We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy at The Ashbee”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The pool and bar/restaurant facilities were faultless! The views from the breakfast room are just breathtaking and very peaceful! There's a tranquil and overall very relaxing feel to the whole hotel, a lovely pool and terrace area with again just stunning views. If I had to be picky the pool is a little on the small side, but the hotel doesn't seem to hold many so it all feels quite intimate. A very romantic hideaway right in the centre of quite a popular touristic packed town, a fantastic location means you're able to walk everywhere.

The downsides were the price of the mini bar and snacks, 6 euros for a packet of crisps! As I mentioned the pool is a lot smaller than I imagined, so more than 5 people it seems cosy but the views more than make up for it! Rooms are quite compact but as ours had a terrace with seating which we made use of lots it tends to feel bigger. Rooms on the end next to the road (where we were) can be noisy but I thought the sound proofing was good.......but then I did sleep with earplugs in as the morning traffic can be a bit much. On the how thoroughly luxurious and would most definitely return!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a terrace, makes the room feel bigger having the outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Because this hotel is small, it offers its guests that little bit extra. The rooms/suites are located in the main building and two separate wings. The room we occupied had a small garden patio which was very secluded and quiet. Although it is only a few minutes away from the bustling town of Taormina it felt like you were well outside the town. The breakfast is served on the roof terrace. The choices are exceptional. The chef would bring a freshly baked cake out in the morning to offer the guests a piece from his special creation of the day. This was a very nice touch for all concerned. The views from the infinity pool are exceptional. The George restaurant is situated on the terrace which provides excellent evening meals. All of the staff are very pleasant and helpful and nothing seems to much trouble for them. They are attentive but not intrusive which is very refreshing for this type of boutique hotel. If I was to criticize this hotel it would be on the lack of attention in some aspects of the house keeping. Our shower light was not working and reported but it never received any attention. Also we had to ask for toiletries on a number of occasions as they appeared to be rationed not what I would expect from a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muchtyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lovely Hotel with old world style, fantastic rooms, very friendly staff. Breakfast served on the roof with views over the bay. Sun terrace & infinity pool with a pool bar, relaxing. Just a short walk to main town with plenty of bars & restaurants

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This 25 room hotel in the hilltop village of Toarmina, is a tranquil escape from the tourist traffic. Renovated to an exacting standard, the spacious rooms, excellent decor and fittings and warm and genuine staff make this a first class experience.

While not having views of Mt Etna, the location of the hotel and the quiet , unhurried ambience make up for it.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJCooneySpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Loved it! From the moment we approached this beautifully appointed property I just knew I was going to enjoy our stay. Whilst this hotel feels quite grand it also felt homely and the foregrounds and view are simply stunning. Breakfast on the rooftop is amazing with fabulous friendly staff who couldn't do enough to please. Our room no 12 wasn't large but it was reasonable with a beautifully contemporary bathroom . This is a very romantic hotel and ideal for couples, the town is a delight to stroll around of an evening with a superb atmosphere , great boutique shopping also for those interested. My only negative comment is being asked to pay 20€ per night to park the car and would have preferred to just have it included in the price as it just grates when you are staying at this calibre of hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddybodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel has made our stay in Sicily very special, in fact we didn't want to leave the grounds we were so looked after by the staff. Would definately recommend to friends and family and would love to return.

Breakfast was amazing, hot chocolate cake straight from the oven, freshly baked bread and plenty of fresh fruit. The location was ideal close to all amenities with easy access to cable car for trips to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I and my colleague were in Taormina at a medical congress and we were very happy staying at the hotel Ashbee. This magnificent hotel with an old castle surrounded by a beautiful garden, the rooms are clean and comfortable, friendly and welcoming stuff. The restaurant is located on the veranda with a magnificent view of the sea. Tasty and natural food, freshly baked bread served for breakfast. Breakfast is tasty and prepared from fresh ingredients, hot bread especially was very touching. The hotel's location is very advantageous. After a hard day, rest by the pool with beautiful music is very calming and pleasant. I want to thank all the employees of the hotel for their kindness and attention.Wish you success and prosperity. Thank Ashbee, Thank Taormina. I hope to meet again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#39 of 87 in Taormina
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £436 - £987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing