We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but otherwise disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location but otherwise disappointing”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The hotel enjoys a great location in the beautiful town of Taormina. The reception staff are pleasant, but after that things go down hill. The restaurant desparately needs a re-vamp. There is no atmosphere at all in this very old fashioned dining room, and the food is poor. The pool bar shuts up shop at 4 pm, come rain or shine! There are too many good restaurants in the town, about 10 mins walk away, so do not book half board, and you may be ok. Rooms at the side are dark and dingy and have no balcony, so avoid garden view rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruby1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    356
    160
    67
    42
See reviews for
140
463
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

On arrival you are greeted by friendly staff who are very helpful to show you to your room. However you should note that not all rooms have a view, especially if the room happens to be on the side of the hotel!

The interior of the room is kept very clean however it is evident that it is time for the Hotle to undergo refurbishment. A small TV (not flat screen) is available in the room even though the choice of TV channels was very restrictive and some of the channels were not clear due to interference. A definite minus of the hotel is that rooms didnt have any internet or wifi for free and there was no location within the hotel where free access was available.

The location is not very far from the old city centre and is quite convenient.

As regards breakfast, more choice and selection was expected from a 4 star hotel. Egg and bacon was available, but the former was too soggy and the latter was undercooked. Lunch was served at the hotel but more was expected from the well known Sicilian cuisine.

Being on a business trip unfortunately I did not have the time to use the pool which seems to be one of the pluses of this hotel. The conference room, on the other hand, was very well organised and it was wonderful to have a coffee break in the small inner garden of the hotel.

Overall this is a good hotel but in my opinion it is overpriced. There are better and cheaper alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Villa Diodoro is beautifully situated with an amazing view over the bay and Etna. Its not right in the center of Taormina but its an easy walk 10-15 minutes to the main shopping street.
We originally got a room in the middle of the building between the two wings. The view however wasnt that nice and it was close to other balconies. We then changed to a room that had a very simple bathroom with a tiny shower and no bathtub (room 116) but it was compensated with an amazing large balcony with an excellent view of the bay and pool area.
The pool area had plenty of room for everyone and was beautifully situated with a wonderful view. It was well maintained and clean. There was a smaller lunch restaurant/cafe there as well.
The hotel has a small garden, a restaurant, a bar, a small shop with souvenirs and a lounge area.
We had half board and so we had all our breakfast meals and dinners at the restaurant.
Breakfast was a buffet with all you could ask for bread, pastries, juice, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruits and much more. Coffe or tea was brought to your table.
Dinner was from a menu and you had 32 Euros to spend every dinner included in the half board. The starters specially the pasta dishes were the best. The main courses were okay but the dessert buffet wasnt that fun. It mainly contained different types of cakes that didnt taste that much. Service overall was a bit reserved.
Rooms didnt have any internet or wifi for free. Not even the lounge area that actually had a computer had free access to the internet. This overall is one minus.
A good thing to know is that breakfast doesnt start until 7.30 am and many of the daytours start earlier than that. It is however possible to ask for an early breakfast at the reception. It will then be served in the restaurant as a personal smaller package of items from the buffet that opens later. They put out the room number on the table that is yours so that you know what table is for you. This system worked a little so so ..once perfectly and once not at all.
The best things with this hotel are the pool area and the view from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This was the 3rd year in a row that we' ve stayed at Diodoro mainly because it's hard to think of anywhere else in which we have felt so relaxed, in a wonderful location ,close enough to the main drag of Taormina's many shops and restaurants but far away enough to feel at peace at the poolside with views over the sea and Etna. The only reason that I've not given better ratings for service is because we didn't call upon the hotel staff to do anything for us and value wise, it is pretty expensive but comparable to other 4* hotels in the area. We've decided not to go again next year to force ourselves to see something new - but I know we'll be back in years to come!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oraneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My partner and I spent 4 days at the Diodoro and we absolutely loved our time there. We vacationned at the height of the peak season in mid-August and we still felt we were in an oasis of tranquility. This is probably due to the immaculate grounds surrounding
the hotel which give the impression that the hotel is miles away from anywhere and yet we were literally 5 minutes walk from town.

The hotel's greatest attraction is, as many have mentionned, its pool. As seen from the pictures taken from fellow vacationners, the pool offers a 180 degree view of the meditarranean2. Another little known fact is that the hotel offers a shuttle to its sister hotel located on a private beach. Once there you have access to sunchairs and parasols - all for the price of 4 euros. Well worth it, even though the beach is a pebble beach (as are most beaches near Taormina).

The restaurant also provided stunning views which we enjoyed each morning at breakfast. On this note, many have criticized the food selection, and while
I can only speak for the breakfast, my partner and I both thought the selection was plentiful, fresh and varied including a good selection of pastries and breads, fresh fruit, as well as eggs and bacon for those who cannot live without. We were also served delicious (strong) Italian coffee and warm steamed milk every day with our breakfast. I can't speak for the dinner since we chose not to take the half-board option and strongly recommend you do not, because of all the wonderful restaurants in Taormina and because half the pleasure of Sicily is discovering local eateries and delicacies (you cannot leave this place without trying the arancini, the gelato or a cannoli).

With respect to the room, we opted for the classic (standard) room and were slightly wary considering many on this site had advised to upgrade to a sea-view
room. We were pleasantly surprised by our view of the lower garden and
found our room to be clean, with a well-functionning AC (a luxury we later came to realize as we continued our journey to hot and muggy Palermo) and modestly yet tastefully
appointed.

The entire hotel itself has an old world charm with rich dark woodwork which was perfect for the the location. That being said for those looking for modern
amenities (flat-screen tv, large glassed-in showers, wireless internet), you may be dissapointed. But if you're okay with a little bathroom flooding after
your shower, lots of stone stairways to navigate through, beautiful vistas and lots of charm, then you will absolutely love the Diodoro AND Sicily!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontrealSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Just come back from a fantastic week at the Hotel Villa Diodoro in August and can honestly say it was great - would recommend it without question. Taormina is also a great place to visit.
Hotel location is about a five minute walk from the main streets in town. One the way there you pass a couple of decent wine bars and a plethora of eateries. At the top of Giovanni di Giovanni (St) there is a great little take away serving up pizza slices and local foodstuffs. Nice big public park next to the hotel which is well worth a visit. Couple of mini marts close to the hotel which do good deli food for a light lunch or if going on a trip cold water.
Bed linen and towels changed regularly - rooms were spotlessly clean and the woodwork gets a polich everyday by the maids. My opinion is the staff were friendly and helpful.
Had a garden view room which had a decent size balcony with two comfortable chairs and a bit of a side sea view. The room itself, 407, was a good size, nice and airy with excellent aircon. Bathroom was a good standard and could not fault any of the facilities in the room. The safe was included in the price, unlike may hotels we have visited, so was nice not to have to pay 2 or 3 Euros a day.
One of the highlights of the hotel is the fantastic pool. Its big and has an excellent view of Etna and the coastline. Never had a problem getting sunbeds and a nice touch is the free towels from the lifeguard and no charge for the beds unlike some Italian hotels we have stayed at in the past. So some nice touches to make the package complete.
We had a half board deal and the food was good and pretty varied. Breakfast typical Italian but some bacon and eggs if you want it. Dinner was a typical hotel affair. Not the greatest of atmospheres in the dining room - big and roomy which means you are not cheek by jowel with other tables. Quality of the food was good and service typical Italian. I had no problems with the food although we ate out a couple of nights to get the full experience - I would recommend eating out at the local eateries. Cafe Giordino along to the left of the hotel is great and the fish wonderful.
The many cafes, bars and eateries make Taormina a great place to sit and people watch. Worth a trip to Castelmola by bus and the cable car down to the beach is fun. Must visit the Greek Theatre. Great view from the top and there is some shade in the trees.
All in all we will be back to Taormina and would stay at the Villa Diodoro again without any doubt.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peroni_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have just spent a week at the Diodoro, and have thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is typically Italian style, and very comfortable. The location is perfect - a short walk into Taormina, and commanding beautiful views over the sea. The staff were quiet but friendly, and the service was excellent. The food was really good, and included a good selection of local foods, with plenty of fish. The antipasti were amazing.
Our room was small, but very clean. Bedding and towels were changed daily, and the air-con was very welcome.
The pool area is lovely, with free towels - as many as you want, and a bar which also sells snacks. The view from the pool area is wonderful, overlooking the sea, and with a good view of Mount Etna.
We would certainly recommend this hotel, as well as Taormina itself, which was very beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#22 of 87 in Taormina
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#27 of 87 in Taormina
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#23 of 87 in Taormina
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Property: Hotel Villa Diodoro
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing