We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Holiday, perfect!”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday, perfect!”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had a fabulous and restful 6 day break at this hotel. The staff were professional and very friendly and helpful, especially on reception. The rooms are very comfortable and restful and the location is stunning. Breakfast was very good ,with a good choice, however I wouldn't recommend ordering from the al a carte as it takes an exceptionaly long time and is not always as ordered. Also the restaurant is clearly understaffed in the morning and the one staff member "who is lovely" struggles to serve all guests in a timely fashion. However this said it is a small blip in an otherwise perfect holiday and we will definately be back! I Can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    75
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
264
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My partner and I stayed for a week . We could not have asked for a more pleasing stay. The hotel itself is such an eye pleasing, warm and comfortable place to stay.
We found all of the staff extremely charming and accommodated our every need. They would go the extra mile, no matter what time of the day or night, remembering what aperitif we would have every evening. I would highly recommend a stay at the Ashbee. By far one of the most beautiful and hospitable hotels we have stayed in our great travels.
The free high speed unlimited internet was a big plus. The full marble bath with high pressure rain shower was incredible.
Best wishes to all the staff and see you next year!!

Room Tip: The superior suite is a must - situated on two levels withe sea coast views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mclaudejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My wife and I recently returned from The Ashbee Hotel. First impression of the hotel was excellent, from the moment we were welcomed to the hotel by Danielo we felt that we had found a gem. I have to say that any establishment is only as good as the staff and we found Danielo and Valerio both very helpful, courteous and friendly. I notice that a few other travellers have commented on these two on Tripadvisor and I hope the hotel management take notice.
The reason we booked the Ashbee was due to all the good reviews on Tripadvisor. I am going to try not to repeat what everyone else has said, and I do have a few negative points that you may want to consider too. OK first for the positive; as I have already said staff were great. Aside from Danielo and Valerio the guy who made up our room and cut the grass was also great - I did not get his name, but he really was interesting to speak too, and spoke with excellent English (We both felt that he would be much better suited in a management role at the hotel!!!) - Other positive points have already been mentioned in many of the review on here; Great location, stunning views of the bay, pleasant well kept grounds, nice infiniti pool, rooms well furnished (excellent blackout curtains) nice comfy bed.
The negative points in my view are; buffet breakfast was terrible with a handful of cakes, and some cheap tasting ham and cheese - Al la carte was a joke 6 euros for 1 scrambled egg - in fact we found that pricing in general was a steep. We live in London and Central London prices are known to be high, but they are nothing on this place. (A glass of Italian wine, and a margarita 26 euros (That is more expensive than The Ritz) 24 hours parking 20 euros. These prices did make us feel that guests are treated as cash cows, which is a real shame. Like many of the guest on here we have stayed at some of the most amazing hotels all over the world, and this is the first time we have really felt that way.
The shower in our room soaked the whole room when we switched it on as the door leaked, and our aircon started playing up towards the end of our stay (we told reception a couple of times and they sorted it, but then it would cut out again)
If I was going to be really picky I would also say that they need more parasols around the pool (I heard lots of guests commenting that they wish there were more parasols)
All of this said the hotel is great and worth a visit. We would go back, we just hope that they sort their pricing structure out, as people wont mind paying for things, but nobody wants to feel ripped off (not sure many lottery winners were amongst the guests, so I assume all of our money is hard earned?)
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeanoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Excellent hotel with perfect service and an astonishing view from the garden and pool side over the bay of Taormina. Perfect spot to be active (explore Taormina and the sourrounding) and to relax in the elegant and charming atmosphere of the beautiful hotel. Very delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heaven7teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at The Ashbee for 5 nights and could not fault it. The room was furnished to the highest standard, the terrace has spectacular views and the infiniti pool tops it off. The hotel is located just outside the main street in Taormina and for such a central location has very spacious grounds. The staff were incredibly friendly and were able to provide everything that we asked of them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CST12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Property: The Ashbee Hotel
Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing