We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
St. Thomas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our reservation was upgraded to a corner room with an amazing view. We visited for two nights just a couple of days after Mt. Etna exploded and the hotel and town of Taormina were really struggling with all of the ash. All of the staff that we encountered were cordial and helpful. Unfortunately we didn't know about the mini bar until we checked out -- it was well hidden!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    356
    160
    67
    42
See reviews for
140
463
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Despite the official description, be warned, this is not like any other 4 Star hotel I have ever been to, even in Italy.

As per the other negative reviews on here it seems you'll only be treated like a valued guest if you are a business delegate at the many conferences or in an organised tour group. Service is very variable, ranging from grumpy indifference to the minimal politeness that you'd expect after paying hundreds of Euros for a room.

In general, rooms are on the small side - and balcony space is crowded and lacking in any sense of privacy. Bathrooms vary from acceptable to nothing short of a joke. The food in the breakfast room was shockingly poor, and the decor was old and tired and more like something you'd find in a hotel in Soviet-era Moscow (and yes, I was there).

If this hotel didn't have a spectacular location it's difficult to believe it would be receiving many bookings whatsoever. Perhaps that's why a lot of the staff look like they don't want to be there.

In short, save your money for somewhere else. Taormina is far too good a resort to disappoint your stay by booking here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights when we visited Taormina for a short break. The room was nicely appointed and the setting of the hotel is good, a short walk from the centre of the town and with nice views. However, the free wifi didn't work and it seemed to be a struggle to get a coffee at breakfast - one morning we were just given hot chocolate instead and had to like it or lump it. Overall, it didn't meet my expectations for a 200 Euro a night room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My mother and three sisters and I stayed at this hotel for the third time in September and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this fabulous hotel. Our rooms had stunning views of the Ionian Sea and of Mt. Etna. The pool is perched on a cliff with the same views as our rooms and had ample seating, as well as a poolside restaurant overseen by Pietro, who works very hard to serve everyone promptly. Mateo, a university student and part timer, worked poolside helping with chairs and umbrellas and was a delightful and pleasant conversationalist. The full time pool attendant is not quite so amiable, but that just makes us appreciate all that is good here. The staff at the front desk, especially Manuel, were very accommodating. They actually remembered us from our previous trips and did everything possible to make our stay as perfect as possible. This
hotel is in a perfect location as you can walk out the front entrance and walk a few steps into the center of Taormina for shopping and dining. Just know that there are lots of steps in the hotel and in this ancient town located on the side of a mountain. In the evening after dinner, Natale Sinatra entertained us at the piano on the beautiful outdoor terrace. We always looked forward to beginning and ending our evenings on the terrace enjoying Natale serenading us with his singing. Roberto, who usually manned the terrace bar, was attentive, friendly and humorous. And, Guiseppe in the dining room always had hot coffee waiting at our table each morning. We have so many fond memories of all the friendly people and great service we encountered at the Villa Diodoro that we are already planning our fourth trip!

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanne0373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Dirty staining on a lot of the carpets.
No tea/coffee making facilities, no iron. No bathrobe and no slippers
The room and bathroom were below standard we. This includes the bed, which was undoubtedly the worst we had ever slept in, hard to the point of waking up with an aching neck every morning, very thin pillows almost useless.
The noise from other rooms and the corridor was a real issue, we heard all sorts of sounds from the guests, lobby and corridors and the rooms, as we are all sharing the terraces feeling very insecure, I definitely do not recommend this hotel for anybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. We upgraded our room well worth it. Beautiful views and spacious. The only complaint I had was that they do not supply irons. Even when asked their excuse was that it was a fire hazard...really??? It's obvious that it was just another way for the hotel to make money. If you don't want to walk around with wrinkled clothes and do not have an iron, be prepared to spend an arm and a leg to get your clothes pressed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neats7123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a wonderful place Taormina is. Our hotel, the Villa Diodoro has one of the finest, most impressive and beautiful coastal views that I have seen in my life; topped with an exquisite view of Mount Etna. This is quintessential Sicily and the perfect place to relax in glorious sunshine; beside the pool with a glass of something special to mark the occasion. Taormina buzzes with fun, beauty and good humour. A must-see.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#27 of 87 in Taormina
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Property: Hotel Villa Diodoro
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing