We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophisticated luxury hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sophisticated luxury hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for the last three nights of our Sicilian holiday at the Ashbee and were delighted with the whole experience. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is very well placed to walk to the centre of Taormina. The hotel car park is very useful as Taormina is pedestrian only. Our room was excellent with a lovely seaview. The rooftop breakfast area (with a good choice of hot & cold items) had stunning views and got the day off to a great start! The pool and other relaxation areas had equally superb views down onto the Messina Straits. We ate at the hotel one evening and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal aided by a well priced and excellent local red wine - recommended by the sommelier. We received sound advice about other restaurants to visit for lunch and dinner. Altogther a faultless experience and well worth another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    73
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
257
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We ended our trip to Sicily in Taormina, and stayed at the Ashbee. Talk about saving the best to last...
Elegant hotel, with attentive staff, excellent meals, wonderful view, and service, service, service.
The hotel is just a few steps from the main pedestrian area (Corso Umberto), yet the grounds are very quiet and serene.
We stayed in the Suite del Pittore, which was a little weird, in that the sleeping area is a small flight of stairs up from the main level, with no direct windows (great for sleeping though). However, the rest of the hotel was really unmatched in our stay in Sicily.

Room Tip: Enjoy your afternoon cocktail down by the pool, looking north along the coast towards Messina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We found the Ashbee to be a peaceful and quite spot right in the centre of taormina, far away from the loud and chaotic town centre. The small pool is very impressive and the garden conjured up images of an exotic Botanical garden. We particularly appreciated the local restaurant, the St George I think, which offers one of the finest Italian cuisine I have ever tasted (my grandmother was Italian and cooked the most amazing pasta ever). I recommend having breakfast on the Roof Terrace with its spectacular and soothing views over the Straits of Messina. The only thing we were not happy about was the barman, the only way to get hold of him was to call the reception and request his presence at the bar!! So annoying!!

Friendly and helpful hotel staff though, a big thank you to Danilo, Fabrizio and Philippo and the maid (cannot remember her name though) Overall we had a good time, very grateful to them for the wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvermoon8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for a few days while we got married in Taormina recently and whilst the hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are nice, we felt let down by the attitude of some of the staff. We had friends staying in Taormina who had made a huge effort to come across for aour wedding but when they came to visit us at The Ashbee they were made to feel incredibly unwelcome. I understand that this is a 5-star "exclusive" property however in my opinon the staf were bordering on rude. This was in stark contrast to the Villa Belvedere (where we aslo stayed) and the Imperiale (where friends were staying) who could nothave been more welcoming when we all got together by the pool. We will return to Taormina, we will not return to The Ashbee.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I visited this hotel the night before my friends wedding, where they had arranged (and paid for) drinks on the terrace for their wedding guests. The staff were very unfriendly and not helpful when it begun the rain, although there where terrace umbrellas that could have been opened. Instead they disappeared! I wasn't sure why.
However I was soon to discover that it was because a number of guests at the wedding had children. The day after the wedding the newlyweds were staying at the hotel and asked some of the guests who were leaving that afternoon to come over to the pool for a while before going. When we arrived a member of staff told our friends that their guests would have to leave as they were 'not the kind of people' they could have at the hotel! This was done fairly loudly and caused great embarrassment all round. We are nice people and our children are not badly behaved. We visited friends in lots of hotels in Taormina including the very posh Imperiali the staff were lovely to the children and at the Hotel Villa Belvedere where we stayed they were wonderful. The Ashbee has no reason to have such delusions of grandeur - it is an ok hotel, but the staff are what make your holiday. Go somewhere else there is so much choice in this town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent the first 3 nights of married life in the Ashbee Hotel and were not disappointed. Everything from the exceptional service to the suburb facilities and beautiful views could not have been better. It felt like we were staying in a luxury villa rather than a hotel and that made it so peaceful and relaxing - the perfect place to begin our honeymoon. The silver service was also a real treat and the food was excellent.
My husband had checked in earlier in the day before our wedding, but we didnt arrive until 4am and the porter was very welcoming - he went out of his way to prepare us some food even though the kitchen was closed.
Upon researching where to stay for our wedding night we visited many of the top hotels in Taormina the previous year and the Ashbee stood out on top for us. We would throughly recommend this hotel - the location, views and peaceful nature of the hotel are top class.

Room Tip: Each room has slightly different features. Our superior room had a beautiful courtyard, others have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

One of the most beautiful experience in an Hotel for me. If you're looking for an exclusive place, with luxury, courtesy and an incredible competence, this is the right place. The best choice in Taormina for exclusive people that are looking for exclusive places.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drcere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Property: The Ashbee Hotel
Address: Via San Pancrazio n. 46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city.A short walk leads to famous restaurants, to enjoy an excellent cuisine.Today, this new charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 25 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing