We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very sicilian decor with amazing view of Etna”
Review of Villa Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Gaia
Ranked #55 of 116 Taormina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Villa Gaia is charming B&B located few steps away from the town center and main street - perfect for shopping and eating out. As we opened the balcony doors - we had this stunning view of the mount Etna. The room is very pretty with authentic Sicilian deco, good size and comfortable but walls are quite thin. We heard noise coming from the street and mobile phone buzzing at 6am from the room above. Breakfast was quite basic but served in the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CGAdamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Never had a feeling like coming home as in this villa. Sicilian dream come true when i opened my balconydoors at 7 in the morning and lying on my bed could meditate for an hour on mount Etna's smoky visions of rocky & cloudy ancestors. In the quiet sqaure was The Old female cypresstree, maybe a hundred years old with nests for pigeons and other beautyfull birds gliding past your room in the early morning. What's so special about villa Gaia, mother earths habitat, is that every thing is authentic. Decoration is overthetop trendy, kind of museumstyle a la Joseph Beuijs meets Frida Kahlo. I loved everything. I want to thank Josephine and Anna for their welcoming when I entered. Breakfast is lovely in the tropical garden

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annawytte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We saw the sign for this place from the central square and figured it would be full (like evrything else) and/or very expensive. It was neither. We had a wonderful ocean view for a great rate in the best location in town. A+

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Villa Gaia stands out as one of my fondest memories during my three-week visit to Sicily because Sicilian native Giusy makes every aspect special. She (and her staff) are all sweet and helpful, but never intrusive. Giusy will offer all the suggestions you want and will happily chat with you (in English or Italian--your choice) about where to go in Taormina, as well as the politics of Sicily, movies, history, current events and more.

The location is unbelievable. This charming B&B is nestled in the hillside, but is literally just steps from the center of town, so you have the advantage of being quite close, yet removed from any noise. Because it is above the main thoroughfare, the views from the terraces are spectacular, with the snow-topped volcano off in the distance (see photo).

Giusy bakes many of the pastries offered with the substantial breakfast. I especially loved her white chocolate torte (and I don't generally like white chocolate); crunchy crust and sweet soft interior--yum! You can breakfast in the patio or the sitting area of the lobby, and coffee is made to order.

I absolutely loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys the opportunity of staying at a small B&B run by local people who are happy to share their city with you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Having booked an apartment on the net, we arrived to find the location left very much to be desired so we decided to seek somewhere else to stay.
We looked at many hotels along the main street as well as many side streets before seeing the yellow sign for Villa Gaia - and what a joy! Josephine was so welcoming and the location was fabulous and the rooms were clean and nice. My 2 friends shared a twin room while I took a single but our terraces were joined so we felt as though we had our own little apartment.
The breakfast, which Josephine bakes herself, is to die for. Fresh hot criossants, cakes and pies, fresh coffee etc etc.
The location is fabulous, being set just far enough back off the main street to be peaceful and tranquil, while being so close that you're part of the town.
You're close to the Duomo, so do be prepared for the bells, but this is in integral part of life in Italy!
The decorations are over the top, but again, this is very Sicilian!
We loved this delighful little gem and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennig3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Wonderful nice little hotel, very friendly and helpful. Our room had a balcony with beautiful views over Etna and the sea, though being very conventiently located close to the main shopping street and restaurants. That is, excellent location without the noise from the bars and people.

Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Sicily. Very helpful in recommening good restaurants (of which we tried Tiramisu - very good!)

The room was to say the least decorated with many things, a bit too much for my personal taste, but given the views and the location fully acceptable. The water pressure was low. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yaz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

Lovely family run hotel. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Location is great right in the heart of the pedistrian street, but quiet at night.
Decoration very arty 60's style. Only downfall - the showwer had no pressure and the water trickled out in our room (No. 1)
Also do not have heavy suitcases as you have to walk from the parking lot on cobbled streets and up stairs!
For 1 night the price was good.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isoco Guesthouse
Isoco Guesthouse
#6 of 116 in Taormina
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Duomo di Taormina
0.0 mi away
Le Quattro Fontane
Le Quattro Fontane
#67 of 116 in Taormina
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa al Duomo
Villa al Duomo
#10 of 48 in Taormina
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaia

Address: Via Fazzello 34, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range: £77 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Gaia 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gaia Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing