We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveller rating
368
426
189
76
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
426
189
76
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board mount etna pool area public gardens the dining room staff fantastic views superior room pool attendant sea view large pool lovely hotel beautiful park sister hotel fresh fruit plenty of sunbeds town centre ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Just back from a week at this hotel, firstly the good points
The location was good, the evening meal was excellent, the view was tremendous, our room was large and comfortable.
Now the bad points
This is not a hotel for elderly people with mobility problems as the entrance is very steep,the reception staff weren't overly friendly, I was overcharged 19 euros for a bottle of wine I never had so make sure you check your bill as they don't take cash at the bar and everything is charged to your room.
If there are any planned events at the hotel you are shunted from the restaurant to a downstairs set up which happened to us twice in a week.For anyone who likes using the internet on holiday be aware it isn't available in the rooms.The drinks prices are pretty high. Breakfast is pretty average as the hot food was cold.The pool was good but I think it will be pretty difficult to get a sun bed in the high season as there weren't lots of them, and there is quite a climb to get up and down to it

Room Tip: Don't pay for a sea view as the rooms are quite small whereas ours was large
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegibbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Second visit to this hotel. Lovely room overlooking pool and sea that was well serviced and clean. A/C a little noisy but worked well. Excellent location as it is an easy walk through the public gardens to all that Taormina has to offer. Breakfast okay but quite 'international' - no local cheese or ham and odd colour juices that tasted of reconstituted powder. Meals in the evening were 'safe' but well cooked and presented- all meals taken in a very grand dining room. Lovely terrace for drinks in evening and regular live music.
Pool area has a stunning view of Mount Etna and right down the coast. There are many steps down to (and back up!) to pool. Pool kept clean, always enough sunbeds while we were there and pool towels available every day. Pool showers, changing rooms and toilets are down a steep set of stairs and didn't seem to be serviced/cleaned regularly - difficult when guests visit there wet from the pool, but could be better.
Pool snack bar good for drinks and lunch snacks.
Hotel WiFi was very poor while we were there.
Overall a comfortable hotel to return to after a long days sightseeing and peaceful enough for some serious R&R.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

View from hotel fantastic. Location perfect for exploring Taormina . We went bed and breakfast which was perfect for us as we wanted to sample the local restaurants where we had great food . Hotel staff were polite and courteous at all times.
. Loved walking to Castelmola, lots of steps so not for people with poor mobility you would need to get bus. We love to walk and see the views properly at our own leisure

Loved the people and the food. Visit Licchio's bar Angelo and his staff are fantastic.
Be aware that wi-fi extremely hit and miss at hotel, we went to bars and restaurants that had free wi-fi.

Room Tip: We had sea view room 424 which was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This hotel has an excellent location and a fantastic swimming pool with wonderful views from the dining room and pool area in particular.

Our sea view room could just about see the sea, but no coast but mostly a huge, partly dead tree. Clearly some rooms did have a sea view but it seems pot luck which you get - all sea views at this hotel are NOT equal.

The beds were rock solid and the air conditioning very noisy. Wif-fi is poor and very intermittent.

The changing rooms at the pool were dirty, infrequently cleaned and replenished and for the most part, smelt like a urinal. To top it off, the pool attendant is the most officious, unhelpful and rude member of staff at the hotel - he even hosed down two ladies because they were in his way.

Room Tip: If booking a sea view remember that some views have views of the sea and the coast, others a tree.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAD12271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Villa Diadoro
The hotel has a wonderful old world charm, beautifully decorated with very comfortable and spacious rooms
The restaurant is to be recommended for its quality and presentation with very attentive servers
The hotel is perfectly situated, just a10 minute stroll to the centre of Taormina with beautiful public gardens next door
The hotel does not have a conventional bar area as such but a piano lounge that serves drinks which are expensive, so not many takers, and the atmosphere suffers because of this
However the pool area is lovely with a good pool bar, be aware there are a lot of steps to reach the pool 60 in fact so you need good knees
In summary worth a visit
unfortunately

Room Tip: Sea view is great but expensive
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews