We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location for Taormina” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great value and location for Taormina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights. It's wonderfully located, We stayed in room 123 facing Corso Umberto (the main street) and it got noisy at some parts of the night (drunk people walking down the streets). The reception staff (mainly males) were friendly, but they weren't very proactive. For example, we wanted to know if Mt Etna cables were open but they said they didn't know. I guess we had expectations that they may pick up the phone and ask for us. The breakfast staff (mainly females) were super efficient though. They got our coffees and teas really quickly and cleared the tables as soon as guests left. The breakfast was poor. Frozen bakeries and not very tasty condiments. The room was very large and clean, but bathroom a bit small but overall the place was good value for money and if we came back to Taormina we would probably stay here again. If you are looking to relax and stay in the hotel for most part of the day, probably get a nicer hotel (although more expensive). We travelled during most of the day so was only there to sleep. Also, the beds were too hard! We asked to change but the reception staff told us that it was the same in all the rooms. Parking was a bit of a pain too, but this is Taormina. We paid 12.50 euros for 24 hours in a carpark about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    115
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
185
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel is ideally located on the main street of Taormina. This was very convenient as we could come and go in the hotel as we pleased. We had a wonderful, big room at the second floor with charming furniture; the bathroom was fully equipped, as a 3 star, not a 2 star hotel. The staff was really great and helpful. The central location is a little noisy, but this did not bother us. More TV channels should be provided, though. Overall, great hotel and great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
330 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel is well-located right on the main corso of beautiful Taormina. Room 28 faced the Corse and a shallow balcony--nice during waking hours, but too loud at night. Windows had to be closed tight to muffle the sound and this was too hot in May. Other than than the room was comfortable with cute decor and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet served in a bright cute room was very modest with sub-standard rolls and pastries. With all the delicious pastries and breads in Sicily why can't Victoria serve decent ones? Cheese was similar to Kraft singles and they even had a knock-off of Nutella. We stayed here two nights, the second of which was our last night in Sicily and we needed to print boarding passes for the flight home. The hotel wouldn't do this! In the many countries and hotels I've stayed in, I've never had this problem before. Printing boarding passes seems to be a basic service hotels need to provide, yet this one doesn't. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very nice hotel in the heart of Taormina. Great value is the private parking (you absolutely need it . when traveling by car! If the hotel does not provide you shold have to trouble a lot). The hotel is in the main streat of Taormina, close to all the attractions. Rooms are clean and silent, people very lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo_ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Loved the hotel and the location. Very quaint rooms, some with balcony, and all required amenities. The staff were very friendly, entertaining, and helpful providing information and going out of their way to assist with left luggage etc. The decor is very unique and well appointed. The lobby is very small but the breakfast room and large sitting areas on stair landings were handy for relaxing while surfing the net. Being right on the Corso in the centre of town, the hotel provides easy access to all that Taormina offers with every conceivable need within a short walk. The bus station is readily reached by foot in 20 minutes with connections anywhere on the island. By train the town is harder to reach. Although Giardini station is close, it is 1000 or so feet down on the coast. Buses with somewhat variable schedules or cabs can take you to or from it and town.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony on the Corso is great for people watching but a room in back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights here during our recent trip to Sicily. The hotel is very centrally located in upper Taormina--right on the main street. The rooms are large and have lots of convenience you might not expect in a less expensive hotel--balcony, telephone, TV, modern bathroom--but no pool or fitness center for those that need these things. A lovely breakfast was included (the best cappuccino!). This whole area of Taormina is a pedestrian zone; so you must park in one of the parking lots or structures. While the hotel gives you a discount card (40%), it still runs you another 10 euros/day. The staff was very helpful and spoke some English. Good suggestions and always pleasant. Very good value in this pricey city. I would definitely stay there again. DW

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were only in Taormina for 1 night and having the hotel right on the main street made it really convenient. The staff was really helpful and even allowed us to hang out at the hotel on the second night until 10:30 since we were boarding an 11:30 train. The room was nice and spacious. With the main street below, it was a bit noisy at night.

The only complaint is the terrible WIFI connection. You couldn't be in your room and get reception. You had to go sit out in the hallway.

Overall, a nice place with pleasant staff in a beautiful city. For the price (lower than most everything in town), it was a great deal and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckkarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#21 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Via Corso Umberto, 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing