We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently enjoyed 4 nights at this cosy little hotel,in the busy heart of Corso Umberto. It was such a comfortable and friendly location - a bancomat a few steps away, the best gelato almost on the doorstep,and immediate access to every aspect of this lovely resort town. We had Room 122, a quiet attractive room at the back corner of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking a narrow alley, which was perfect to sit outside as well as to hang washing out to dry. The huge double bed moulded to our bodies and was to prove the most comfortable we had experienced during our 3 weeks in Sicily! We easily wheeled our bags to the bus terminus in about 12 minutes, downhill, and early in the morning (so no crowds) as well as using this terminus to join day tours to the Aeolinan Islands and a visit to Castelmola.The WiFi worked in our rooms,the breakfast is typically Italian and served by happy staff, while the front desk is most helpful with any information you may need. Overall great value for money accommodation!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    118
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
191
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for a wedding last year. Having got separate flights I arrived on my own. The treck from the bus stop up hill to the main street is a bit of a killer but as far as I know taxis can drive down it, so if mobility is an issue a taxi is possible. The hotel itself is very centrally located to the main street, with many bars, shops and restaurants surrounding it which was fantastic. However it was very hot, and having no pool was a bit of a struggle. The beach is pretty far away via cable car and in the heat you really do benefit frpm having a pool. Having said this the hotel victoria had a lovely family feel to it, the staff were fantastic and we had a lovely little balcony to our room, ok we didnt have a pool or incredible sea view like many of the other big hotels but in my opinion I much prefered the intimate and personal feel of the hotel victoria. I would absolutly stay there again and reccommend it to my friends.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at this great hotel-located right on Corso Umberto. Salvatore, our host, was very friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony facing this main street, and it was great to people watch. Even though the street is always lively, once you close the windows you cannot hear any noise. The rooms were clean, spacious, and there is a great roof top terrace to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day, Breakfast is served in a nice breakfast room and it was ample-enough to get you started for the day. I cant say enough good things about this hotel and location, it is an excellent value for Taormina. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! Thanks Salvatore for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertRosePhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel is placed right in the centre, on the main street Corso Umberto. The rooms are spacious. They have a balcony. The food at breakfast is also really good(+ good coffee).The personal is very nice and they are happy to help with any problem you might have. All in all it is a good place to come to! Carmen, Emil and Mara

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night, unfortunately. We picked it because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and the reviews were spot on. The hotel was right in the middle of the main street but was not noisy at all. It was comfortable, good value for money and the staff were very friendly and spoke good English - also the Wifi was free which was a bonus. It was so convenient being close to everything - the Greco-Roman theatre, the lovely Gardens and the cable car down to the beach - all a few minutes away. We had a really nice meal at Angelos (also on Corso Umberto) - recommended by the hotel. There was a really good spread for breakfast and the ladies who served it could not have been more friendly or helpful. We just wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wonderful family-owned hotel smack in the middle of Taormina - and right on the Corso Umberto main street (pedestrian). This hotel has been owned by Salvatore and his family for more than 130 years and in fact it was only the second hotel to open in Taormina back in the 1880'ies. Salvatore and his colleagues at the front-desk are very kind and helpful and doing their utmost to make your stay successful - giving advise about things to see and restaurants to visit. Everything is very clean and the breakfast restaurant is operated by two professional ladies, preparing your coffee after your choice. There is no sausage, scrambled eggs and bacon - but it was kind of a relief not to have that (you get that in almost every European hotel, which is a bit boring). Some could find the bathroom in your room a bit narrow, but all is well-functioning - and in such an old historic building, you have to respect the space that is available. Thank you Salvatore and crew - and we recommend this hotel to all interested in a super hotel with the best location you could ask for.

Room Tip: If you prefer to get a feeling of the street life even from your room, you could ask for a room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertil-Brinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for a couple of nights and wanted to say a big thank you to the guys there - both men there were very friendly with huge personalities and were so happy to help. The hotel is definitely in position A1 in the centre and it really was great. Ok it wasn't trying to be 5* but don't be put off by it being listed as 2* because this is misleading; it's a great hotel - v good size rooms, clean, our room had nice view of courtyard from balcony, other room (went with parents) didn't have much of a view but was also good size. Real nice feel to the place. Highly recommended - rarely bother with writing reviews but felt I had to because they were so good with us and thoroughly deserve it!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#47 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Corso Umberto 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing