We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crystal clear water”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Isola Bella

Isola Bella
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.86*
and up
Isola Bella Diving Tour from Taormina
Ranked #5 of 98 things to do in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taormina is a region that is rich in natural beauty and scenic beaches, especially Isola Bella that means "the beautiful island."
Dover
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crystal clear water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

From Taormina you can take steps down to Isola Bella, takes 20 minutes, or take cable car. Then short walk to 2 more minutes of steps down onto beach. Worth the walk. Only paddled in the sparkling crystal clear water as it was icy cold at this time of year. Only 5 euros for a recliner with umbrella and use of the facilities, w.c. and shower and the attendant got me a glass with ice for my water - no extra charge. The attendant helped us arrange our recliners to be comfortable. Perfect. Then we had a 15 minute massage for 10 euros. Heaven! Everything you need here with the beach cafe's, if not you can climb steps back up to the road and there are a few other shops/cafe's. Didn't want to leave.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieDudecote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,849
    982
    416
    143
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You want massage?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a beautiful and idyllic little spot, with gorgeous views of the island and bays, but the woman selling massages were likes flies that you couldnt swipe away. Even the sunbed owners had laminated cards you could place in the open - 'No. Massage'. You start off being polite but they wont go away, then another one arrives then another. The same woman came back to me three times and even though I was obviously telling her to go away and showing my annoyance, she kept grinning. Of course we worked out what to do in the end- dont respond at all, dont say 'no thank you' or anything. It worked, they eventually left us alone and we could get back to remembering this place was still gorgeous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Louise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good for one hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Take the steps down, you will get some lovely views. Have a gelato and capucinno on the beach. Beach consists of pebbles, you can do a boat trip along the coast and see a grotto. Island was still closed when we were there. No lift down, a lot of steps to go back up.

Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Rare Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This tiny island was recommended by our B&B hosts. You walk through the surf over a rocky isthmus, and climb around the paths. A wealthy industrialist bought the island in the late 60's and illegally built a secret hideaway during the 1970s. You can't see the building until you are there. (I asked how he did it. First they planted fast growing tall plants, and then stone by stone, hauled in a night, they built three or four rooms, walks, and a small swimming pool hidden in the vegetation.) This may not seem like it is worth a visit, but there are a lot of rare and unusual plants and drop dead views from various perspectives. In the off season maybe there are a dozen visitors each day. Walking through the surf over the rocks is a small adventure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Speacial Beach..fantastic scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

the beach fantastic..........we used the lido of La Plage Resort. Simply fantastic. we also took the tour on Isola Bella, very cheap and worth the views. verytidy beach all in all and good places to eat at.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isola Bella also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing