We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Victoria hotel. Rooms were very clean. Air Con worked well. Breakfast was pleasant with choice of fresh coffee made every morning. Staff were very friendly. I can't find fault with this hotel. We had a room to the rear and it was very peaceful. Location is great too as the front door of hotel opens onto Corso Umberto which is the main street in Taormina. From the hotel the Funivia (Cable Car) is about a 10 minute stroll. The cable car brings you to the two beaches nearest the hotel and the cable car journey takes aprox 5 mins.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We loved our stay in this delightful small hotel. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect. The room was small, but was very clean and had a gleaming updated bathroom. The breakfasts were substantial, with choices to suit varied European and North American tastes. We stayed during the shoulder season so we thoroughly enjoyed our balcony over the Corso Umberto; it was never too noisy, and provided a fascinating place to sit and relax and watch the world stroll by. The street is lined with great shops and restaurants of all kinds, and it was an easy walk to all the sites of Taormina.

We arrived by train/bus so didn't have to worry about parking, but we did have a little trouble finding the hotel initially (a lovely American couple came to our rescue.) After you have been there one night, however, you will not be able to understand why you found it confusing. Taormina is a small, walkable town, and getting lost is difficult.

Taormina has a very different flavour from the rest of Sicily. We are glad we made a stop there, and we are sure to return---but make sure this isn't your only experience of the island!

Aside from the usual (amazing) sites, we climbed over 700 steps to a castle on a hill above the town, and on another day walked a little below the town to the public gardens. We would highly recommend both these activities. Also, get up before 7 one morning and walk down the Corso Umberto to the look-off---you will be rewarded with a view of Etna without her usual cloud-top.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cedarkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in May 2011. The location is perfect, right on the main walking/shopping street. Easy to walk to pastry shops, restaurants, the Greek Theatre, the gondola down to the beach and anything else you might be interested in. This hotel was much cheaper than all options I could find for hotels of similar quality. Although I wouldn't say this was a "fancy" hotel it was just what we needed as a base to explore beautiful Taormina. They have free wifi, beds were comfortable, and it was very clean. Our bathroom was very spacious as well (though we had a corner room which seemed like it may have been bigger than other standard rooms). We highly recomended this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpo916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

All staff were really friendly and helpful with everything. Rooms comfortable and clean. Hotel reception ideally situated in middle of main busy vibrant street that doesn't sleep until late evening. Rooms appear to be behind street not on to it so not noisy. Hotel takes a bit of finding due to narrow streets & one way system. Parking limited so make sure you reserve it. Bus & train services easier than using car after initial parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortieLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Victoria is more of a hotel than a b&b with 4 floors of rooms, some with balconies, situated right on the pedestrian street corso umberto ii closer to the Messina arch. The couple of hotel parking spots were full so we had to park in the Lumbi car park (14 eur per day) and take the free shuttle to the Messina arch. But you have to ask the desk for a voucher which gives you 20 pct off. It was not mentioned on arrival.

The location was great for exploring Messina. You could pop back in and put at will and cool off for lunch, change for dinner, drop off shopping etc. But there is no pool, no lobby, and no fridge so it's not a great place to hang out.

The breakfast was a basic continental, croissant, ham, salami, cheese, prepackaged yogurt, cereal, juice and espresso. Had better at b&bs in Amalfi and Sorrento. Some fruit would have been nice. The apples were dried out balls of nasty flesh.

The rooms were very clean and air conditioned. But the bed had the hardest mattress I've ever felt. Even though our room 123 was on the main walk street, noise was minimal. There was a tiny view to the Greek theater but no balcony. The tv was a joke, so small and high it was worthless, but I guess you aren't supposed to be hanging out in the room. Free Wifi was just installed which was very nice but slow. The bathroom was spotless but had the smallest shower shower that made for some contortions in cleaning. But at least there was no moldy grout or nasty shower curtain.

The staff was friendly, helpful and super sweet speaking Ng English, German, and of course Italian. This place is probably best for a young couple, with few bags to carry, that will be drinking late and eating out all day. If you can't walk or have a child there are probably better choices. We paid 95 eur per night.

Taormina is a beautiful city with wonderful architecture, a vibrant passageata scene, but expensive for food. Bam bar does have a wonderful granita for 3.50 eur and the xxx near there has decent lower priced fare on a nice quiet piazza. The tiramisu closer at the Messina arch has a great veal scallopene in lemon cream sauce (see my review there). There's a supermarket outside the south arch. The villa zuccaro on piazza del carmine looked like a fantastic quiet spot but only open for dinner. Bar turrisi in castlemola has a great view (and fantastic large insalata mista!) with crazy sexual decorations. Worth the drive, bus, (long) hike. Mount etna is worth the drive and a day hike on the mountain. Check with the ti in linguaglossa. The Greek theater wasn't worth the 8 eur after having seen Pompeii. I heard Syracuse was way better.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ezflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Victoria for 2 nights and give it the highest recommendation. Every detail is cared for and beautiful. Imagine the quality of a 4 star hotel at 2 star prices! Salvatore and his family and staff are very friendly and terrifically helpful. They had a kind staff member actually get in our car ( which was marooned in a nearby piazza) to guide us to their small private parking lot. We were thrilled to be in an affordable hotel, right on the main street of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdbanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Right on the main street, a very pleasant well-run family hotel. Great value for money, everything was fine and 24 hour reception is a bonus. Friendly staff who are very keen to please.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Corso Umberto 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing