We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location.”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I would echo what other reviewers have said - nice hotel in an unbeatable location on the main street, very close to the Greek Theatre and about a 15 minute walk from the bus station (although it is very far from the train station). Rooms are very well decorated, cleaned and maintained. The staff are very friendly and speak good English.

The two star rating must have something to do with the fact that the hotel does not sell alcohol and there is no restaurant other than the breakfast room. The hotel does not charge two star prices either but it is still good value.

Sadly I could not give this hotel full marks because, as others have said, there are some issues with noise (bring earplugs), the breakfast is quite basic and the rooms at the rear of the hotel with the balconies overlooking the internal courtyard (which I could more appropriately describe as an alleyway) don’t have the views of Corso Umberto and are actually quite dark. On the plus side, there is a small public terrace on the top floor with views over the main street which people can use.

A good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Was in room 122 which appeared to be on the corner of the hotel. Was quiet spacious but did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    118
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
191
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here with my family in July. Loved Taormina and this hotel was in the perfect position. Convenient to reach most areas and positioned in the beautiful Main Street, surrounded by a good choice of shops and restaurants. Easy walking distance to the Greek Theatre. Staff helpful and friendly, breakfast basic but good. Rooms decent with nice balconies over the street but bathrooms tiny! Only problem was the hotel organized the airport pickup for us through a local taxi firm and they did not turn up. After waiting one hour in the specified place we found another taxi. On arrival at the hotel the phone in reception rang, it was the taxi driver who hadn't shown up. He was the rudest, nastiest, cheating man, demanding we pay half as we were not there and he accused me of lying! It was frightening and upsetting. Watch out. Organize your own taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriaj189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lovely old hotel, perfectly located on Corso Umberto right in the heart of upper Taormina with it's designer shops, countless restaurants, bars and ice cream parlours (particularly o'Sciality). Ideal for our 5 night short break in Sicily. The rooms were elegant, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, we had a second floor front room and were not disturbed by noise at all, we even had a great view of the festivals that passed along the Corso.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast, which was more than adequate, was served with a smile each morning. This hotel deserves more than it's 2 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueben32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Victoria in July 2013. It is in a great location - right on the Corso Umberto, easily reached by foot (with luggage) from the bus station, many great restaurants and shopping on your doorstep, internet connection everywhere in the hotel incl rooms, spotlessly clean and Salvatore is always there to assist and advise. Breakfast was similar to what we experienced around Sicily. Would stay here again in a flash.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing a courtyard at the back of the hotel, so no view of Corso Umberto, but gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadamSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

A very charming Hotel in the center of Taormina (Corso Umberto) in walking distance to a lot of coffe bars, pizzerias, restaurants and only 7-8 min walk to the Cable Car to the beach. Nice rooms and a friendly staff.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Knuteoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hotel Victoria is situated in the middle of Corso Umberto, which is the main street through Taormina. Our room had a little balcony which overlooked the main street and my partner and I particularly liked the people-watching aspect of this room. The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean and presentable. Spacious wardrobe, which also contained a safe. Bathroom has hairdryer, bidet and vast sink. The only downside was the size of the shower - quite small inside the cubicle. However, it was a power shower, which most certainly made up for the lack of space within.

Breakfast is continental and there is plenty of choice - boiled eggs, fresh fruit, bread, rolls, croissants, yoghurts, jams, honey, cold meats, cheese and fruit juice is served and plenty of coffee and tea.

The breakfast room is also spotlessly clean and nicely decorated and has a real homely feel to it.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

I would happily stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter. However, earplugs should suffice if you are at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltwatergypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hotel Victoria is situated right in the middle of Corso Umberto; the main street and hub of the beautiful town of Taormina. The room was great for the price, the staff were really friendly and although the breakfast was basic we only ate elsewhere when they stopped serving 5 minutes early. Like I said before: the room was great, it had a comfy bed, air-con, tv (with italian sky sports :), a safe, plenty of storage space and a fully equipped bathroom complete with hair dryer, toilet, huge sink and a small but very powerful shower. The best feature however was our little 2nd floor balcony overlooking Corso Umberto and it made staying at the hotel a really special experience. In the mornings we soaked up the sun and watched as the town came to life below us and, later on, when we came back from the beach or a day trip we played backgammon while the couples and families coolly sauntered into the shops, bars and restaurants in the evenings. People-watching in Taormina was a mesmeric form of entertainment in itself and there really is no better place to do it so make sure you request a balcony. The staff are always at reception 24 hours a day and they always know which room you're staying in; a nice personal touch but it also made us feel extra safe (not that Taormina felt shady in any way). If you can find the time, get talking to the staff as they're full of stories and by the looks of other reviews we weren't the only ones to be charmed. The only minor gripe we had was that the breakfast wasn't spectacular and it did close a little earlier than advertised on one occasion. That said, I always got a cappuccino within a minute and sometimes even before I sat down, the staff were really friendly and you were free to stuff your face with as much or as many croissants, cereal, cake, bread, nutella, jam, juice, boiled eggs, water or apricot tart as you liked. All in all we both loved it there and the price really was unbeatable for the location. It's only a couple of minutes to the cable car down to the beach and given the choice of being close to Corso Umberto and the 'top half' of the town or close to the beach in the 'bottom half' i'd choose the top half every time and there was no better location in that top half than Hotel Victoria's.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdb5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#47 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Corso Umberto 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing