We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel.”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just home from a fantastic week at The Ashbee and would return tomorrow if possible. We arrived very late at night and received a warm welcome from a smiling Serena and Mario. Throught our holiday the staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. Our room was spotlessly clean, the decor and the finish were excellent. So comfortable and quiet that we slept late every day. The hotel is situated in a great position at the beginning of the main street which is very busy but the hotel was like a little oasis of calm from the chaos and biz of Taormina. The views from the terrace and the pool are stunning, both during the day and in the evening. Having breakfast outside with these views was an absolute treat. No restaurant at this hotel but the staff recommended some lovely restaurants and always seemed to manage to book the best table for us. A restaurant is planned for next year, this will be a great addition. Loved this hotel from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Thanks to Irene, Valerio and the rest of the friendly staff for making our stay with you one to remember and one we hope to repeat. Would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed in this beautiful little hotel for about one week. This hotel that just opened its doors in april looks like being a rising star. The staff is courteous, motivated and friendly. Our room (classic room) was stylishly furnished and quiet. The hotel offers no lunch or dinner yet, but a (very good) breakfast - a restaurant was the only point that we missed a little bit. Apparently the rooftop is soon going to be furnished as restaurant and spa area. The garden, the pool and all outside facilities are well-kept. We especially liked that this hotel has only a limited number of rooms (and guests) and thus provides a very personal atmosphere. This hotel is definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoshie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Where do I begin? So many things wrong with place.
FOOD
We checked in ordered a salad and a sandwich, hungry and tired after travelling. What we got was so unappetizing, bread, thin slice of cheese and iceberg lettuce in a bowl..no tomato, onion, dressing. I'll eat pretty much anything but we sent it back. There is no restaurant on property and the pool menu is pretty weird. Smoked salmon? Breakfast is good but the breakfast room has no A/C and is too hot to eat in. The waitresses walk around in a daze and you have to clear a table yourself if you want to sit down.All the tables outside had NOT been cleared when we arrived.
A/C
We could not work a/c from our room we had to call down to reception and they would turn it on and off for us.....Insane!!!
WATER
We had no water in shower one night, we called reception and then we washed in sink as we were hurrying to an event. Yes you guessed it the water is controled from the front desk also.They turned the water back on, they could not understand why we were mad?
MAIDS
Room was not cleaned properly I included two photos one of a broken waste paper basket, that was left for 8 days, our whole stay!! as you see it in photo.Also, I found on our 4th or 5th day a large clump of black hair in the bath.....I'm blonde and the icing on the cake THE MAIDS LEFT OUR DOOR OPEN!!! All day!!!
CONSTRUCTION
We walked out of room into ladders , tools on the floor see photo....it would have been nice to receive a letter the day before (as is customary) to inform us of this.
STAFF
As I mentioned maids were hopeless, waitresses in a daze, glasses left around the pool for 3 hours!! Some of the satff were good.... about 3 people.
TOURS
Be Aware!!! I asked before we arrived to do some tours. I was quoted an extortionate price 360-400 Euros for 2 people. I asked if there were any other less expensive tour companies, I was told 'no'. We booked the tour yet when we arrived we saw the same tour for 55 Euro each (group not private). They are in cahoots with the 'private' tour guides and that is all they will offer.

MANAGEMENT
I did write to the manager regarding our terrible experience and we did ask for a part refund, he said 'no' and mentioned that I took a boiled egg to my room. This was the breakfast I paid for!! Besides the tables were dirty and breakfast room 100 degrees! We almost passed out.

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world and this one was bad. It is NOT luxury as in Four Seasons, Ritz I would say look for something that is well established, so not worth the money.

HOTEL
This is a really nice building with beautiful views. There is no bar (only a table with bottles), restaurant, gym or spa. Each night we came back to the hotel we just went straight to our room as nobody was ever in the lounge. It is a little cold and could do with some warmth, flowers, candles.....My feelings are that they need to close and reopen with new, experienced staff and a new attitude.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
14  Thank Salford66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our first trip to Taormina couldn't have been better. The Hotel Ashbee is simply beautiful. The staff were professional, caring and made everyday special. A special thanks to the "girls" Irene, Serena and Sylvia they went above and beyond everyday. The rooms are beautiful and even the standard room has plenty of space. The pool view is amazing. The rooms and the ground area were spotless. We wish we could have stayed for ever.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ForzeItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Ashbee Hotel is a comfortable, new boutique hotel of considerable charm, character and promise. We stayed in a family suite for a week with an upstairs bedroom and bathroom for our son and downstairs room and main bathroom for us. Our room was near the road and was thus a little noisy but not intrusively so. The decor is lovely - no expense spared in sympathetic renovation of an historic building. The main hotel and facilities all look beautiful, the pool is great with an excellent bar man with a line in innovative cocktails. Service from the main reception was excellent, with reliable bookings, trips and recommendations.

What could be better... A restaurant would be great. They offer bar snacks and breakfast on the terrace but with such a great setting, evening food could be a real winner. Talking of breakfast, as people have said before, where's the fresh fruit juice? Nice Italian cakes though!

As mentioned, the rooms look beautiful though getting in and out of our enormous bath (like a huge soup bowl) would challenge the infirm!

We were surprised there were no hotel bath robes - all the towels were monickered so it wouldn't be a stretch to provide a few extras. Curious bathroom supplies too - bath foam but no shower gel. We had our own otherwise I'd have asked.

Overall, the hotel is work in progress but much better than many Italian 4*s and with a little development should easily gain a further star!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent seven glorious days here with our grown up children and couldn't praise it more highly. Perfect location, beautiful rooms, delightful, helpful staff and a wonderful view. This hotel is a gem. Thank you to all the staff for giving us an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blaiklocklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we book this hotel following tripadvisor reviews. the hotel is beautiful decoreted, the room nice and the staff is very attentive. there´s a fantastic garden with a superb view of the sea and with a very small pool (maybe too small) but we had a very relaxing time. the very negative is the breakfast.............. average hotel breakfast with no fresh orange juice in sicily? and what about all the extra charge for the hot meal? too expensive all the extras!!! everything too expensive including bar and room service.......... we had to go out for aperitive and we paied 1/3 of the price at one of the best bar place in town! please think about....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#31 of 87 in Taormina
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £331 - £915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing