We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in a fantastic location!”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent the first 3 nights of married life in the Ashbee Hotel and were not disappointed. Everything from the exceptional service to the suburb facilities and beautiful views could not have been better. It felt like we were staying in a luxury villa rather than a hotel and that made it so peaceful and relaxing - the perfect place to begin our honeymoon. The silver service was also a real treat and the food was excellent.
My husband had checked in earlier in the day before our wedding, but we didnt arrive until 4am and the porter was very welcoming - he went out of his way to prepare us some food even though the kitchen was closed.
Upon researching where to stay for our wedding night we visited many of the top hotels in Taormina the previous year and the Ashbee stood out on top for us. We would throughly recommend this hotel - the location, views and peaceful nature of the hotel are top class.

Room Tip: Each room has slightly different features. Our superior room had a beautiful courtyard, others have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

One of the most beautiful experience in an Hotel for me. If you're looking for an exclusive place, with luxury, courtesy and an incredible competence, this is the right place. The best choice in Taormina for exclusive people that are looking for exclusive places.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We just finished our 5 day stay at the Ashbee Hotel and we were certainly sad to leave! The property is beautiful and the views are stunning, but what I will always remember is the level of attention we received from the staff. Every single staff member we spoke to was intent on making sure our needs were met and due to some strict dietary requirements, I'm sure we posed unique challenges. But the team at Ashbee couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating! I'm sure I'm echoing what others have said, but we will definitely look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After more years staying in hotels than we might care to admit to, we found the Ashbee to be up there with the very best!
Everything about the Ashbee is superb; from location, decoration, the food, the service, and probably what we will remember most is the staff. Every single member was helpful, friendly, often greeting you by name, and everyone smiled. They have somewhere to be proud of.
We would certainly like to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryCWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We loved the Ashbee! There is nothing more breathtaking than their infinity pool overlooking the Taormina cliffs and beach. A sublime and decadent experience. The service was impeccable and the room comfortable and beautiful (one small complaint is that the luxurious shower allowed water to get everywhere...but they always cleaned it up). The location right near the entrance to the old town can't be beat. You're also steps away from the funicular down to the beach. This was a splurge for us and we are so happy we treated ourselves. Everything in Taormina is on the pricey side anyway, so why not treat yourself to this gem of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bitten2bits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

A pleasant stay that could have been better, on arrival we were told of the St George Restaurant but were not told until we went to eat there that it was closed during our stay, we were told of Roof Top Terrace bar but again when we wanted to go there it was closed for refurbishment, maybe not such big issues as there are lots of restaurants and bars in Taormina but would have been better to be told beforehand.
The rooms (Superior) are small, nicely furnished but very small and not clearly shown on their website (maybe the reason why they are not shown).
I understand that it is out of their control that there was a water problem on the last day of our stay but none the less to wake up with no water at all in the bathroom was not pleasant and did not get fixed by the time we checked out at 11 am.
The pool is nice though small but difficult to stay long due to mosquitos (some mosquito coils strategically placed would have been good)
For the rest the Hotel is nice, nice location and good quality without doubt....maybe we were unlucky.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Ashbee is the perfect hotel for a relaxing break, in a beautiful setting. I swam every day in the infinity pool and felt as if I was in paradise. It was quiet and the staff were very welcoming without being intrusive, they made you feel as if you were the only guests in a private villa.

The only disappointment, like previous guests, were the lack of bathrobes in the classic room but they were supplied on request and also the lack of drawers or baskets in the units to keep our clothes in.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and dinner was excellent, although the restaurant was only open twice for dinner when we were there!

We will definitely return again this hotel was perfect for reviving our spirits.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esherbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,888 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £440 - £985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing