We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This Hotel was a suprise ending to our two week trip. We had upgraded our room to a corner suite which we had viewed on their website. The website did not due the view justice. We arrived in our room to a seating area surrounded by windows. We opened the blinds and were amased. At that point I told my wife that I did not want to leave the room. The view was spectacular, and the room had a rap around deck. I immediately went to the bar, purchased a bottle of wine and sat on the deck enjoying.
Besides the room, the staff was great, along with a nice bar area, playing music in the evening. Pool area is also elevated with great views. As most hotels, breakfast is included, however this was slightly nicer than others we have experienced.
Many normal rooms also have a great view, but choose the upgrade if you are able.
We highly recommend this hotel, you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Pay for, and request a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    356
    160
    67
    42
See reviews for
140
463
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Derby England
Can't believe some of the recent very negative reviews. Comments bear no relation to the Villa Diodoro hotel we have just returned home from (9 October 2011). Sure, parts of the hotel seem a little dated but this only adds to the charm of the place.
Wonderful location, lovely food, spotlessly clean and helpful and friendly staff. What more could you ask for of a hotel?
Just one piece of advice. Be wary of visiting the beach at Diodoro's sister hotel. The taxi (provided by the sister hotel) was over an hour late in picking us up!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We picked this hotel from Trip Advisor – great choice.
My only reservation in recommending this hotel is that I may not be able to get in when we want to go again – it’s just so good.

Location – Just 10 mins walk from the centre of Taormina, easy access to the town and amphitheatre. Hotel is set on a cliff with views overlooking the bay and Mt Etna. Pool is on a lower level, out on the edge - level with the basement

The hotel is very nicely furnished, the Classic rooms are slightly small, but not unusual for Europe. They have a balcony big enough to sit out on, but no privacy as they are separated by just ironwork – but this is fine. Rooms are secure with double glazed lockable window and door, plus roll down “continental” type shutters. Air conditioning worked well. Floors were wood strip and we noticed very clean when we arrived.
The room seemed to have been redecorated fairly recently and no scuffs etc., same for all the hotel.

The pool is a really good size for a proper swim (15m?) and is accessed by about 60 steps through the garden. Fine for most people, but not suitable if you have mobility problems. There is a small kiddie pool and poolside bar that has very nice snacks for lunch, salads, pannini, fruit. The bartender and waitress were really friendly and helpful, couldn’t have expected better.
Pool was open from 9am to 6pm and we never had a problem getting sun beds at any time of day. No need to get up at 7 to put towels out; turn up at 11am, no problem.
I think this was because half the guests were Italian and many used the beach at the sister hotel. Wonderful views of the bay, Etna and the coast from the pool.

All the staff I met were very helpful and spoke v good English.

Food: Originally we planned to eat out some evenings – didn’t bother, the food was so great we didn’t want to miss any of it. Basically good Italian restaurant cooking , so nice there was no “International fare”. Extensive breakfast buffet.
Evening menu consisted of about 4 “table d'hote” choices for each course which didn’t repeat in 10 days we were there plus the al la carte. If you choose al la carte, you only pay the difference above the table d'hote price.

Drinks – Prices were really reasonable ca 4Euro for a (good) G&T, wine by the glass in the restaurant if wanted and bottles starting at 16euro. Such a nice change NOT to have my holiday spoilt by 10Euro drinks and wine bottles at 35Euro plus (are you listening Greece!).

Some evenings there was a "drains" smell on the bar terrace, from somewhere below the hotel - hopefully they will fix this.

See you there ! If we can get in.

Room Tip: Ask for Etna facing room - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

we back here after 5 years, all good bar-restaurant staff changed :-( :-( always only lovely swiimmingpool and amazing top terrace view, if you choose this hotel ask only a room on the front sea side and avoid to eat at restaurant: cold dishes, not taste, very sloly dinner, their own wines are very bad and expensive, hotel is far to the centre about 15 minutes walking but around the hotel there are small restaurants with better quality food for half price with a very beautiful peaceful pubblic garden. hotel is plenty of elderly guests look like if you are in an elderly house. it's good stop here just 2 or 3 days.in this manner it's a pity how the managements has changed in this way this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank florville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Lovely hotel, fine staff, great location. We were here to tour Sicily and this met all our requirements. Stayed 3 nites.

Room Tip: pool view with balcony is the best value. We dined al fresco every night with fine local wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVEL17534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Steer clear! Yes nice views but you can get the views ANYWHERE in Taormina!
This hotel is shabby overpriced and the staff are just terrible, narky and bad tempered! Rooms, food and drink are very expensive which would be fine except they're awful! You'll get a much better service in all respects in any of the other hotels in Taormina, we spent most of our time in them anyway! Same prices but far nicer hotels, staff and service! You have been warned! :)

Room Tip: Call a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just returned from our stay at the Diodoro. We had one of the refurbished rooms - clean and well decorated, albeit rather small and overlooking the entrance to the hotel. Our main impressions are that the location of the hotel is excellent with a short walk (uphill) to the bustling centre of Taormina with its shops, cafes and restaurants. The meals we had at the hotel were extremely good and we found the wine waiters more than willing to give advice on the Sicilian wines on offer. The bar service was generally good but there was only one person on duty to take the orders, prepare them and deliver them to the tables.
Two main areas of concern:
1) The hotel has extensive conference/banqueting areas. On the Saturday and Sunday nights these were booked by (large) private parties. No problem except that the greeting receptions on both evenings were held in the main bar area, thus making it extremely difficult for residents to get any sort of bar service.
2) The standard of staff on the reception desk left a lot to be desired. One particular person was pleasant and helpful but the rest were arrogant almost to the point of downright rudeness.
Overall an enjoyable stay but spoiled by the issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#30 of 87 in Taormina
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#28 of 87 in Taormina
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#23 of 87 in Taormina
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Property: Hotel Villa Diodoro
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing