We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Just returned from a fantasitc holiday at the Villa Diodoro. Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful saff. Stayed on B&B basis. Breakfast was great, all the choices you could want and super friendly service from Angela who never seemed to have a day off! Lovely pool area with fabulous views of the bay and Etna.
Taormina is a lovely little town that comes alive at night. Lots of restaurants and bars and a greek amphitheatre, all a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. It's an expensive place to stay but well worth it! Nearly booked hotel in Giardini Naxos. So glad we didn't, it's very scruffy compared with Taormina!
Nothing much to critisice about the hotel. Maybe tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be nice.On check out day we had an evening flight but no courtesy room was available for freshening up, only the pool facilities which were down lots of steps and no hair drying facility! Never encountered this problem before even on a cheap package holiday to Greece!!

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view preferably on a high floor. Corner suite even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank babeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    333
    154
    66
    41
See reviews for
131
445
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
388 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

EVERYBODY had a nice view except two couples on our tour. No excuse. After threatening bad reviews on trip advisor, we did get a view room. 4 flights of stairs to walk, but who's complaining. Only right to have a view for the high price!!!!!! Nice breakfast, beautiful views and pool. Expensive wifi, when the smaller places have free wifi.

Room Tip: Don't accept a crappy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a very large Jr. suite in early Oct.
Breakfast was 5 star with lots of choices including fresh fruit, cold cuts, breads, cereals, yogurt and cakes.The only thing missing is a restaurant terrace to eat outside and enjoy the lovely views
Dinner was 3 star and non memorable.
The room was very large corner suite with 2 balconies facing south and west with unforgettable views of Mt. Etna. Separate shower and tub. safe and mini bar. Very effective AC. Could not get the English TV stations to work.
Internet was 10 Euro/day.
If you get a room that does not have the best view, no need to worry as the view from the pool terrace is amazing. The pool was very nice and clean. Anybody with a mobility problem will not be able to get to the pool as it involves many steps to get to.The hotel gardens were lovely.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from reception, dining room and cleaning.
The hotel is located next to the lovely public gardens and 8 min walk to Corso Umberto the pedestrian shopping street. Lots of lovely outdoor terraced restaurants are within 5-10min walk. The Greek Amphitheater (a must) is 10min walk.
This was the end of our Sicily tour and the highlight of the trip. It is 50-60min drive to Catania airport.

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a Mt. Etna facing room. Skip dinner at the hotel and stroll towards Corso Umbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZingerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is ideally located, in a quiet position, beside the beautiful public gardens but close to the main shopping street. Our south- west facing room was on one of the top floors with spectacular views of the Naxos Bay and Etna, especially at sunset. Standards were first class as regards cleanliness, food and other amenities; the swimming pool and surrounding garden were especially beautiful. Public areas were tasteifully furnished and the staff were all very friendly.We were particularly well looked after in the restaurant by Giuseppe and Angela. We felt that our stay was very good value for money and we would certainly consider going back again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room facing Etna and the Naxos Bay with numbers 325-328 or 425-428
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thobur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godalming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel is one of the loveliest we have stayed in, September 2012. The views of Etna and the whole bay were fabulous. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view of the garden and the sea from the balcony. The food was good too with a good choice and the waiters, especially Toni and Angela were good fun and very attentive. Buffet breakfast had everything you could wish for and when we had a long trip starting at 6.30 we were given a boxed breakfast, enough to feed an army. Would go back at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300 range are good and the half garden and half sea views offer good value for money an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Returned here after a year's gap with two other couples. You always feel super-responsible when bringing other people to a favourite hotel, but we were not disappointed! We mentioned we were return visitors, and the hotel put all three couples in refurbished rooms next to each other, with balconies and amazing views. The breakfast was as good as ever-self-service buffet with fruits, cereals, breads, cold meats and hot dishes. The location is very central, and we spent hours looking around the shops in Taormina, stopping for refreshments at the many cafes and bars. Also attended an open-air concert at the Greek theatre-absolutely magic. Will be back again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Diodora September 2012, beautifully situated with stunning views of MT Etna & the bay.
Reception staff were friendly, but when we asked for an iron to use in our rooms they told us this was not possible, & to use a laundry at the end of the road! Apparantly you can smoke, & use a hair drier in the bathroom but health & safety no irons ! After a hicup with the food on the first night (undercooked chicken!) meals were fine & lots of choice. Restaurant staff Angela & Tony were very attentive & looked after us well. The hotel was spotless, with clean towels & sheets everyday. The pool was a treck but well worth the effort of the steps. The pool atendant was grumpy & insisted on cleaning, folding up sunbeds & umberellas before the early closing of the pool by 6.00pm!
On the whole we enjoyed our holiday & found the hotel very pleasant... may even go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#32 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Tauro Hotel
Monte Tauro Hotel
#18 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Property: Hotel Villa Diodoro
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing