We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Fiorita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Fiorita
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. We had stayed here before 10 years ago. The property is in need of some refurbishment as many things were worn. The beds, however, were very comfortable.The owner was not very helpful or friendly. Our TV didn't work and it didn't get fixed until the last day. The staff is still warm and accommodating and the location is excellent. We would probably not recommend this hotel as there are also a lot of steps inside.

Room Tip: If yo have a lot of luggage, you might want a lower floor. Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinlenlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
17
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

It's seen better years and could use a total redo, BUT it's rooms are large, balconies have super views, location is A1 and the price is excellent. If VALUE and location are more important than up to the minute interior furnishings, this is a super place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czechago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa Fiorita for 3 nights in May 2011. We were very impressed with our room which had a good-sized bathroom, and we were lucky enough to have one of the rooms which has a large terrace overlooking the sea!

The only negative point, especially if you have mobility issues, is that there is no elevator until you have already climbed up a few flights of stairs since the hotel is built on the flank of a mountain (or hill). However, the staff insists on bringing your luggage up to your room, so don't worry about that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efradb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Located right next to the cable car, and a few minutes walk to the main street of Taormina, this hotel has some good things going for it. However, the overall impression is one of a hotel that may once have been something special and grand but it has stagnated since then...'then' being the 1970s. It made the good hotel guide in 1994 apparently, but it wouldn't now. It is a large hotel, but there seemed to be very few guests, and with Taormina absolutely throbbing with guests, this may tell its own story. Something about it reminded me of the hotel in "The Shining". Service from hotel staff was basically surly, although this may have been because we were English, and their grasp of English was as good as our grasp of Italian - limited to a few basic words!

This hotel is crying out for investment and modernisation. When we first walked into the room we were worried because there was a terrible smell in there, and the air-conditioning didn't really work. Also, the TV reception was poor. Not that you really need TV, because the blessing with this room is the exquisite view of the sea and mountains. Seriously, without that view, it wouldn't have been worthwhile staying there. Oh, and if you don't like stairs, and if you don't like tiny, scary lifts, you may want to reconsider.

Breakfast was nice enough though, particularly in the courtyard with the olive trees overlooking the sea. We didn't go in the pool. Shallow swimming pools generally shouldn't be that murky! However, being so close the cable car, it will not take you too long to get to the special Isola Bella.

This may have all sounded quite negative, but there was something charming about how out of date it felt. I think you just need to go in with low expectations and a sense of humour.

Room Tip: I wouldn't book here without getting a sea-view confirmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

First impression of the hotel is that you will spend a lovely time back in the 60s which might be very charming. Unfortunately it iis not! The hotel needs to be refurbished!
We didn't have a seaview whereas we have booked and confirmed one.
Breakfast was very poor.
If you are lucky you can meet the nicest staff... if not, be aware that Taormina is a very crowded destination which may explain the way you are treated!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Beautiful gardens overlooking a picturesque bay was the view from my room. The rooms are small with some update of furnishings (TV) needed. Walking to town was easy. Breakfast on the terrace was charming. Service friendly and helpful. Great introduction to Sicily. No elevator up to rooms so need to be able to climb four flights of stairs.hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USA696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I stayed there in May with my parents. We had a triple room. The room was big enough, clean, nicely decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had a nice terasse with a view of the sea that was accessing the pool which also overlooks the sea! Around the pool there are plenty of flowers. The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is very close from the center and next to the cable car that goes to the beach but it is just so peaceful and quiet.
The breakfast was good. There is also 2 free parking spots in front of the hotel (in the street) and an indoor parking (12 euros per night).
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#17 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fiorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fiorita

Property: Villa Fiorita
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 39, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Fiorita 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the historical centre, surrounded by an oasis of Mediterranean scents and colours, the Hotel Villa Fiorita is the ideal place for a peaceful and elegant stay in Taormina. Refined and elegant, the hotel reflects the charm of an exclusive private residence. Each room is different from the others in furniture and most have a terrace or a balcony. There's also a swimming Pool, surrounded by a splendid Mediterranean Garden with its unique orange blossom scent: it offers wide quiet spaces and solarium terraces in a setting of incomparable beauty. In the garden there is the entrance to the Roman tomb, the only intact in Taormina... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Fiorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fiorita Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing