms would merit a tad better score.
Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at a great price.
We have been wanting to visit Sicily for years, and we're very glad we did.
We chose the Syracuse and Godfather trips and enjoyed them both.
A beautiful island. Scenery as good as anywhere we've been and better than most.
Bonus was the erupting Etna which was a real spectacle after dark.
Tremendous.

Room Tip: For fantastic views, choose a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Steve,

thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having paid the supplement for a seaview and balcony we were extremely disappointed to be allocated a partial seaview room, after speaking with the thomson adviser for the hotel we were advised that the hotel was fully booked-disappointing but nothing further to be achieved by grumbling. The hotel lift to the pool and exit via the bus station was out of order for the majority of our stay-not helpful when the alternative was a steep roadway, the last disappointment was the hotel didnt acknowledge my husbands retirement birthday-which was on the booking and i had reminded the reception in the morning regarding our evening meal (we were half board). Moving forward...The hotel is spotlessly clean, reception helpful (apart from not passing on re birthday) waiters and 'pool man' very pleasant, the breakfast was varied, the evening meal was served on the terrace all very pleasant and relaxed.
We spent an evening at the amphitheater watching simple minds which was a spectacular setting, the beaches were busy so take it or leave, the pool was busy at times and sunbeds in the afternoon sun a premium, we went on the open top bus which was enjoyable, and the gardens are worth a wonder, several tours were available if thats what one wishes, Palermo we were advised would take over four hours on local transport-need to up-skill on my research next time!

Room Tip: Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandJBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Aand,

thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you spent a pleasant holiday at our hotel. We are sorry that you couldn't visit Palermo, which is a lovely city with its Norman heritage, but there's plenty of things to see around Taormina (not to mention Taormina itself). We hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a couple in July 2014 and had paid to upgrade to a sea view with balcony room. Room 320 seemed to be one if the biggest, being a corner room and we had a fantastic view. Sun comes in the room mainly in the morning which is lovely to wake up to.

The breakfast was fantastic by normal European standards. The fresh fruit daily was so varied; watermelon, peaches, pineapple, freshly squeezed juice! Plus so many cured meats! I could not believe that they also allowed you to have prosecco with breakfast!! Breakfast runs from 7-11am and they are constantly putting out fresh foods :) we went back for a second breakfast after getting up early a few days!

The pool bar is manned by Claudio or Rino, both are very lovely and funny. Thank you Claudio for helping me with my Sicilian / Italian!
I recommend trying an Aperol spritz by the pool and spending the day sleeping it off!

I have stayed in lots of hotels in Europe with a much higher star rating and can say this is one of the best we have ever stayed in.

The only drawback was having to leave so early with Thomson for our flight back due to lots of early morning flights on a Sunday. We had to be ready for a 10.30 flight at 5.45!!

Hotel gets 5/5 from us. Will return one day.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Watermelonshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Watermelonshake,

thank you so much for your kind review. It's great to read such a nice account; we will pass your compliments on to Claudio and Rino. We look forward to your return!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Genuinely do not think I can add to the positive reviews from others. We had two rooms, a back one for our teenage daughters that was a bit dark with a small two seat balcony overlooking the hill behind. Nonetheless excellent value for money and good size by italian room standards. We selfishly paid more for the most amazing sea view and a two seater balcony Worth every penny. Both rooms given spumante and fruit on arrival, Rooms clean and quiet fridge/ minibar Wine and beer in these 3euro 50. Staff all fabulously helpful. We were given free wifi that was a bonus. Gala meals at 22 euro great value and way to test out local dishes. Bus station at bottom of hotel steps. Town pleasant walk on slight incline. Small necropolis down the road. Loads of eateries and bars. Really not as expensive as we expected. Music in bar every night was pleasant. Saw Simple Minds gig at the arena with Etna erupting.behind. Recommend this hotel any day and this resort. Just don't expect to get to Palermo in under five hours

Room Tip: Pay or blag a sea view with balcony you can sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CPFCeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear CPFCeagles,

thank you for your review. Yours was a nice account of your experience. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe on the next summer.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is fantastic…it has a great location with fabulous sea views and just a short walk away from the resort centre and funicular. The staff are all very friendly and the hotel is kept very clean. Great choice for breakfast and lovely pool area which never felt crowded. Fresh fruit, water and a bottle of wine in the room upon arrival was a lovely touch and the rooms were a good size with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. First visit to Taormina and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toomanyplaces72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear toomanyplaces72,

thank you for your nice review. We're happy that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is conveniently located close to the heart of Taormina. The hotel was stunning views of the sea and is close enough to the centre yet in a quiet sea view setting. The pool was large with lots of sun loungers and the rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed on the 1st floor and would recommend paying more for a sea view balcony. We stayed half board and the food was the best half board we have ever experienced which was cooked fresh on an open grill daily which lots of choice. The restaurant looks over the sea and each night we had piano or live music which was a nice touch. Taormina itself is a lovely resort and we did the Etna at Sunset trip and the Godfather tour which were both brilliant. Overall the service of this hotel was brilliant and I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAristonTaormina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Charlotte,

thank you for your nice review. We're happy that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#24 of 87 in Taormina
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bagnoli Croce | behind the ancient Greek Theatre, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £51 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina, Sicily
Ariston Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing