We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ all around!!”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A+ all around!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our trip to Taormina was made extra special due to our stay at The Ashbee Hotel. The entire staff could not do enough to ensure a wonderful, memorable experience & I thank them from the bottom of my heart "ti ringrazia d cuore". The location was perfect-the view unbeatable & easy access by car. Look now further if you are planning a trip to Sicily!! xo

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsC7681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    75
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
264
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A lovely, well managed, small, hotel in a great location. How good can it get? The service was impeccable. Irene at the front desk had fantastic recommendations for dining. (don't miss Villa Antonio for dinner) Maurizio provided fantastic service at breakfast and at the pool. This is an antique Villa that has been exquisitely renovated. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very well designed and comfortable. The outdoor space and pool area are beautiful. The villa is high above the sea with a fabulous view. The Ashbee has agreements with a few of the beach clubs, so they provide transportation for the short ride to the beach. We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed our stay at The Ashbee. The entire time we were there, we saw only couples. On our last day, a couple and their two small, screaming, squealing, children were at the pool and changed the entire experience for everyone. My only suggestion to The Ashbee would be to limit the age of their guests to 12 years and above. The hotel and the pool area is intimate, so it is impossible to get away from noisy children! ( I have two children and I love children, but this is not a hotel for children)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborahf26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

From the moment we arrived the staff and management at the Ashbee were so helpful and couldn't to enough for us. Helping with comfort, travel plans and suggestions and local knowledge that made our holiday a pleasure. It was sad to leave. Their profesionalism and personal assistance match the best anywhere in the world. Will definatley be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Vacationing in Taormina this August, 2011, was absolutely fantastic because of the amazing hotel...The Ashbee. The setting of the hotel was breathtaking. The view from the pool area was fantastic. The accommodations were excellent, and the decor was first class. The hotel is spotless, and pristine. I would go back in a heart beat. This hotel should be a five star rating.
Perfect location into town!!!

The Bender's

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. We took a tour of others rooms and suites. They are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Had our honeymoon there in May, beautiful place, lovely accommodation, nice pool and grounds and literally a minute's walk from the main street, a few minute's from the bus stop, and a friendly irish bar around the corner! brilliant! The staff were friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. When we moved on to the mainland and were late for our next hotel check-in, we paniced as we didn't have contact details for the new hotel... I called the ashbee and they phoned ahead to say we were running late, really went out of there way even though we had left for our next destination. Couldn't compliment them enough.
The only downside was the food, but with it's location we ate at different restaurants in the village every night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeflann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Ashbee is a wonderful hotel and we would definitely go back. Arrived very late at night, we received a very friendly welcome from the staff. The hotel has just been refurbished to a very high standard, the room we had was spotless, the decor and the finish were excellent. The hotel is situated in a great position at the beginning of the main street which is busy but you could not hear the traffic. The views from the terrace and the pool are stunning, both during the day and in the evening. Had breakfast (excellent selection) outside everyday, the views just added to the experience . The dining restaurant at this hotel is planned for next year but we did not miss it, the staff recommendation of restaurants was excellent and always seemed to get us a great table. Loved this hotel from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Thanks to Serena, Mario Irene, Valerio and the rest of the friendly staff for making our stay one to remember and one we hope to repeat. Would happily recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife, three and a half year old son and 15 month daughter had the most wonderful stay here and could not recommend this hotel high enough.

We had a suite which was perfect for us all and the furnishings were lovely. In fact this is one of those rare places were the photos don't do the hotel and it's location enough justice. It really is as good as it looks on the web photos if not better!

As other reviews have noted the location means it is located perfectly for walks through Taormina. Driving in is also easy and it has parking.

The staff were faultless with their service and make you feel like welcome guests from the moment you arrive. What was also nice was the genuine friendliness - you could tell these guys liked their jobs and were proud of the hotel ( which they have every reason to be).

The only fault is, as other reviews have noted, the prices of drinks etc are on the stiff side. Also for a hotel of this quality the breakfast could be improved and you should not have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast. In all honesty, just raise the price slightly and include it and then it wouldn't even be noticed!

All in all though this is one of those places you should make an effort to stay in. Taormina was the highlight of our holiday through Greece and Italy and capping it all off was the Hotel ashbee - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BowieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Property: The Ashbee Hotel
Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing